We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean room, pleasant staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Rockford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Rockford
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Clean room, pleasant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed here for one night back in August. This hotel is a newer hotel with new furniture, beds, kitchen appliances and flat screen LCD TV. Do not expect anything more than a no frills hotel. If you require attention then this hotel is not for you. It is an extended stay hotel for long term stays. But the price fit and I don't require a lot of attention.

There are restaurants all around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dabears-mv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
2
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Great service, clean rooms, decent price. Great place to spend the night.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rippius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, WA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

I've stayed at the Candlewood for the last 2 months and will probably be here for another 4 months. The rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable. The kitchens have a two burner stove, microwave, sink and refrigerator. Rooms are not large but not small either. The in-wall heater / air conditioner are quiet which is a plus. Stayed at too many places where the heaters rattle when operating. Only complaint would be the TV. I wish it was a flat panel 32" in size but the room does have a VCR/DVD player with a good selection of movies that you can borrow from the front desk. Laundry room has 3 washers and 4 dryers available for your use at no charge. Plenty of parking and the hotel is right next door to the Van Galder Bus Company that provides service to ORD or MDW airports.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamabuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISCONSIN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

This is a nice, clean property. Rooms were small but adequate. Plush mattress and great pillows. Room very clean and quiet. Sofa sleeper not so comfortable but doable. Would recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank CRNBRY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

We were originally booked at another property in Rockford that was awful. I called the hotel direct and they got us two rooms across the hall from each other. Rooms are very spacious, clean and well kept. The beds are very comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shnichol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

Candlewood Suites is definitely a step up from Studio Plus, but you do pay a bit more for it. Good points, nice sized room. very quiet atmosphere. VCR/DVD player included in room and a library of videos as well (but I didn't use them). Very nice bed. Good Microwave and full sized fridge. You can do your laundry for free and the candlewood cupboard is nice and handy for food of all kinds. The prices for the food are high, but not out of line.

Now the downsides. The fridge/freezer didn't work..the freezer barely made ice. There is NO oven in the suite like studio plus, so don't buy any food that requires an oven (like frozen pizza that I got...) Also, if the internet is a priority for you, it goes down about 3 x per day on average. You have to call the front desk to have them reset it and it doesn't always work. One guy tried to blame me and my computer for the problem, but being an IT guy, I set him straight really fast. They seem to treat the net problems as more of a nuisance rather than a priority for business travelers.

I am going to look around before I stay there again, but it might very well happen because it is a decent place to stay.

  • Liked — roomy, good bed, free laundry room, candlewood cupboard food was convenient
  • Disliked — NO oven, intermittent internet access
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mtmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

I planned a Reunion/Birthday Party in Rockford and booked a block of 10 rooms, back in Dec 2006. I specified 5 rooms with sofa sleepers because there were families coming with kids. I called the hotel the day before any unbooked rooms were to be released from my block - and the hotel didn't even have MY reservation! They said the block of rooms had been set up incorrectly and they never entered my personal reservation! They immediately booked me a room and I thought
all was well. When I arrived at the hotel to check in - they had no rooms with sofa sleepers nor anymore rollaways. There were 3 families
in our party that had kids, but no sleepers or rollaways were available. After 10 minutes of me insisting they rectify the situation, they finally secured rooms for our entire party at the Raddison across the parking lot (that property is under the same management).

In the end, I was not impressed at all with the handling of our group reservation, but Susan the Manager on duty did get us rooms at the Raddison with sofa sleepers and at our same group rate, accomodating our entiry party. Candlewood earned a point there.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylndoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#1 of 25 in Rockford
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rockford - State Street
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 25 in Rockford
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Rockford

Property: Candlewood Suites Rockford
Address: 7555 Walton St, Rockford, IL 61108-4606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Rockford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience our new 'Comforts of Home' bedding collection.The Candlewood Suites Hotel in Rockford Illinois is an a all studio-suite hotel, completely renovated in November 2007. The Candlewood is conveniently located off I-90 and State Street (US BR20). With easy access to I-39 and US Routes 20 and 43/Wisconsin, the Candlewood Suites Hotel-Rockford is perfectly located near business and entertainment centers, near Magic Waters water park, CherryVale Mall, and numerous golf courses. Located adjacent to Van Galder Bus Terminal with 24 shuttle service to O'Hare and Midway Airports. Hotel is ten minutes from Greater Rockford Airport. On-site Fitness Center, Complimentary movie rental and USA Today newspapers and Candlewood Cupboard. Same day Dry Cleaning service available along with complimentary full-sized washers and dryers. Priority Club Rewards Program. Pets Are Welcome with a non-refundable fee of $15 per night not to exceed $150. A pet policy must be signed at check in. Room Cleaning is provided once every 7 days. Maximum number of people (including children) allowed per room is 2 in a room with 1 bed or 3 with a rollaway. A limited number of rollaways are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Rockford
Rockford Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing