We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solidly tasty.”

Bamboo Asian noodles and tapas bar
Cuisines: Asian
Description: 815-316-2455
Restaurant details
Description: 815-316-2455
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Solidly tasty.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Crab rangoon were great. Drinks were great. Curry was tasty, though a bit greasy. Fried rice was very good. Pepper shrimp not very peppery, but tasty all the same.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My secret”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The food is excellent and the service was also top shelf. This tapas bar is 2 blocks from my apartment. I eat there frequently because they consistently produce a quality offering, and I love curry. Try the curry grouper, fabulous. For a traditional tapas dish, try the green mango salad, very authentic! I eat at this place 3 times per month.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank willie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You have to try this!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Let me start by saying that my husband and I used to go to Chicago whenever we wanted good Thai or Pho...untill we found Bamboo. Now we are regulars and love the authentic mixed with upscale service and drinks. Oh and by the way the prices are better than ANY other rest downtown which makes it even better. If you havent been...try it now

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank alexander g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fancy atmosphere with less than average food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently stopped in for dinner on a Friday night. To start with the atmosphere is very nice with a modern Asian theme and an extensive menu. The restaurant is very vegetarian friendly with a multitude of dishes that can be made with tofu instead of meat. There is also an extensive drink menu with a variety of international/domestic beers. The mixed drinks also looked very interesting.

For food we started with eggrolls that were vegetarian. We got three of them, of which one was still frozen, and one was still cold. We also ordered the Pad Thai with tofu and an eggplant curry. Taste was ok, at least they came out hot. The eggplant dish was bland, but they did offer a spice tray that helps add some flavor. Surprisingly for a Thai place, they do not have the standard curries, such as the red and green curries.

Overall, we were disappointed with the quality of the food, expected so much more from a downtown restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Desi_traveler_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Afternoon delight”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Parking might be hard, but once you are there all worries go away. Quite even on the main drag it has something for everyone. From the drinks to the food it up in the have to try sometime category. Enjoy at your leisure. You will like the prices

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyrockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Asian noodles and tapas bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing