We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I would highly recommend Cliffbreakers' Riverside Resort. The rooms are large and comfortable. The beds are wonderful. The bathrooms were good size and the shower had great pressure and volume. Surprisingly there are a lot historical artifacts in the hotel that are very interesting. The "continental" breakfast is the best I have ever had -- a large selection of warm foods in the buffet as well as the usual continental breakfast foods. We did not get a chance to eat at the restaurant but it had a pleasant appearance and decent crowds for a Wednesday and Thursday nights. The staff was wonderful and very friendly. We even got to meet the General Manager of the hotel who was a great guy. The bar was super. It had many televisions, had an awesome deck overlooking the Rock River and the bartenders were wonderful. If you get a chance to make it to the bar make sure you talk to Brian or Suarta who are GREAT people. I have traveled to many hotels and Cliffbreakers has become one of my instant favorites.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradB49816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear BradB49816,

Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay.

We look forward to your staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 357 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel in the past, and sometimes had good experiences, sometimes not. This time was the BEST. Tips: Become a Lexington Hotel guest member...you qualify for automatic room upgrades, and from reading others (unfortunate) comments, I'm sure a Lexington Hotel member guest would be cared for better than they found. Yes, the hotel is under renovation, but our room was immaculate and view of the Rock River was excellent. The complimentary morning hot breakfast of eggs, sausage, potatoes, biscuits, muffins, cereal, great coffee, juices, yogurt or fruit was fresh and delicious! We were PLEASED!! And we're picky! Yes, we will return!!

Room Tip: Join Lexington Hotel guest program...it's free and lots of upgrades & perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Linda L,

Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay.

We look forward to your staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We just checked in tonight. The staff was very friendly upon arrival and while the overall curb appeal was average/sub par we were excited to begin our stay. While there is renovation under way the hotel is still serviceable. We were not happy once we settled into our room that evening. There was hair everywhere. In our bed sheets/pillowcases, on our sink, toilet. It was gross. I am planning on commenting to the management tomorrow to see how the complaint is handled

Right now wishing we had stayed somewhere else.

Derek

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTRManagement, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Good afternoon Derek015,

Thank you for taking the time to speak with us regarding your recent stay at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort and Lexington Hotel. We appreciate your taking the effort to share your concerns. Rest assured this was an isolated incident.

We look forward to your visiting us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Staff and Management of the Lexington Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I am a road warrior and not particularly picky or critical of hotels. I have been staying on the road for years and have never had the inclination to write any reviews, good or bad. However, this room was so bad that I felt I had to warn others. The lobby is nice, but that is the end of it. We were given a room on the first floor, and as soon as we stepped in the hallway my heart sunk. Stained, dirty carpet, broken glass in the wall hangings, doors that had been kicked open... real bad. Our room was no better- broken door safety lock, stained linens, bugs everywhere in the bathroom and moth-eaten curtains (no, really!) Never ever will we be back and suggest no one else does either. I'd rather sleep in the car!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank don c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTRManagement, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Good morning Don C,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort. My sincere apology for the stay that you experienced; rest assured the new management and staff is working diligently on correcting the concerns that you have mentioned.

There have been over 25 rooms that have been fully renovated with an additional two rooms scheduled to be completed this week. The pool has been redone. Lobby refreshed and restaurant and bar areas have had renovation work.

We know we are not complete, and will work hard every day to restore Cliffbreakers to its rich heritage of the past.

Again, our apology and our appreciation for your taking the time to comment. We know that through caring guests as yourself, we are on the right path.

Sincerely,

Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My family flew into town for a wedding; we arrived at the front desk 1 hour prior to check asking for an early check in since we had a wedding to be at in an hour. Front desk coordinator said no, that out of the hotels 105 rooms not a single one was clean or could be used to get ready. I had called 2 hours prior to hotel arrival notifying her of our situation and requested an early check in, to which she replied she could not garuntee anything. Needless to say my family and I will never stay there again and for a hotel not to have one room available, an hour before regular check in time for a special circumstance after a 2 hour call ahead and request is poor customer service and bad business!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jkeating328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTRManagement, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Jkeating328,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort. My apology for the inability to provide an early check in as requested; often times there are many requests for late check outs and early check ins, unfortunately, we cannot fulfill all of these requests.

Many hotels offer a 400 PM check in time, we offer a 300 pm check in, as a gesture to show that we do recognize that many travelers have needs as yours to get ready and then attend events, activities or shows.

It isn't as not wanting to fulfill your request, as it is that there were no clean and inspected rooms at that time. All rooms scheduled for an arrival are cleaned and then re-inspected by a member of housekeeping management to ensure a satisfactory room cleanliness and quality factor. This extra step is done to ensure the best room presentation possible.

The new team of management at the resort is working on every point of guest feedback that we receive. Your comments have been shared with the team to continue to improve in what we do.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort and Lexington Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

As soon as you enter the area you notice it is unsafe.
As soon as I pulled up in the driveway I saw two police cars!
As soon as you enter the lobby it smells like spoiled fried shrimp
The hotel is not clean AT ALL.
The pool was small and dirty and I felt unsafe in the pool room.
Room was outdated and unclean.
Box TV from 1980
Scratched up furniture
Ugly furniture and bedspreads
Bugs crawling around and on walls.
Hair in sink, shower, toilet and on the floor in bathroom
Smells like smoke everywhere
Empty restaurant on Sunday night at 6:30pm!

ALL FOR $100/NIGHT!!!!

DO NOT STAY HERE.

STAY AT THE MOTEL 6!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTRManagement, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Sam T,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the resort. While it is disappointing to read of your concerns, rest assured the new management team has been focusing on correcting the challenges that are mentioned.

The pool area and pool was closed this past Monday for upgrades and painting. The guest room renovation has been an ongoing project, as we are redoing an average of 1 to 3 rooms per week with new bedding, matresses, blinds, desk chair, lighting, paint, artwork and heating and air conditioning units where needed.

Many hotel operators invite the area police departments to relax and enjoy a cup of coffee during their shift. We often have the area finest police officers in our building, as we encourage a feeling of civic and community sharing. The resort hosts many city, county and state governmental events and activites throughout the year, so the police cars in the parking lot are a common occurrence. At a previous hotel, we fed the shift officers on first and second shift every day of the year, so there was always police there. Again, a sense of sharing and thanks for their service.

Rest assured, we truly value each and every guest and their feedback, as we consider it to be the breakfast of champions. We will use yours to grow and improve.

Thank you,

Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort and Lexington Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Unless a hotel has been built in the last couple of years, you are going to notice some wear and tear. You have to consider the sheer volume of people filing through the rooms. Cliffbreakers has recently changed their management and they are trying hard to upgrade the experience. They do offer a level of concern and interest in your personal comfort that many chain hotels would not. And as another rater commented, the decor is something you will not see anywhere else. My feeling is that the rooms are comfortable and quite clean. If you have issues, the staff will work hard to make things right or offer alternate accomodations. If you want something a little more special and you can afford it (it's not a lot more . . .) try one of their suites. They are beautiful and offer unique antique decor. It's family friendly and offers not only their own restaurant and bar but is also close to LOTS of other dining and local activities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTRManagement, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Leigh P,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent visit to Cliffbreakers.

The new management team is working hard to make the positive difference!

Sincerely,

Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
6.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Rockford
Courtyard Rockford
#8 of 24 in Rockford
118 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 24 in Rockford
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
342 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
4.1 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#14 of 24 in Rockford
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 700 W Riverside Blvd, Rockford, IL 61103-2173 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Cliffbreakers' Riverside Resort)
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockford
Price Range: $77 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Jewel of Rockford" is the most popular destination for business travel, families and for special events such as weddings, business conferences and meetings and fundraisers with the region’s largest ballrooms and most attractive meeting space. The Northern Illinois Luxury Hotel at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort includes more of what you want when traveling to the real, original Northern Illinois Region – the community with big-city amenities and a small-town feel! Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all guest rooms – we have it. Northern Illinois Riverview Suites, Loft Suites or Specialty Themed Suites – your choice! Free hot breakfast – available every morning. A European styled property with a heated indoor pool and evening room service – relax and enjoy. Every guest room with Microwaves, Mini-fridges and expanded cable TV....relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel At Cliffbreakers` Riverside Rockford
Lexington Hotel Cliffbreakers Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing