We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can be fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Olympic Tavern

The Olympic Tavern
Ranked #23 of 352 Restaurants in Rockford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oregon, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can be fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Really fun place to have a beer after work. The bar area smells like a bar area and can be very drafty. I have found the food to be either great or poor. If you are looking for a few drinks and a meal after work - great place. If you are looking for a fine meal, I would go somewhere else.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lcayetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    40
    16
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Go on Dogs night and bring your dog.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had a good meal out on the patio with the dogs on dog night. They have good food and the staff goes out of their way to make sure you are taken care of. Lots of bar choices. A fun night out.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

very nice place to eat, the food is great but it is very pricy for a "west side" place. the service is friendly but always very slow so don't go there if you want a quick lunch.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bazooka-Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Pretty ordinary but very large! The food is awesome and the wait staff are very good! I stop in every time I am in Rockford!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeaneil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent beer selection, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We visit The Olympic Tavern nearly monthly. It's a great restaurant. You can visit with friends, family, nearly anyone. They have a fantastic kids menu. Where else can you get a kids steak and ribs? I can usually find something vegetarian and my husband can always get a great burger, steak, or piece of fish. They also have an amazing craft beer list.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CatC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olympic Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Olympic Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing