We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photo misleading as is advertised price on website”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Not only is the photo misleading, but we paid over $75 for a room that we found advertised for $49.95 for one night. The decor was dated and busted. Cracked trim, peeling paint and only one pillow per bed. The place was infested with gnats and tiny red-eyed flies. I also believe it is a transients hotel as I saw a lot of grills set out on balconies (which I believe is in violation of hotel regulations.) The check-in personnel, Miss Megan (proudly printed on her name badge), was dismissive. The location is in the flight path of the nearby regional airport as well as nestled between two other lodging establishments. One of which was recently featured on the news where a mother of a missing boy (for over a year now) was discovered to be living. I would not ever recommend this hotel, not even to an enemy. I did not feel safe or clean staying here. When visiting friends who live in the Cherry Valley area, they asked "Why did you stay there????" in shock and dismay. We thought it was the cheapest place to stay. It wasn't. Lesson learned.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

We are truly apologetic that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. We realize that we are working with an older property that come with it's own challanges. Unfortunately there is very little we can do about our geographical location and the age of our building, but we pride ourselves on the things that we do have control over: customer service, cleanliness and safety. Please know that the staffmember will be confronted and questioned about her attitude. As far as the rate discrepency goes, our room rates range from $49.95 to $79.95. The price variation is dependent on many factors, such as room size, # of beds, weekday or weekend, # of occupants, etc... please feel free to contact us with your stay details and I'll be more than happy to investigate the rate discrepency. We hope that you will give us another shot and we look forward to serving your future needs. Feel free to contact me directly with any other concerns, (815)397-9000x246.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 394 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

At the end of a very rough day, I checked into this hotel. My check in clerk was Donita. She was very nice and helpful. She placed me away from the road where it would be most quiet so I could get the rest I needed. My check out clerk was Ebony. She was equally helpful and friendly. The staff is exceptional, the rooms are nice, the beds are comfortable, and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling!

Room Tip: Just ask the staff. They will gladly place you wherever you desire to be. Quiet side, sunny side, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the kind response. We take great pride in knowing that our staff was able to accomodate you and keep you happy. We are grateful for your business and look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

When i stayed there the room was very clean the carpets had just been cleaned and the room smelled very clean like fresh linen. Lisa & staff is very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience. We recognize that our hotel is older than most others so we place a lot of stress on customer service and cleanliness. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We loved the stay and will be back, It was very quiet and comfortable. I felt safe. The room was clean, The game room could use some air conditioning though. The best part was communicating with the lady at the desk Donita. She was very helpful with our late night check in. The internet was a pretty good speed. We are coming back next month.

Room Tip: Upstairs is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that the game room wasn't as cool as it should've been. Our maintenance team will investigate and resolve this matter. We appreciate your patience and are grateful for your patronage. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hotel was renovated since our last stay five years ago. It is very clean and comfortable. It is close to the Rockford airport, so is a convenient place to stay at for early morning flights. We did not get to check out the pool, and the restaurant was closed for the day when we arrived, so we had to go elsewhere for dinner. Will definitely stay here on our next flight to Rockford.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry that our restaurant was unable to accomodate you during your stay with us. For future reference here are the hours of operation for our restaurant: SUN-MON: 6AM-2PM and TUES-SAT: 6AM-9PM. We know you have a choice when you are selecting a hotel, and we sincerely appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Pictures are deceiving. This hotel is old and run down. It is dirty, smelly and in a scary location. Looked like transients live there. Crazy person at pool wanted to buy a cigarette from me for 30 cents even though I don't smoke. Warning signs everywhere to lock your cars. Chipping paint everywhere. Stay anywhere else. Hotel is a rip off at $89. You couldn't pay me again to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Donita at the front-desk was very outgoing & likeable. She went above & beyond our expectations for customer service, especially since it was very late in the evening when we checked in. We really appreciated her kindness. :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank contacta_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
4.2 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#14 of 24 in Rockford
205 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockford
7.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
6.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rockford - I-90
6.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL

Address: 3909 11th St, Rockford, IL 61109-3022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Price Range: $61 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new management! Our hotel includes Complimentary in-room WIFI, large heated resort style indoor pool, dry rock sauna, fitness center, Guest Laundry & 24-hour game room with pool table. Smoking rooms are no longer available. We have free, fresh healthy continental breakfast. This Howard Johnson is conveniently located one mile from Rockford Airport and right off Highways 20 and 251. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Rockford Hotel Rockford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing