We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a short budget stay”
Review of Alpine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Inn
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stopped over for the night so we weren't looking for anything fancy, but I really expected more based on others' reviews. Alpine Inn came through where it counts, especially at a budget rate: the room and bathroom were clean and the bed was comfortable.

CONS
-- Continental breakfast was subpar. Defrosted bagels, donuts, muffins, and cereal. Not bad enough that we skipped it, but not great.

-- Shower was extremely narrow and the spigot was mounted too close to the wall, so it really felt like you were showering in a tight spot.

-- Room was strangely arranged, king bed with a TV over in the corner that really couldn't be easily viewed from the bed.

-- Location is a tad inconvenient for an overnight stop. It's about 4 miles off the interstate. Not a huge deal for us, and worth saving some money.

-- We had a hard time getting service at the front desk when we arrived just before 11 pm. Front door was locked. Tried the doorbell to no avail. Finally called and let the phone ring for a few mins and finally she appeared to buzz open the door. No apology, just an explanation of "laundry duty." But it was a long enough ordeal that if we didn't have a reservation, we would have moved on.

-- Doors open right on to parking lot.

-- Dated, sparse decor and furnishings.

But for one night's sleep, it was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaChatNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieHaun, General Manager at Alpine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

We really appreciate this review as it has pointed out areas in which we have had the opportunity to improve, and it highlights what we at Alpine Inn as a value hotel pride ourselves in: clean, comfortable, and affordable. We try our best not to raise rates for our guests and with ever-increasing food costs we do keep a simple breakfast (donuts, cereal, english muffins, muffins, bagels) as those costs are not included in the room rates though if a guest contacts me ahead of time with a food request that is within our limits required by the health department (no hot food/fruit) I am always glad to pick it up! And we are extremely remorseful that this guest had to wait for service at check-in. While we do have our Front Desk clerks perform laundry duty in the back- we do have a monitor so that they can hear the phones or the doorbell if it is after hours when the door is locked. It may be possible that the monitor was off which is no excuse and I appreciate knowing this as I was able to meet with the Front Desk staff to remind them the importance of having that monitor on and always checking the front to be sure no guests are waiting. This feedback has been extremely valuable and much appreciated- thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 202 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is by far the best hotel in the area. The price is very reasonable. The rooms are cozy, very clean, and decorated well. A fridge and microwave in every room. The staff is great..Mary is usually who I deal with and she is wonderful. They go a step beyond what is expected. There is no other place that I have stayed that compares to Alpine Inn... Thanks for always making our stay great!!!! Once again the housekeeping staff does an outstanding job..the rooms are spotless!!!

Room Tip: The king suites are priced reasonable and you have a couch!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieHaun, General Manager at Alpine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you so much!!! Another of our favorite guests whom we consider family! We are very grateful for her and for Mary our Front Desk Representative mentioned in this review. We can't wait to you next time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Not being one who likes the door to open toward the street, I was a little worried, but I shouldn't have been. The doors are a ways from the street, you can still hear the traffic but not to bad.
I liked the way the room was set up. The beds were comfortable with the one in front of the TV being better. The rooms were smaller but just being my husband and I they were good. Price was good. About the only thing I didn't like about this room is the adjoining room door. We could see through a crack between the door and the door jam, it was locked at all times though. Made me nervous, would have asked for a different room but the neighbors were an older couple.
I have had better breakfast but it was nice, the doughnuts were a change.
The front desk ladies were nice and friendly. If you need hair dryer, clock or shampoo ask when you check in, these things are not in your room. If ever back in area we would probably stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room or the last room of the building quieter there and your under a roof more. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband has been staying at this motel for years now and we are very happy with the service here. The flowers are beautiful out front, the workers are very friendly, and the rooms are spotless. We would definitely recommend this motel for anyone staying in the Rockford area. We will continue to stay here whenever we are in town. We would like to thank the three staff members in the front office for getting us fresh coffee whenever we have asked.Thank you for everything, Alpine Inn. we feel like famlly and that's what makes me love this place.

Room Tip: we just love all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quinnmotel-leilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieHaun, General Manager at Alpine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

You are by far more than a wonderful guest- you are family and we are so grateful for you and your family's loyalty and friendship- thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I went to visit family in Rockton, but stayed overnight in Rockford at the Alpine Inn. We stayed there five years ago for a wedding and it was in the middle of being renovated. Well, needless to say, they did a very good job. The front lobby is large and very nicely decorated. Large room for breakfast in the am. Our room was a king smoking, but there was no leftover smell of smoke. The room was very large with lots of walking around room. Small area between the bedroom and bathroom with a counter and a mirror, the small refrigerator and microwave. Very clean, very nice. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was the simple continental breakfast, nothing to brag about but we only paid $66 with taxes and you can hardly beat that. We would definitely stay at the Alpine again and I would recommend it to anyone who I know needed a room in Rockford area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our room was newly remodeled and very very clean. It was nice to have a room that well kept. Also very reasonably priced. The Alpine Inn staff was very professional and they were nice to deal with. We had a very pleasant stay at the Alpine Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktiell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here after a concert in Rockford. I believe it is the closest to the venue, and definitely worth the money. Continental breakfast in the lobby. Clean rooms, helpful staff, perfect fit for what we were looking for! Thanks!

Oh, we'd left our concert t-shirts in a bag on the luggage rack in the room. Didn't realize it for several hours after check-out, but when we called the maid had turned them in to the front desk. Thanks so much for that!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
342 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Rockford
Days Inn Rockford
#18 of 24 in Rockford
406 reviews
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 24 in Rockford
678 reviews
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rockford - I-90
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn

Address: 4404 E State St, Rockford, IL 61108-2115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Rockford
Price Range: $58 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and affordable, recently remodeled motel close to both downtown Rockford and the Swedish American Hospital. All rooms offer microwaves, refrigerators, satellite TV w/ 2 Encore channels, and newly refinished baths with granite counter tops. We are centrally located on Rockford's "Miracle Mile" and offer both nightly and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alpine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Rockford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing