We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

GreenFire Restaurant Bar & Bakery
Reserve with OpenTable
GreenFire Restaurant Bar & Bakery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 358 Restaurants in Rockford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Kitchen & bakery are open until midnight every day and we serve breakfast until 4PM everyday. Wood Fire Pizza-Burger-Steaks-Seafood-Crepes-Pasta-Oysters-Cakes-Pies-Cupcakes-Craft Beers-Wine Juice and Coffee Bar. GreenFire's dishes are cooked in our wood burning and state of the art brick fire Woodstone ovens! We have no microwaves, no grill tops, stoves or deep fryers. Only the freshest and the best ingredients for our guests. GreenFire is a bustling American contemporary farm restaurant. Serving breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner focusing on simple, seasonal cuisine. Seasonal cooking classes & demonstrations.We are kids friendly, we have a children menu and kids love the restaurant. Many children ask their parents to bring them back. They love watching the wood fire and seat at the chefs counter. Chef and owner Philippe Forcioli brings you the worlds best foods from some of the best kitchens around the world. Jean-Georges NYC, Cipriani Venice, Cafe Patou and the famed Orient Express train to name a few.
Poplar Grove, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good but not great”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Made reservations for 7:00 Sat. night thinking it would be packed, but would have had no trouble getting in anyway. Had heard lots about the nice atmosphere so we were expecting something unique...not so. Nice, casual, open with several private seating areas but nothing we hadn't seen elsewhere. Tables were nicely decorated but so close together that each table could easily hear the neighbor's conversation. (Wondered what the noise level would be like when the entertainment started later in the evening.) The waitstaff was pleasant and helpful and service was quick...almost too quick. We enjoy dining leisurely and felt rushed to place orders and have our plates cleared. The wine and drink menu was nice and the food menu was creative but pricey. We ordered the seafood pizza and the cajun meat pizza, both of which were really good. We liked the food and were glad we tried Greenfire but for the price and the noisy atmosphere, won't hurry back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viajer0s810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    74
    40
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Valley, Il
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greenfire was delicious!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I've been to Greenfire 3-4 times since they opened and I'll be there tomorrow.I enjoy their Mussels and the Pizza,it was plenty for me. I especially like their desserts. The atomsphere is casual and the servers were very knowledgeable about the Menu. Some of the prices were a litttle steep but I don't eat Elk and very little Beef.With the Menu being online, I don't see a problem with pre-ordering with a large party. A large order can slow up the kitchen drastically, especially for a party of two on their way to movie,etc.I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jch3413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loves Park
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Over priced and rushed service”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Would Not recommend. Very pricey and the food was just okay. Wait staff was attentive but felt rushed. Restaurant was not busy so no reason for being rushed. I felt insulted by the prices and what you got for $$$.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawkeye079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pass on Greenfire.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

went on saturday night no reservations and where seated right away. I'd say it was about 80 percent full. It is very nicley laid out and has nice atmosphere and look. the wine and drink menu is very extensive and has some very nice wine options. The service was also very friendly and attentive. Now the food..Ahh not so great. the mussels app. was a huge portion but very bad. They just did not taste right some had funny spoiled taste and had some grindy bits inside. The shrimp de jonghe was also sub par. For the price the shrimp where very small and seemed like something you'd get at a chain. Also the toasted bread crostini's that came with both where cold. We also had a pizza which they say is 12" it seemed smaller and was average..The ones at Pearl or Alchemy I'd rate better. the carrot cake for desert which was a huge piece and was probably the best part of the dinner. Dropped $140 with tip which included bottle of wine and 3 top shelf cocktails. They also took the mussels app off bill. Many better options in Rockford for this price point, Too bad because it could be a great place! Pass

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank thegreenmean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brodhead, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We came here with a large party, so I got to sample several different entrees. The appeal of Greenfire is that the menu is made from organic, fresh ingredients. It is quite expensive if you want to get enough food to leave satisfied. A lot of members of our party ordered the pizzas since they only run around $12. Rave reviews for the grilled veggie pizza with goat cheese, although it was not big enough to satisfy someone with a hearty appetite. Less favorable was the take on the shrimp and chicken sausage pizza. My husband did not like the flavors, the shrimp was flavorless and again, not big enough, not enough toppings to satisfy. If it was paired with an appetizer and if they could be bothered to provide bread.....maybe then you would feel you had enough to eat.
Steaks are large, but will set you back $40 and like all the entrees, come with negligible sides. The portion size of the sides on all the dishes is very small, and no one thought theirs were anything worth getting excited over. I had the potatoes as a side and they were slightly undercooked and bland.
I had the beef burger with the duck bacon. The burger was fine, although it was not cooked medium as ordered. The duck bacon was tasty but otherwise, when paired with an uninspired side, I was disappointed.
Several members of our party ordered the chicken-bacon tortellini. You get a big bowl of whiteness; chunks of chicken and tortellini in a flavorless alfredo sauce. One member of our party was impressed the sauce was "light" (as opposed to the really heavy, thick alfredo sauce you often eat), but as mentioned, I thought it had zero flavor.
We ate here for a special party because the restuarant was highly recomended, but not one of our group walked away impressed or eager to eat there again. The atmosphere is trying to be high end, but the fact that it used to be a chain pizza restuarant is hard to hide. It is not elegant, the food is not elegant, and the overall experience was an expensive bust. Finally, we had a party of less than 20 people and when making reservations, the staff pressured us to make our order ahead of coming. Considering the number of people this restaurant can seat (Many, many people) it seemed a bit pushy to ask us to order before we came, especially given the fact that surely they have the staff to handle this number of guests.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SadiByrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GreenFire Restaurant Bar & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to GreenFire Restaurant Bar & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing