We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all around terrible experience”
Review of Motel 6 Rockford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Rockford
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Reviewed July 21, 2014

well where to start here it goes drove two hours after work to get to the hotel with my fiancé which is her first trip after having serious health issues we arrive and I stand in line for over an hour to check while a biker gang is busy partying and checking in and they keep cutting in front of everyone in line and the front receptionist allowed it and when I spoke to her about it she said you don't have to stay here I said I have a reservation and made her help the woman in front of me and then me during this time my fiancé is sitting outside in our car for over an hour no food or bathroom for hours finally got into hour room what a joke first the light over the bed would not stop flickering so I had to repair the light in the room for them then the pillows were so worn out they were maybe 1.5 inches thick and hard there was no boxspring it was a rock hard mattress on a cheap wood pedestal and the sheets were old stiff and full of burn holes I went to the receptionist the first night she said no extra pillows on the second night she found on that was as bad as the others and then gave me a bedspread and suggested I fold it and put it under my pillows and what really urked me is I stayed at this motel for 2 reasons
location and I wanted a pool and the damn pool was closed for my entire stay I should have been told the pool was not available when I made my reservation now here is the best part I put our sweatshirts and belongings we were taking with us in the morning on the ac unit in the room which was on my side of the bed when I grabbed the sweatshirts to leave the room in the morning which we had for 2 days and nights the sweatshirts had ants all over them we left the room at 10am got back that night at about 9;30pm told the receptionist about the ants and she oh they come in the room sometimes over there this stay was so messed up and I was so tired and we were leaving in the morning I didn't even want to change rooms but again another night of no sleep and misery and now you all have heard about so if you stay here after reading this good luck with your awful decision oh yes hey they have a little card they give for guest relations but they never answer their phone or return messages even after multiple calls but I did go on the internet and got another number that I did get someone on the line and at least he heard me out and tried to be helpful with my nightmare stay
the worst part of this whole mess it was my fiancés first little trip for us when she almost died due to 3 aneurisms and a stroke that is truly why I am really upset at what happened at this motel 6 facility sorry it was so long but I am venting my anger and disgust very disapointing

Room Tip: don't stay here ever move to another hotel never stay at this motel 6
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Rockford
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 123 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

Never ever set foot in this filthy motel. I am sure you will go home with more than you came with! And I am not talking money! We entered the room of stench, that had one small window and a very faint light in the lamp. For good reason… the bedspread and pillow cases were filthy stained and burn holes. Floors not vacuumed, and curtains filthy! The bathroom sickened us. Tub and toilet looked like it had not been cleaned in months. We called the front desk, the man came to the room and was so rude, told us no refunds and took us to another room that was worse than that one! We told him we wanted a refund and he shook his head no. After we told him again we will not stay in this filth and that we took pictures, he walked out and we were walking to the office entrance and he opened the door and made sure it shut on me – very rude! We did get our money back but with attitude! We were also told the pool was heated, a lady in the parking lot said it was ice cold! When we brought that up, he said it is heated – by the sun! Really, nice try! Unbelievable. I can not even explain how nasty this motel is. Shame on Motel 6! All I can say is... dont leave the lights on! (as they say in their commercials.. they leave them on) well go away from the light friends! .... I no the rates are cheap, but it should still be clean!

Room Tip: Look up reviews. Dont go by the motel pics, look at visitor pics.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We've always had good luck with Motel 6 rooms... yes, it's a cheaper stay so you don't expect much, but the rooms are always CLEAN. We just needed a room for one night to catch some sleep. We checked in, went to our room, and 10 minutes later tried to check out. We were told we could not check out until there had been a night audit done & when we asked for a refund we were told NO REFUNDS. What?! It was disgustingly filthy! There was feces on the toilet, the tub looked like it hadn't been cleaned for months & they even draped a towel & bar of soap over the side of the dirty tub... burn holes in the sheets that clearly hadn't been washed, busted bathroom door, & dirt clinging from the walls and door. I needed to shower after stepping a toe in this room! We left & stayed at the Hampton Inn next door... where it was amazingly clean & had an awesome staff!! Do not go here!!

Room Tip: Go next door
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This motel is close to the I90, and easy to spot. Cheap rate, and clean room though it has seen better days. Good deal for a drive through, quick stay. It is close to fast food restaurants, and gas stations. A bit noisy, being close to highway.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Scott19610000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The only complaint I have is with the heating system it was either too hot or too cold in the room you could get the heater to adjust to be comfortable. Other then this it was a pleasent stay friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae_Ferguson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This place ranks up there with one of the worst motels I have ever stayed in. Dirty wood laminate floors, burn holes in linen, towels that resemble something you would wash your car with. The heating system was terrible either very hot or very cold. So cold in fact I had bottled water in a plastic bag sitting on the floor near the door which froze solid during the night. So cold I was not able to shower nor would I want to. Appears to be foreign national operated. Stay away if u must stay in Motel 6 avoid this one

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Driverjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Not fancy,of course,but everything neceassary for a pleasant stay.This is all Motel 6 promises. First room I was given was very clean.Heater stopped working during the night.I went to the lobby where desk clerk immediately gave me another room,absolutely no problem.This was another very clean,warm room.
I didn't find motel to be anything like the place described elsewhere

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Rockford
Days Inn Rockford
#18 of 24 in Rockford
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Rockford
Comfort Inn Rockford
#19 of 24 in Rockford
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Rockford
Candlewood Suites Rockford
#16 of 24 in Rockford
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rockford - State Street
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rockford - I-90
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Rockford

Address: 7712 Potawatomi Trl, Rockford, IL 61107-5800
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Price Range: $53 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Rockford 1.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Rockford is conveniently located off I-90 near Magic Water Amusement Park, Cherry Vale Mall, Rockford College, Sinnissippi Gardens, and Boone County Fairgrounds. Free Wi-Fi, Microwave and Refrigerator in selected rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockford Motel 6
Rockford Motel Six
Motel Six Rockford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing