We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded Expectations!”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Cliffbreakers is great! The staff was friendly, the rooms are spacious and luxurious, and the bed was sooo comfortable! I stayed in the Corporate Suite – the bed was the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in and there was a massage chair in my room. The hotel is decorated with “old world charm,” which makes you feel right at home. There is a pool, fitness center and free internet. Not to mention an amazing view – I can’t wait to go back in the spring/summer and have drinks on the patio overlooking the river! We had lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch at Cliffbreakers and the food is outstanding – the calamari, spinach salad with feta and the crab legs are a must!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hottenhausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    81
    38
    45
    63
See reviews for
107
103
18
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I had a lot of problems finding the right place to hold my wedding reception, until I stopped by Cliffbreakers after a friend asked me if I had checked it out. The ballrooms are large and beautiful, with a great view of the river, the decor is antique and very interesting, and the service was second to none! Everything we served at our reception was delicious, and thanks to Cliffbreakers helpful staff, the evening could not have gone any better! What a way to start our marriage! I would definitely suggest Cliffbreakers to anyone planning their wedding reception around Rockford Illinois!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jam_61103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hotel_Management, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thanks for giving us feedback. It's nice to know the hard work we've been doing to renovate the hotel and restaurant and upgrade our services is working.

We hope you were able to enjoy the restaurant and its fantastic views of the river. Many make our very popular Sunday Brunch an extension of a wedding weekend. As spring unfolds all the trees and plants along the river bloom and make the view even more spectacular.

Just this week we added three new corporate suites which are really spectacular. We've continued to upgrade the services now wtih faster (free) high speed Internet, a hot (free) breakfast during the week and a social hour (free appetizers, beer and wine) during mid-week.

Thanks so much for choosing the Lexington Hotel at Cliffbreakers. We hope you'll come back again and appreciate you sharing your experience.


We're thrilled that your wedding was such a special occasion and appreciate the priviledge of being a small part of it. The
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I really enjoyed staying at Cliffbreakers. The staff was very nice and very helpful. Always asking if there is anything else they could help us with or get for us. The room was very nice and the beds were PHENOMENAL. By far the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in at a hotel. I really liked that there was a bar and a restaurant attached to the hotel so that I didn't have to leave the complex. The view was very nice and there was no shortage of windows anywhere you went. I would definitely stay here again and I will be recommending this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJHPRomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hotel_Management, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
We appreciate you staying with us and that you shared your experience. The rennovations we've done over the past few months have been so well received. Of course, the views were already there so we cannot take credit for that.

Perhaps you've been before but, if not, the restaurant and bar have been totally remodeled. We've been anxious to see the new menu our Executive Chef has been working on. It's just been introduced and it's really spectacular.

We've introduced 7 new corporate and specialty suites and are working on more now.

Thanks again for being our guest. We hope you'll return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

After reading other reviews I was a little leery of this hotel. I booked the room a week before we would be checking in. We arrived, were given room keys only then to get to the room and see that it wasn't the room we were promised when I called the day before to confirm. As I was walking back to the front desk to ask what happened to our king loft suite there was another couple complaining quite loudly that they had been give a different room than they reserved also.
I had to laugh at this as it was just as the reviews stated. They overbook and then put people in whatever room is available, not the room they reserve. As the other angry woman stormed away I laughed and said I should have believed the reviews and asked if they had any larger rooms available. As I am asking this ANOTHER couple comes up and says they booked a jacuzzi room and guess what? They didn't get a room with a jacuzzi in it. CRAZY! I offered up our room as we needed a larger room with no jacuzzi and ours had a jacuzzi in it, but only if they could find us the king loft suite that we reserved. After waiting about a half hour they gave us the loft suite and the other couple got the jacuzzi room. We both got free bottles of wine and a $10.00 coupon for the bar or restaurant. I couldn't blame the front desk girls this is obviously not their fault. This sounds like it is standard procedure for any and all guests.
The loft rooms are great for a larger family. The pull out bed, not comfortable though. I'd say reserve a room here but expect to be moved to a different room than what you reserve. I'd recommend it if you have a coupon and if you don't care what room you get. I feel for the staff as they have to deal with this garbage all day long. Management needs to get their stuff together. And ps...the pool was supposed to be fixed and it wasn't so...advertised pool but no pool. Fireplace in room worked.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notfarfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hotel_Management, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
We're very sorry that this guest’s experience was not as she/he (or we) would have expected. There is no excuse for us to ever disappoint a guest and we work hard to delight every guest on every visit. Clearly, we failed in the case of this guest.

Though it does not justify the problems this guest experienced, we believe some problems with a reservation system "upgrade" that has been done has created some confusion. The software company has completed the work and implemented special training on the new procedures to be sure things like this don't happen in the future.

This guest’s experience is not the “norm” at the Lexington Hotel at Cliffbreakers. Our Hotel Operations Manager, Cyndy Lemke, has reached out to this specific guest try to make things right.

In the past few months we’ve upgraded many guest rooms, added new corporate suites, totally remodeled the (now salt-water filtered) pool, updated the common areas, expanded the free breakfast service, added a mid-week social hour with free appetizers, beer and wine, and completed an upgrade to our reservation system. ALL staff members are 100% committed to 100% guest satisfaction.

Again, there’s no excuse for our failure to take exceptional care of this guest and hope she or he will give us the opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I was very surprised to see that several people did not like this hotel. This hotel is definitely one of my favorites. The check in was a little slow, but everything else was fine. The atmosphere in the entire hotel is exquisite especially the check-in area and the dining area which I found to be very romantic, serene, etc. At the entrance to the bar area there is a fountain that you definitely don't want to miss along with the 15 foot doors. If you are a person that enjoys working out every morning you will definitely enjoy the fitness room. They do have a pool, however, it was under maintenance. The entire staff (waitresses, housekeeping, bartenders, etc.) were extremely nice and the service was great. I definitely want to go back to the hotel when the weather is nicer. You can sit on the decks and enjoy your drinks, dinner, etc. while watching the view on the river.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hotel_Management, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The newly remodeled restaurant has been so well received. Since your visit we've continued our efforts to continuously improve the property including several new corporate suites, a complimentary mid-week social hour (appetizers, beer and wine), a new menu in the dining room and an expanded staff.

The pool has been completed and now features a new salt-water filtration system which is MUCH nicer than chlorine. It's like swimming in saline solution. You come out feeling refreshed, not like you're covered in chemicals.

We hope you'll visit again soon and are grateful for your very kind review. Thanks also for helping spread the news about all our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

At one time, in the 1980's pehaps this was a great place. it hasn't been re-modeled lately. this didn't bother me as much as the lack of maintenance. The resort needs a new maintenance staff who pay attention to little details. My family stayed in 2 rooms and the maitenance list was lenghtly but could have been easily fixed. The cable tv didn't work in one room, 2 lightbulbs were missing, a handle on the dresser was missing, the smoke detector was missing, the curtains were frayed, the desk chair didn't match the rest of the furniture. A good maintenance crew could really fix this up quickly. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hotel_Management, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
We are so sorry that we dropped the ball in such seemingly easy-to-fix ways. We really blew it and there’s no acceptable excuse. We’re better than this.

Since this guest’s visit we’ve made many changes. First, we identified the rooms in which they stayed and directed our maintenance and housekeeping teams to fix everything. We also had our entire management team divide into groups and do a detailed inspection of every single room to be sure this does not happen in the future.

We’ve made many improvements including a number of newly remodeled guest rooms, expanded cable television station options, faster Internet services and some new (and newly trained) staff members.

There’s no excuse for this guest’s experience and we’ve contacted them to see how we might make it right.

We're very sorry that this guest’s experience was not as she/he (or we) would have expected. Clearly, we failed in the case of this guest and hope she or he will give us the opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rockford hotels

Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

After driving 14 hours on a holiday weekend, this was the place to stay! We found the place on the Internet and went to check it out before checking in-- even though it was several miles off the highway. Staff was friendly and very helpful. No evidence of bedbugs-- and we looked before taking the room. The room was clean and the mattress was very comfortable. Nice view as well. They honored the Internet price we had found since they had availability.

The decor was engaging-- great antiques with history. The continental breakfast had hot food that was tasty-- not sit-down restaurant quality, but well-above expectations for a complimentary breakfast.

The riverfront location allowed for a scenic park walk along the river to stretch our backs.

The staff was amazing! We arrived late at night, as the restaurant/pub was closing, and the staff made sure we were able to eat something without having to order out. They went "well beyond the call of duty."

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborahtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hotel_Management, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
We are glad your stay was comfortable and that our team made things easy for you when you arrived. The antiques you noticed throughout the property are really special and include items from Florence, Italy, Grand Central Station in NYC, Cole Porter’s home, a Paris hotel, magnificent estates in Michigan, the Continental Bank in Chicago, among many others.
We are proud that our hotel is not “cookie-cutter” and that it has so much special character.
Since you were with us we’ve remodeled the entire dining room and bar, introduced a new menu and remodeled many of the hotel rooms.

As spring approaches all the trees and plants will bloom along the river which is always beautiful. Isn’t it nice to have that great park across the street? Year round it’s beautiful green space to add to the great views.

We hope your travels will soon bring you back through Rockford and to our special hotel. By then, our next round of renovations should be underway which we hope you’ll also enjoy.

Thank you for taking the time to post details about your experience. We’re grateful for your encouraging comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
5.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
340 reviews
6.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 24 in Rockford
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Rockford
Courtyard Rockford
#8 of 24 in Rockford
113 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 700 W Riverside Blvd, Rockford, IL 61103-2173 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Cliffbreakers' Riverside Resort)
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Jewel of Rockford" is the most popular destination for business travel, families and for special events such as weddings, business conferences and meetings and fundraisers with the region’s largest ballrooms and most attractive meeting space. The Northern Illinois Luxury Hotel at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort includes more of what you want when traveling to the real, original Northern Illinois Region – the community with big-city amenities and a small-town feel! Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all guest rooms – we have it. Northern Illinois Riverview Suites, Loft Suites or Specialty Themed Suites – your choice! Free hot breakfast – available every morning. A European styled property with a heated indoor pool and evening room service – relax and enjoy. Every guest room with Microwaves, Mini-fridges and expanded cable TV....relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel At Cliffbreakers` Riverside Rockford
Lexington Hotel Cliffbreakers Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing