We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A complete ripoff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Sam's Ristorante & Pizzeria
Ranked #54 of 358 Restaurants in Rockford
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are located in Northeast Rockford only 1 mile off of Interstate 90. We are close to the ISC/Sportscore II, Carlson Ice Arena, and Rock Valley College. We built with a large parking lot around the entire building and are able to accommodate large groups and banquets but also small family dinners and carryout/delivery service as well.
Rockford, il
1 review
“A complete ripoff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Ordered a Large - 1/2 vegetarian - 1/2 Pepperoni .... Full vegetarian is $ 17.95 ... Full Pepperoni is $ 10.50 ... was charged $ 21.50 ... you do the math ...

These people are CROOKS!

Run, Skippy RUN!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAMSRistorante6075, Manager at Sam's Ristorante & Pizzeria, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
No, the price is correct actually. The veggie pizza does not have pepperoni on it. Therefore the price is $17.75 for the veggie plus $1.60 for pepperoni. That comes to $19.35. Add tax and there is your $21.50. Not sure where that misunderstanding came from if you do the math it adds up but we encourage customers to please call us immediately if there are any issues with your orders so that we can fix the problem right away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    19
    7
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you love outdated 70's decor...its for you!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I went here for a wedding. The food is average. Service was just okay. Compared to other weddings I have attended...this place is what I would consider a good choice for people on a tight budget. This is no way a 5 star place. Anyone who frequents Chicagoland area restaurants and can compare..... banquet facilities and seating area for the banquet rooms are very very tired and outdated with 1970/80's decor with dark wood, dark floors, brass chandeliers and low ceilings. The bathroom is dark and fixtures are dated. Maybe it could be a 5 star pizza place with a full renovation....but really it is just a local, 1970's dated favorite.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kick5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
“Graduation party”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We recently held our daughter's H.S. graduation party at Sam's. We had about 16 people all together, several of which were out of town family. The food was delicious, the service even better! We had waiters around us several times asking if we needed anything but just enough privacy. The graduation sheet cake (with pudding) was loved by all! Thanks very much for making this such a special occasion!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAMSRistorante6075, Manager at Sam's Ristorante & Pizzeria, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
You're very welcome. Thank you for the great review! Please remember us for any upcoming 'special occasions'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“give a 20”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My favorite place to eat Pizza or have them deliver it like tonight thats what were having cant wait. I so love the way they make there pizza so dang YUMMMMY!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAMSRistorante6075, Manager at Sam's Ristorante & Pizzeria, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Lol, Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
“Small Grad party. Hi price.”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Recently had a college graduation party at Sams. Reserved room for 19 adults and 2 children and ordered 3 pastas, meatballs, salad and bread. All we drank were water and pop (pitchers). Price started at 10.95 a person for food but there was an extra $1.50/pp charge because it was a Saturday night. Then a 1/4 sheet cake was $37.00. They would not let us bring our own) Kids (Two 7 year old girls) were same price as adults. But the time they added tax, "then " 18.5% gratuity ($72.00) my bill was $461.00. ( $21.95 /pp) For pasta. The room they put us in was large enough for 200 people so not ideal setting for 21 people. The food was barely warm but tasted ok. The salad and bread were good. As others have said, I would not recommend Sams for a small banquet gathering. You are better off just ordering off the menu somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAMSRistorante6075, Manager at Sam's Ristorante & Pizzeria, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
I'm sorry that you feel that the prices were incorrect but if you reference our banquet menu you will see that there is a different price structure for Friday's and Saturday's. We offer a lower price for weekdays as a discount incentive for weekday banquets. We offer sheet cakes as well as other desserts in house. The sheet cakes are $36.95 and include the cutting and serving. We do not charge any fee for the room which helps keep costs down. Tax & gratuity are standard rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Ristorante & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Ristorante & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing