We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vito's Ristorante - CLOSED

Vito's Ristorante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Rote Road and Guilford Road
Hartford
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I visited the restaurant while in the Rockford area for business purposes. The facility was clean, orderly and enjoyable. The food was excellent - French onion soup followed by meat lasagna. The waitress, Rachel, was extremely polite as well as professional. The head chef even took time to chat for about five minutes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bennetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    19
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“High Quality Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great spot with good food, and service. The owner (chef) will make things special if there is a dietary item needed, and is a hell of a nice guy. The entire family works there, and has a large local following.

Very fresh food, and some old italian recipes for sauce, and other items. My wife and I had a lighter dinner, and everything was very fresh, and home made.

We found the wine menu good, albeit the pours are not real big, nor is the price, so it's a balance. Eating at the bar found a VERY clean atmosphere which is nice to see. Along with that, the staff is dressed properly, chefs all in black "chef attire", with the bartender in a white shirt & tie, and the wait staff easily identifiable - we like classy that touch.

Pros:
- Clean, cozy, great food, great staff.

Cons:
- small, so seating can be an issue on a busy night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Valley, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must try.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Excellent. Atmosphere was great service was excellent. Had a great meal. :) :) Can't wait to take my family when they come to visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed in town 12 months, and ate at Vito's at least once a week. Excellent food, great atmosphere. Steak Dianne is an excellent meat, and ll the pasta's are great.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Beautiful decor and service was very well attended for take-out. The main dish was pasta shells with a very good cream sauce and enough spice to be nice but not naughty.
I was disappointed with the appitizer, calamari fritta. I am a fan of calamari and this was frozen rings that I can buy at any frozen food section in the supermarket. With the price at $11.95 I am expecting hand breaded fresh calamari. Vito please with all the detail you put in the decor,service and main dish, please do not, DO NOT insult the customer with an after thought of frozen calamari rings. It is better to just take it off the menu until you develop a recipe that is a compliment to your kitchen and to your paying customer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vito's Ristorante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing