We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where Neat, Clean, and Helpful Aren't Just Words” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpine Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Otwell, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Where Neat, Clean, and Helpful Aren't Just Words”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stopped at the Alpine Inn on one leg of an extended Harley ride throughout the Midwest. Our night at the motel was an important one, since we had ridden since early that morning. When you ride, you hope beyond hope that you'll have a great bed and a great shower waiting for you. And we did--along with a clean, neat room, everything working nicely, and when we were ready to leave the next morning and found our bike needed a wiping down from a sprinkle the night before, the housekeeping was quit to grab us some rags. To many that sounds frivolous; to bikers, those qualities are priceless! There was also ample parking on the blacktop that looked newly done on the lot. If you're in Rockford, head to Alpine. You'll enjoy the hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twhighbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    62
    20
    10
    13
See reviews for
60
39
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florence, AL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

Newly remodeled motel with new furniture, carpet, tile, paint, etc. Housekeeping is exceptional. Maintenance as well. We mentioned a squeaky door at check-out and the clerk immediately pulled the maintenance list and made an entry. Air conditioning/heat units are new, very efficient, and very quiet. East State Street is a very busy street but the road noise is virtually unnoticed since the rooms are well insulated. Parking is right outside the room, so no long walks back and forth to the vehicle. I noticed while in the lobby a number of returning business persons and retirees, most of whom were greeted by name. Great staff, great hotel, great rates. Highly recommended. We WILL return whenever in town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

Was in town for business and stayed at the Alpine Inn for 3 nights. What a surprise this was considering the price! We had beautiful, clean and obviously newly remodeled rooms and the staff and manager were more than friendly and helpful. I will continue to stay at this establishment for any future business I have in Rockford and would recommend this to my colleagues again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emilytravels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

This was a wonderful stay. I was traveling for business and this provided the clean, quiet and pleasant room I needed after a long day. The friendly staff was everything I needed and would expect at even the overpriced alternate hotel options.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Detroit_Chicago_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

The room was recently renovated and very clean. The front desk staff was very friendly and the breakfast was good. I wasn't sure about staying because of the exterior doors and the price was so reasonable. I liked being able to pull right up to my room and you dont have doors slamming in the halls all night (like last week at the Peabody). The stay far exceeded my expectations. It is a great value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tombaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

I was bit up by Bed Bugs at this hotel. The Hotel Staff was rude and blew me off. All they cared about was getting my credit card number. I am concerned that this problem has not been corrected. They certainly did not make this right with me. This was one of the most uncomfortable and horrible experiences in my life. I will definitely NOT reccommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank July2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieLarson, General Manager at Alpine Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2010
I am the General Manager here at the Alpine Inn. The owners took this establishment over 2 years ago. Since then, they have undergone major renovations to elevate this place to a modern, clean, and comfortable place to stay. When this guest made these accusations, we brought in a national pest control company who verified that these were false claims. Even so, we reimbursed the guests stay. Then, the guest wanted reimbursed for a previous stay which had nothing to do with this incident. When we declined this request, the guest began an aggressive campaign with these accusations. We take cleanliness very seriously, and while we are more than willing to admit our mistakes, this claim is just simply and entirely untrue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 25 in Rockford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 25 in Rockford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn

Property: Alpine Inn
Address: 4404 E State St, Rockford, IL 61108-2115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockford
#7 Business Hotel in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and affordable, recently remodeled motel close to both downtown Rockford and the Swedish American Hospital. All rooms offer microwaves, refrigerators, satellite TV w/ 2 Encore channels, and newly refinished baths with granite counter tops. We are centrally located on Rockford's "Miracle Mile" and offer both nightly and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Alpine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Rockford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing