We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ok”

Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden
Ranked #8 of 35 things to do in Rockford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This year-round garden, which started as a commercial nursery, includes 155 acres of trees and 300 woody plant species mapped and labeled. The gardens include: a Rhododendron and Azalea dell, Hosta Garden, Nancy Olsen's Children's Garden, Fountain Garden, Demonstration Garden, Peony Garden, Grasses Garden,Woodland Wildflower Garden and Plant-a-Row garden. There are several signature events hosted each year also. Botanica luncheon,Garden Fair, Plant Sale, Woodsong Concert Series, Autumn in the Arboretum and Twilight in the Garden are all popular annual events.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not ok”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a nice little arboretum to visit, however I can not recommend renting Klehm for any event. The rental director was very discourteous (actually verbally insulting), dismissive and disinterested in providing accurate information, customer service or assistance. I have worked with several other venues and have never been as disappointed as I was at the Klehm Arboretum. An apathetic and lazy rental director sincerely soured the experience, we will neither return nor recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Chicago911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlehmArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We appreciate your comments, Chicago911. We strive for the best customer service and overall satisfaction with our venue. Had we known of your dissatisfaction, we surely would have worked to make your experience a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nature Lovers' Delight”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Finding this well-maintained, elegant attraction was a pleasant surprise--an uncrowded oasis where one would least expect it. We loved the peacefulness and serenity. Klehm is a lovely place to simply take a walk for an hour or two, study and appreciate many rare and unusual trees, or otherwise just admire the beauty of nature. The admission price is reasonable, benches are plentiful, restrooms are clean and modern. Bring your camera! One area features a large, vibrant, colorful selection of flowers--where butterflies and bumblebees are frequent visitors.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank A Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlehmArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment about Klehm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have not gone again this year, but it is constantly growing (no pun in pleasure). The water features are pure fun in the summer. The gardens themselves are unpretentious, straight-forward Midwestern beauty. We have gone many times with many different ages; never been disappointed. Garden shop is small, but quite nice, too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JSTVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlehmArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We are happy to hear you like our grounds. Come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Secret”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Everytime we go there is hardly anybody there unless it is a special event. It is a very peaceful walk around with wildlife, flowers, trees, looking stand, picnic benches, fountains, childrens area..
Bring a picnic and walk around

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank krn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlehmArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We think of Klehm as the gem of Rockford! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
698 reviews
508 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 841 helpful votes
“Serene and expansive garden and park.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

PROS: The majestic sentinel Oak tree that is one of the original trees in the garden; the arbovitae hedge maze near the children's section. The variety of Magnolia trees, clean and well maintained paths for families with small children. Free and abundant parking. Very photogenic setting for memorable familial celebrations.

CONS: May be bland for people who do not appreciate the diverse flora they have in the property.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_bro_1_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlehmArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We are a very tranquil garden, but our signature events bring in a lot of visitors. We hope you join us for one of those, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing