We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small bites andgreat drinks”

Social Urban Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 351 Restaurants in Rockford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Dinner Party is our inspiration. We have communal seating, chefs serving your food, and a group of bartenders creating innovative cocktails. Our passion is local foods; we work with many area farmers and producers to create a simple yet elegant menu featuring what's fresh from the area. Located in a historic district downtown, we have built our tables and bar from reclaimed wood that dates back to the 1850's. A warm urban restaurant dedicated to supporting local industry.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small bites andgreat drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just stopped in for a bite and a beer. My girlfriend had a recommended lavender and vodka cocktail that was great. Fabulous seating set up with shared tables makes it a fun place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ryborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    24
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Social's unique contribution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a foodie-and-chefs' meeting place.

Social Urban Bar and Restaurant is a tiny place, with shared tables and an ever-changing, eclectic menu. Locally sources and completely straight up, the menu is crafted as carefully as the local food it features.

We arrived expecting alo...and those expectations were exceeded. My son, a repeat customer, recommended Social very highly. We each got a different entree...duck creole, rib-eye steak, handcrafted pasta in handcrafted bolognese sauce and trout with skin-on (edible), all perfectly prepared.

A highlight of the evening...which is why this is called "Social," the chef delivered the entrees himself. He explained his love (or not so much) for each of the dishes, and why he chose to feature it that night. It was awesome to hear his "take" on all, and then to taste them all...which is another reason the place is called "Social."

A bit pricey....and worth it. Would definitely go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank caringinthemoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“upscale and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful liquor selection and delicious food. The pork loin and brussel sprouts are a couple of my favorites. The decor is not upscale, but unique and it's one of our favorites for a 'special celebration'. The number of entree selections is modest, but done to perfection. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jkcollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The food was fabulous. Had the olives, brussel sprouts, pork tacos, heirloom tomato pasta to share. Finished with sweet corn ice cream & raspberry tart. All tasted great & had complex fun flavors. If we lived here I could see us being regulars.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RnBs_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flawless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

In the cultural wasteland that is Rockford, walking into this bar is like discovering Shangri-La.

Dinner on a solo business trip can be a lonely affair, but not this time. Sat at the bar, both staff and regulars were extremely friendly, and the food (cheese curds, pork tacos, as recommended on here, followed by bread pudding) was delicious, sophisticated and witty. Chefs, not cooks in this kitchen. Lots of restaurants claim to use local ingredients. These guys grow their herbs on the rooftop and smoke their own bacon.

Don't make the mistake I did and order a beer. Cocktails are where it's at. My new friend at the bar ordered his favourite, which requires an extra person to throw cinnamon into a stream of burning liquor poured between two shakers, before being dumped over rocks then cooled with liquid N2. Pure theatre.

I'm not sure when I will be back in Rockford, but I do know where I will be eating when I do.

Just two minor points.

It's "H"erbs. The H is not optional.
The 1985 Toyota Tercel Wagon is not the best handling car ever. Just no.

David

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social Urban Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Social Urban Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing