We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Campground on your way to Oshkosh with the essentials.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackhawk Valley Campground
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent Campground on your way to Oshkosh with the essentials.”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We overnighted here enroute to Oshkosh. We called ahead and Sue had our paperwork taped to the door as we arrived slightly after they closed due to some nasty traffic. It had a shower and restroom and they were in decent condition for 2200 by the time we got settled in had a fire and a few drinks. Dump station was on the way out and not a problem. The only cons were no cell service, satilite reception, & poor wifi. But if you need a place to crash it will fit the bill. Happy travels.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RBnDasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Too far off path. Beautiful with space and trees. For overnighters too many rules, can't use our washer/dryer in RV, bad satalite reception, phone didn't work and if you have visitors you pay $2.00 per person per day. Expensive at $29.00 for water/electric only, sewer available but not on individual campground site Most of campground is used for year- around and weekend getaways with
trailers left on site. For this purpose it's great but wouldn't recommend for overnight stays.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank convaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We spent a night at this large campground which has many seasonal and monthly sites in addition to about 40 transient sites. WIFI is free but some of the sites are too far to get a useable signal. There are two very large open areas with pavilions, a tent area, playground, mini-golf, shuffleboard and other activities. The Kishwaukee River runs behind the grounds and some sites back up onto the river.

Showers were well located, clean and hot. The campground was clean and quiet.

Blackhawk Valley is a little off the beaten path but easily located with GPS. Nice place to stay!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelRs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

A very nice campground. It has wooded grounds with a lot of open space for recreation. Mini golf was $2 and a lot of fun. The office store was well stocked and has long hours. The campground is adjacent to the river so there can be a lingering oder. Most campers seem to be long term and are frendly. As with most campers some tend to be a little noisy at night. Overall a nice stay. Be sure to visit Anderson Gardens.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rstang50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 24 in Rockford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
7.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
7.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 24 in Rockford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackhawk Valley Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackhawk Valley Campground

Property: Blackhawk Valley Campground
Address: 6540 Valley Trail Rd, Rockford, IL 61109-4584
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Rockford
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing