We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An okay place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63)
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An okay place”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Our first choice was booked full, so we decided to give the Holiday Inn a try. We were glad to land a first floor room. It had all the amenities one would expect, but the room had an odor that was a bit objectionable. Not bad enough to request a change. All in all, not a bad experience, but not exceptional either.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    60
    52
    19
    13
See reviews for
44
29
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stay there on business often. Everything as one would expect at a Holiday Inn. Clean, modern. The driver does go out of his way to provide transportation services. This one seems like the front desk girls are a little friendlier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pokher_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stay there on business often. Everything as one would expect at a Holiday Inn. Clean, modern. The driver does go out of his way to provide transportation services. This one seems like the front desk girls are a little friendlier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aammeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We like the HIG brands, Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express and especially Candlewood Suites. Since we stay in motels 350+ days a year for work, we have LOTS of comparisons and rarely are disappointed in an HIG hotel. This one is a good example of an older building that has had it's rooms brought up to a higher standard.

The beds are luxurious (our #1 criteria after cleanliness) so we always get a great night's sleep. We have stayed at the Quality Inn, Days Inn and ESA all within 1 mile of this Holiday Inn - this hotel is the best of all 4.

If you need/want to get a good nights' sleep before you fly out of Chicago's O'Hare airport, you can leave your car here, take a bus to the airport AND get a good night's sleep the night before.

The restaurant off the lobby is not one we will go back to, but there are 2 other options off the parking lot and The Shed is close by too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel on a business trip. The hotel is nicely located with bus service direct from Chicago airport to the hotel. But thats the only good thing i liked about the hotel.

The rooms were big but need renovation. My room ac had all its wings broken and also the swtiches were pretty old style.
The restaurant they have here is nice but i did not get a chance to eat here much as were eating out mostly.

Well i paid double for this hotel. They charged my card and told me it did not work properly and have cleared the entry and took cash from me. Now when I came back I see my card has been charged and money has been taken. Spent 2 months in sorting this with the hotel but no helps. So be careful that this does not happen to you. For me overall this was quite an average experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pawansahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63), responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Pawansahni,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My good friends youngest daughter got married about 20 minutes from this hotel location. Location was ultimate for our adventure this weekend. My priority was our 2 Exchange students. I wanted them to see a true American Wedding and still be in a good location to take a quick visit to Chicago. This worked out well for us. Our checkin was flawless. I'm a Gold member and my first name was waiting on a whiteboard. The girls were very impressed. The room was clean and spacious. We had difficulty with the shower, but that was our problem. Worked great when we were instructed by maintenance HOW to use it. Funny!

My only slight negative and I emphasize slight, is the pool area. It could use some updating and maybe a stronger exhaust system. It's been awhile since I've been in an enclosed pool area, but it seemed strong smelling.

Safe, secure, and well lit parking is important to me when I travel. This hotel really gets that issue. I tend to travel on my own and I like this feeling of safety when I arrive. I had no issue leaving in the evening to explore and venturing back.

Room Tip: Great elevator system, Higher is quieter and less bright at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FollysJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at this property for 18 nights, starting Aug 7, 2012. We got a great value thru Priceline for this 3 1/2 star property.

The location is great for travelers, but is about 6 miles from downtown Rockford, via busy streets.

The parking is almost unlimited, the Hotel is very nice overall, but a little ragged around the edges, the two elevators are the slowest We've ever remembered. Our room was non-smoking with a very, very comfortable King bed and extremely high quality linens and choices of pillows. The maid service was always very nicely done, with high quality towels. The 42" flat screen TV had good choice of channels and with very good reception. In room coffee was by the cup brewing. In the business center there were 3 computers and a printer (which went on the blink 2 days before we left), there were always Airpots of Wolf Gang Puch coffee, which was very tasty)

The area of this Hotel has a lot of company, there must be 10-12 other hotels/motels, from Motel 6, Red Roof Inn, to Staybridge Suites, Residence Inn, Hilton,etc, all within walking distance. Which brings up the biggest problem we found with this location, besides the other hotels/motels, there were quite a few restaurants from Burger King, Denny's, Ruby Tuesday, and local upscale Italian, but this was an Extremely Unfriendly area for pedestrians!!

Especially after dark, there are no crosswalks, no pedestrian crossing lights, and two very busy roads, with 45 mph limits. Additionally, there are no sidewalks, only gravel or grassy shoulders. Both roads were multi-lane with two right turns lanes and islands. It was very difficult to make a crossing without a bit of a hustle! Not for the less than Fleet of Foot!!

The Hotel did have a very good, but pricey Restaurant, which locals recommended. The Hoffbrau House, had limited hours for meals, i.e., breakfast from 6-10am and then lunch from 11-2, and Dinner from 5-9 (?), point is, it wasn't as convenient as a Denny's or other 24 hour place.

Over-all we enjoyed our length stay and recommend this Holiday Inn as a good choice.

Room Tip: Our 7th Floor room had a good view, and was mostly quiet, especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hi-desertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#1 of 24 in Rockford
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockford
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Rockford
Courtyard Rockford
#7 of 24 in Rockford
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63)

Property: Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63)
Address: 7550 E State St, Rockford, IL 61108-2716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63) 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Rockford's premier full service hotel, the Holiday Inn of Rockford invites you to experience a hotel stay unlike any other. Whether you are traveling on business to see such companies as Daimler Chrysler or Hamilton Sundstrand, planning a day of shopping at CherryVale Mall, taking the family to Magic Waters or playing at Sportscore the Holiday Inn of Rockford is the first choice for travelers. The Hoffman House Restaurant, located inside the hotel is known for its world famous prime rib. The Scoreboard Lounge is one of Rockford's finest sports bars. For conventions, nothing compares. Our banquet facilities can host from 5 to 500 complete with full service catering and technology needs. Relax, it's Holiday Inn located right off I-90 on East State Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rockford (I-90 Exit 63) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rockford (i-90 Exit 63) Hotel Rockford
Rockford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing