We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jekyll and Hyde”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Princeton, IL.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Jekyll and Hyde”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights. The first was in a room with a whirlpool on the first floor. The short story is - earwigs - on the floor, on the walls, between the bedspread and the blanket. We asked to move the next morning - the hotel was full but they offered us one of their premium suites as a free upgrade. We couldn't take that room because you had to step up onto a platform to get into the bed and recent back surgery prevented that for one of us. The hotel staff kept looking and found us a standard room on the 2nd floor. It had recently been remodeled and was bright, well-appointed and earwig free. We had a great night's sleep the second night. This hotel has a restaurant attached with an enticing menu, a large ballroom for functions, many decks and windows with a view of Rock River and boaters, skiers etc., and it is in a good location for many activities. The staff was helpful and always very friendly. When completely remodeled this should be a great place. For now it depends on where your room is and - unless you've just got to have it - we suggest passing on the whirlpool rooms for now. We learned on departure that another couple in our party had also had earwigs in their whirlpool room.

Room Tip: Newly remodeled rooms are bright and very simialr to the major chains. The older room are older room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmadlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear tmadlaw,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the resort..With the first floor rooms being right next to the river, we seasonaly experience earwig bugs in some of the rooms. As a concern is raised, we contact a professional insecticide company from the local community to eradicate the earwigs, though that doesn't always go perfetly as preferred.

I am sorry to read of your recent back surgery, and yes, the beds in the corporate suites are higher than a normal bed would be........those rooms should really be called corporate bedrooms, as each room is different than the next. Each room has been designed with no repeating furnishings in these corporate suties.

Glad that you were able to experience one of the "refreshed" rooms. We are in the process of that project which will touch 22-24 rooms with that new level of appointment. We want to also refresh the other remaining inventory of rooms, so all rooms will be refreshed and/or renovated. There will be some renovated rooms that will offer full kitchenettes and other amenities for the guests that stay for longer periods of time.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

The Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort and Lexington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    81
    37
    44
    61
See reviews for
105
103
17
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I don't write a lot of reviews, but was really impressed with this hotel and restaraunt complex. We were given one of the newly remodeled rooms, and I put this on par with high end Hilton-type rooms. There was some construction going on, but they seemed do a better than average job at keeping that appearance to a minimum.

There was a couple of great things about this place. First, they have a full, free breakfast in the morning. This included a buffet of eggs, bacon, etc. along with what you would see at a normal continental. This was served in a room that overlooks a river, very nice.

Second was the bar/restraunt area. It is somewhat dated, but in a cozy quaint way. There is a couple levels of decks and a tiki bar that overlook the scenic river. One of the best places I have been in a while for an evening unwind. We had 2 servers over 2 nights, Brian and Suarta. Both were extremely attentive and friendly. I could tell they cared about their work.

I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for new amenities in a classic style hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Chris O,

Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay.

Suarta and Brian are great guest care driven associates that always do their best. They make all guests feel at ease and welcome. We are glad to have them on our team!

We look forward to your staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Have stayed here about four times. Staff always friendly and accommodating. There is a nice business center you can use, if need be. Nice small conference rooms to grand scale. Bar and restaurant area are inviting, nightly specials. I love the chance to overlook the river. They have their own beach and tiki bar, live music. Very eclectic style in the restaurant as well as the hotel area. If you love unique furnishings, you will love this place. It is not your usual chain hotel. Very close to my client, so location for me is ideal. Breakfast is great! My home away from home in Rockford.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Deborah B,

Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay.

Hoping that the next time you are staying with us that I would be able to put a face to the name! Please do not hesitate to contact me for reservig your next stay.

We look forward to your staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dwight Hopfauf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I would highly recommend Cliffbreakers' Riverside Resort. The rooms are large and comfortable. The beds are wonderful. The bathrooms were good size and the shower had great pressure and volume. Surprisingly there are a lot historical artifacts in the hotel that are very interesting. The "continental" breakfast is the best I have ever had -- a large selection of warm foods in the buffet as well as the usual continental breakfast foods. We did not get a chance to eat at the restaurant but it had a pleasant appearance and decent crowds for a Wednesday and Thursday nights. The staff was wonderful and very friendly. We even got to meet the General Manager of the hotel who was a great guy. The bar was super. It had many televisions, had an awesome deck overlooking the Rock River and the bartenders were wonderful. If you get a chance to make it to the bar make sure you talk to Brian or Suarta who are GREAT people. I have traveled to many hotels and Cliffbreakers has become one of my instant favorites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradB49816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear BradB49816,

Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay.

We look forward to your staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, FL
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel in the past, and sometimes had good experiences, sometimes not. This time was the BEST. Tips: Become a Lexington Hotel guest member...you qualify for automatic room upgrades, and from reading others (unfortunate) comments, I'm sure a Lexington Hotel member guest would be cared for better than they found. Yes, the hotel is under renovation, but our room was immaculate and view of the Rock River was excellent. The complimentary morning hot breakfast of eggs, sausage, potatoes, biscuits, muffins, cereal, great coffee, juices, yogurt or fruit was fresh and delicious! We were PLEASED!! And we're picky! Yes, we will return!!

Room Tip: Join Lexington Hotel guest program...it's free and lots of upgrades & perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Linda L,

Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay.

We look forward to your staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pella, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We just checked in tonight. The staff was very friendly upon arrival and while the overall curb appeal was average/sub par we were excited to begin our stay. While there is renovation under way the hotel is still serviceable. We were not happy once we settled into our room that evening. There was hair everywhere. In our bed sheets/pillowcases, on our sink, toilet. It was gross. I am planning on commenting to the management tomorrow to see how the complaint is handled

Right now wishing we had stayed somewhere else.

Derek

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTRManagement, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Good afternoon Derek015,

Thank you for taking the time to speak with us regarding your recent stay at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort and Lexington Hotel. We appreciate your taking the effort to share your concerns. Rest assured this was an isolated incident.

We look forward to your visiting us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Staff and Management of the Lexington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rockford hotels

Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I am a road warrior and not particularly picky or critical of hotels. I have been staying on the road for years and have never had the inclination to write any reviews, good or bad. However, this room was so bad that I felt I had to warn others. The lobby is nice, but that is the end of it. We were given a room on the first floor, and as soon as we stepped in the hallway my heart sunk. Stained, dirty carpet, broken glass in the wall hangings, doors that had been kicked open... real bad. Our room was no better- broken door safety lock, stained linens, bugs everywhere in the bathroom and moth-eaten curtains (no, really!) Never ever will we be back and suggest no one else does either. I'd rather sleep in the car!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTRManagement, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Good morning Don C,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort. My sincere apology for the stay that you experienced; rest assured the new management and staff is working diligently on correcting the concerns that you have mentioned.

There have been over 25 rooms that have been fully renovated with an additional two rooms scheduled to be completed this week. The pool has been redone. Lobby refreshed and restaurant and bar areas have had renovation work.

We know we are not complete, and will work hard every day to restore Cliffbreakers to its rich heritage of the past.

Again, our apology and our appreciation for your taking the time to comment. We know that through caring guests as yourself, we are on the right path.

Sincerely,

Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
5.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
336 reviews
6.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#1 of 24 in Rockford
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
6.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 700 W Riverside Blvd, Rockford, IL 61103-2173 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Cliffbreakers' Riverside Resort)
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Jewel of Rockford" is the most popular destination for business travel, families and for special events such as weddings, business conferences and meetings and fundraisers with the region’s largest ballrooms and most attractive meeting space. The Northern Illinois Luxury Hotel at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort includes more of what you want when traveling to the real, original Northern Illinois Region – the community with big-city amenities and a small-town feel! Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all guest rooms – we have it. Northern Illinois Riverview Suites, Loft Suites or Specialty Themed Suites – your choice! Free hot breakfast – available every morning. A European styled property with a heated indoor pool and evening room service – relax and enjoy. Every guest room with Microwaves, Mini-fridges and expanded cable TV....relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel At Cliffbreakers` Riverside Rockford
Lexington Hotel Cliffbreakers Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing