We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional Staff & Wet Floors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Unprofessional Staff & Wet Floors”
Reviewed September 24, 2009

It didn’t bode well when we arrived in the lobby of the Hilton Garden Inn, Rockford, the only customers to be seen, and as we approached the check-in desk, the desk agent immediately shoved a “closed” sign in our face, and walked to the far end position. Something like “Good Evening, I’d be happy to help you here” would have been a more professional and friendly way to relay the information. But professional and friendly weren’t to be the key words describing our stay. After that lack of welcome, she was inattentive and didn’t listen to what we were saying during check-in.

The hotel is located at the intersection of a highway and a freeway – so there is no getting away from the constant street noise. Combine that with the frig cycling off and on, and the window climate control unit cycling off and on, and it makes for a restless night unless you’re a deep sleeper or remembered your ear plugs.

The room was nicely appointed with comfortable beds, chair/ottoman, bureau, desk, frig, coffee maker, microwave. However the lack of attention to details was irritating at times. Some examples: whenever the top bureau drawer was opened, it also opened the drawer below it. But closing the top drawer left the next drawer open. Also, the hair dryer didn’t work – but the hotel did take care of that immediately. The bed skirts weren’t on the beds properly, leaving them bunched up on the floor at the feet of the beds. Etc. Small details, but a few too many.

The window climate control unit did not allow you to direct the air flow – so if you were using the chair, or closest bed, it was uncomfortable, as it was blowing directly on you at fairly close range.

The bathroom had a great bowed shower curtain rod and the shower curtain had a sheer section at eye level which eliminated that closed-in feeling. The toiletries were Neutrogena.

The breakfast consisted of cold coffee, fake sugar kind of yogurt, nasty pastries, whole fresh fruit (bananas, apples, oranges), cut fruit which tasted off, oatmeal, etc. Bacon, eggs, waffles, etc. could be made to order and the chefs did a fine job with those. There was a TV blasting during breakfast – how obnoxious! If they must have it on, turn off the sound and set it to closed caption. When we arrived for breakfast, there were no other guests in the buffet area. The short, gray-haired breakfast attendant was asked to heat a beverage as the microwave was kept in their kitchen. He made it clear that he was very annoyed at this request and said to ask the chef to do it. I asked the chef to heat it, and he said to have the breakfast attendant do it. Apparently Hilton breakfast attendants are not accustomed to guests making even the simplest requests. If that is the case, Hilton should move the microwave to the buffet area, so the guests can attend to such things themselves without “bothering” the staff.

One night there was a party off of the lobby area. The next morning at breakfast time, both the men’s and women’s lobby bathrooms had not been serviced – they were littered with abandoned drinks, paper debris everywhere, etc. Not only was this unsanitary and unappealing - but it seems as though it would make alcohol available to underage people.

During our entire stay, there were “wet floor” safety cones from the elevators to the lobby doors. These signs remained in place 24/7 (there was no rain during the entire stay and we didn’t actually see any floor mopping nor did we ever see the floors wet). Maybe it was easier to just leave the markers there 24/7, rather than to place and remove them if ever the floor would be scrubbed.

Does this Hilton have any management on-site at all? It would seem not. The employees are able to do as they please and behave as unprofessionally as they please – having absolutely no compunction about displeasing their guests.

Overall, not a horrible stay – but it did leave a bad taste. We won’t be reserving a spot at the Garden Inn on our next trip to Rockford.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    125
    37
    12
    10
See reviews for
225
87
17
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manteno, IL
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed here during a recent soccer tournament after the Clock Tower was so miserable to us. Now am happy they upset us so much that the entire team found other rooms. This hotel was very nice. Typical Hilton beds. Very clean. The staff went above and beyond to make sure everything was just right. The pool is very nice. My only complaint was there was no supervision in the pool area. Got very out of control.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Overall I really enjoyed the Hilton Garden Hotel. We wanted to get away for the weekend and drove down to Rockford from Milwaukee. One thing to be aware of is that I-90 is under major construction so it will be a slow trip. ( This Hilton Garden is right off I-90.) The hotel is comfortable and inviting. Our room was nicely decorated and clean. The staff is not overly friendly, but will answer any questions. The pool area is great. They have a mini-waterpark in the main pool area and a large hot tub that was clean and plenty hot! Both were relaxing and inviting. One thing I like about staying in Rockford is that there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. Right across the street from this hotel is a Machine Shed restaurant, Wal-mart is close to the hotel if you need to pick up a snack , and Starbucks is right across the street.

The only negative of the hotel, are the thin walls. And they are THIN. We could clearly hear the man in the next room and the people right above us were super noisy. I don't think the hotel was totally full, I wish they would of staggered the rooms a bit for more quiet.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank o2brich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I enjoyed my stay here at this hotel...it was right off of I-90, on the strip of all of the resturants, and excellent management! Great stay here be sure that you stay on the top floor because the floors/walls are rather thin. But I will surely stay there again if I have to venture to Rockford.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pimptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati,OH
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed one night and it was very nice. The room was very clean and modern with all the amenities you needed. I thought the beds were very comfortable too!! The front desk staff were very helpful and pleasant. The only thing I did not like was the lighting in the bathroom. They used the energy efficient bulbs so it was very difficult for me to see to put on my make up. (only women would understand this).

I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a quiet pleasant stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

The Hilton Garden Inn in Rockford,IL is the only place we will stay at in future visits to the area. It is new, totally non-smoking, light and bright , rooms comfortable and clean, counter help extremely friendly and a wonderful breakfast buffet cooked to order. Perfect for families, business people, etc. The price was great. We truly hated to leave!

They had a fun-looking pool area with water volleyball, basketball, area, unfortunately it was closed when we were there.

TRULY A GREAT PLACE TO STAY. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Californiafamilypv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

I visit Rockford every six months for business, and I've stayed at this Hilton Garden Inn every time for my last 3 trips. It's a great hotel for a quick business trip, and probably the best bet for consistent accommodations in the Rockford area.

The hotel is a typical HGI, with a very helpful staff, clean rooms, and everything else you'd expect from this brand. I'll definitely be back in six months, and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area and looking for a familiar hotel experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#1 of 24 in Rockford
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Rockford
Courtyard Rockford
#7 of 24 in Rockford
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rockford

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
Address: 7675 Walton St, Rockford, IL 61108-4609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rockford
#3 Business Hotel in Rockford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rockford 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Rockford hotel is a wonderful addition to the Rockford, Illinois area! Our hotel is right off I-90 on the east side of Rockford. Large pool area with zero-depth entry with children's area and hot tub. Banquet & meeting space. Free high-speed Internet access. Garden Grille for breakfast and dinner. 24-hour business center. Hilton HHonors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford Hotel Rockford
Hilton Rockford
Rockford Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing