We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bugs in Bed, Dirty Sheets, Scary Employees”
Review of Motel 6 Rockford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Rockford
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
SW Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bugs in Bed, Dirty Sheets, Scary Employees”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

WE ended up getting our money back and finding another place to stay. This motel is one of the worst we've stayed in. There was a mass exodus of people leaving at 9 pm who once they checked out the rooms decided to leave. There were dead bugs in the bed and the rest of the sheets were dirty with grass and other unmentionables. I'd rather sleep in the car! Do not go here! Front desk employees were scary and hanging out with their scary friends. Never stopped texting the whole time of check in and eventual check out 10 minutes later. I agree with wrigley1980-GROSS!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earthmother30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    16
    15
    59
See reviews for
22
16
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Iron, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night traveling through Rockford. I am not a fan of Motel 6 usually, but this was was spotless. Also in a good location right off the highway!! Wouldn't recommend for a lengthy stay, but if you dont mind not having amentities and fancy rooms, it's a good, cheap stay!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CaSaundraLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Im not fond of motels but I stayed in this one several times. It was cheap, free wifi and it has all the basic needs. It was clean and at a great price. This is not a resort by any means but if you are in a tight budget this would be a good place to stay. Right by the highway, restaurants w/i walking distance and right accross the street from bus stop. They also have a pool. Its a good deal for the price.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonSantiago85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Illinois
Level Contributor
346 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I was looking for a cheap hotel where I could get some sleep before continuing on with our trip. I should have known what I was getting when the hotel was only $32.00.
It was so gross. There was hair all over the bathroom sink. The towels were dirty. I pulled out one hand towel to use and it had a big black streak on it.
The bed has no springs left in it. You lay down and seems like you sink to the floor. I didn't even feel comfortable sleeping on the sheets. I tried to get some sleep but there was someone in the room next to me making a lot of noise (like moaning sounds and grunting). You can use your imagination as to what was going on in there. Hahahaha
After about 3 hours I decided to leave. I had enough of that hotel room. I didn't even try to get my money back. I was just ready to get as far way as I could from this hotel.
Spend the extra $20.00 for a different hotel. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrigley1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rockford hotels

Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

First off... The whole reason we stayed here was because there were signs on the highway saying Motel 6 was only $29/night or something amazing like that.
When we got here, the guy at the front desk gave us a higher rate, and said the rate we'd seen was for some other Motel 6 (maybe).
However, I had even gone online before we arrived and found a rate specifically for THIS Motel 6, and he wouldn't give us that rate either. He literally made me use my PHONE to go online and book a reservation while I was standing at the front desk, and then checked us in with my confirmation code. Ridiculous! Oh, and after we checked in he also told us that Rockford IL has the highest crime rates in the US. Awesome. Really feeling good by this point about our choice of motel for the night. Thanks dude.
So we get to our room, which is pretty cheap feeling... and I go to use the bathroom and find urine all over the floor AND WALLS!!! Gross!!! Who does that?!??!
The free wi-fi was so slow that our laptops couldn't use it. We considered using the pool but didn't feel safe enough so just got through the night and left. No continental breakfast available, although clearly there was a space set up for it in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Our room was pretty clean and it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cis_johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dundee, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I am staying here right now. It said it had a fitness center and breakfast? LOL NOPE... They have they don't use it.. I am very disappointed.. they have an area for a very nice breakfast But they don't use it all u get is coffee from 6am to 10 am. its BARE min. even the complimentry shampoo PACKET. one use is a doller in the vending machine. along with the comp. tooth brush and paste. all u DO get is a tiny bar of soap...will NOt give refund been here 1 week and need to saty another 6 days cuz I am locked in no refunds found a Roach in lobby Bathroo, Nice POOL after the cleane d it on day 3 of algae

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SageMOM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Rockford
Days Inn Rockford
#16 of 24 in Rockford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Rockford
Comfort Inn Rockford
#19 of 24 in Rockford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rockford - State Street
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rockford
3.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#11 of 24 in Rockford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Rockford

Property: Motel 6 Rockford
Address: 7712 Potawatomi Trl, Rockford, IL 61107-5800
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Rockford 1.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Rockford is conveniently located off I-90 near Magic Water Amusement Park, Cherry Vale Mall, Rockford College, Sinnissippi Gardens, and Boone County Fairgrounds. Free Wi-Fi, Microwave and Refrigerator in selected rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Motel-6, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockford Motel 6
Rockford Motel Six
Motel Six Rockford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing