We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Space Makes Up for Shortcomings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Rockford
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I needed a suite with two separate bedrooms and the Residence Inn was the only hotel in town that offered this on the weekend in question. The hotel is getting new siding, which makes it look pretty shabby right now but it will look good by the end of the summer. The rooms have been recently remodeled and are clean and modern. It is also surprisingly quiet in the room considering how full the hotel was. Breakfast was the typcial free-breakfast fare -- not sure those are real eggs -- so I skipped it after the first day. The hotel staff was very young -- one man didn't have his shirt tucked in (a minor issue, I know.) They have a convenient pantry in the lobby with bare essentials you might need, such as gatorade and hot pockets (calling Jim Gaffigan!) A small pool was way overchlorinated Sunday morning and I had to sit by the emergency exit door, which must have been opened by staff.

Housekeeping staff was everywhere, which means they were very busy the weekend we stayed. It was good to see that this hotel was appropriately staffed.

The location is in Rockford's Hotel Alley on State Street and Bell School Road. Nothing but strip malls as far as the eye can see. Convenient from the freeway and easy enough to get to other stores and restaurants. The good news is that it doesn't take long to get to one of Rockford's many attractions, including the Anderson Japanese Garden.

If you need space and you are on a tight budget, you can't go wrong with the Residence Inn. You get a microwave, toaster, mini-dishwasher, refridgerator, all the dishes and pots and pans you need -- no wooden spoon though. Each bedroom had its own bathroom, flat screen tvs in each of the two bedrooms and the living room, pull out sofa, etc. It was a great way to spread out and make ourselves at home for a weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbitholearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Rockford, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Rabbitholearts,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Residence Inn Rockford. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious suites and that it met your needs. I do hope that if you should find yourself in Rockford again you will remember us.

Sincerely,
Sheryl S
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was home base for us for 4 nights at the end of June, 2013. We were in town for a family wedding and needed space for 2 small children and 6 adults, so we booked a 2 bdrm suite. We normally would use a Hilton property (Homewood Suites), but there were none available in Rockford. I was a bit apprehensive to book here, based on some reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised/relieved at the new upgrades done to the property. Everything was clean and bright, from lobby and breakfast area to our suite! The only thing which keeps me from giving our trip a 5 star rating is that the housekeeping staff was very erratic as to when they would come to clean. It made it hard to schedule naptime, and communicating with the staff at the door was nearly impossible. There were 2 days when we just decided to skip having them come in as they came way too late in the day. I should add that the rest of the staff was very helpful and tended to all our needs.

Other than that, it was a great stay. Great location, too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at this property the last week of June, 2013. We have stayed here before and always liked it but they have recently renovated all the rooms and lobby and it is really nice; very comfortable and clean. What makes it really special is the staff, especially the Assistant General Manager, Marty Hanaver. We had several requests during our stay and everything was handled superbly. Thank you to Marty and the rest of the staff for a great week at your hotel. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor of the building in front of the lobby and it was fvery convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here on our way back to Ohio from North Dakota. We wanted a one bedroom, but they were out of them, so we got a studio. It was plenty big! It was brand new and updated and very nice looking and clean. The staff was super helpful and friendly and we really enjoyed our stay. They have a great hot breakfast as well. We did use the pool. It was small, but it was clean and the kids enjoyed themselves. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 200... it was a newer part of the hotel and everything was brand new and updated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel has been nicely updated. Large comfortable rooms! The staff was great and so was the breakfast. Marty, the manager was very attentive to our needs. We booked 3 rooms, and he allowed us to check in early with no issue. The check in/out process was extremely fast. The housekeeping staff were prompt and very polite.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the updated building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This place has been totally remolded. Very nice and clean. The staff down to the cleaning crew were very helpfull and always seemed to be in a good mood. They made my stay with my family great! The freebreakfast was great and they changeup the hot buffet a little bit everyday. Besides the hot buffet they had everything you could think of to eat for breakfast. The cook came out constantly asking how everything was and if she could get anything for us. Keep smiling and keep up the great work staff.

Room Tip: They do have a kitchenette but they do not have an oven only a stovetop. I brought frozen pizzas an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have been here before and really love the remodel the property looks great and the little things were nice for example the pool was warm I have been in too many hotels where the water was too cold. The evening social was great food and the staff could not be any more friendly. A tip for if you are looking to eat some place the Machine shed up the street is very very good whats nice is they have coupons at the hotel to go nice bonus

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevint23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rockford
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Rockford
Courtyard Rockford
#10 of 24 in Rockford
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 24 in Rockford
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Rockford

Address: 7542 Colosseum Dr, Rockford, IL 61107-5810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rockford
Price Range: $152 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Rockford 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Rockford is one of the premiere extended stay hotels in Rockford, IL. We're conveniently located near the Rockford Airport, and just minutes away from Magic Waters, Cherryvale Mall, Rock Valley College and Rockford University. Our hotel offers free hot breakfast and free WiFi to all guests, as well as indoor pool and hot tub facilities. We are one of the only pet friendly hotels in Rockford, IL. All Residence Inn hotel rooms come with a full kitchen, including stove top, full refrigerator, dishwasher, and lots of counter space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockford Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing