We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving dinner to go”
Review of Hoffman House

Hoffman House
Ranked #14 of 358 Restaurants in Rockford
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving dinner to go”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Ordering the meal was easy, I ordered about a week ahead of Thanksgiving. Picked it up without a hitch. Everyone was super nice. We had a great Thanksgiving meal (Turkey, all the sides, and pie). Everything was packaged very nicely and the price was very reasonable. All I had to do was unpack it all - and we were good to go! I would do this again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MommySherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    54
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Valley, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great food every time”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a place you need to eat at when you are in rockford il. You can stay at the hotel attached to the restaurant while you are in town.Fine food always.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still good but.....”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This place used to be the primo place in town, especially for prime rib but it just isn't what it used to be. It's still good but not what it once was. The salad bar still has the top line stuff and the double baked potatoe is still there. Service is still superb but the furnishings need brightening and the prime rib isn't as "Prime" as it once was.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnlaw45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot for Retirees, Familiaes and Business”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Hoffman House is a Rockford tradition going back decades but now with new twists that would keep us coming back time and again if we still lives there. We were there in September for lunch. First, the bread is to die for, reminiscent of beignets at the Café Du Monde in New Orleans. Next, comes the huge salad bar with freshly made soups. Your choice of entrees follows and then dessert if you have room. In the evening, they have regular specials, featuring their signature prime rib. We are looking forward to a revisit on our next trip back. So convenient, too! Right off of the toll road.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dakrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, IL
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The Salad Bar Rocks! Everything else, MEH”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We love the salad bar here which comes included with the entrees. Bountiful selections of fresh veggies, house made concoctions, a wierd but yummy cheese spread, baskets and baskets of different crackers. Also included in the price is soup of the day which you may have as much as you want.

Your server will bring a warm basket of fried bread, somewhat like a beignet with a portion of honey butter on the side. While I like beignets, I really don't like them with my salad or soup course.

Our problem with this place is the entree consistently falls short, and we have tried many. This last visit I had the fried chicken which was ok. Hubby had the bad meal. It was a steak that, we kid you not, looked pre-chewed! Maybe they were checking for temperature or something but there were numerous slices across the top of the sirloin. He said that he enjoyed his $9.00 breakfast steak at Cracker Barrel way more then this $20 dinner offering.

Service is excellent here, dining room is very comfortable but we just can't find an entree that makes us happy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MommeontheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoffman House also viewed

 

Been to Hoffman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing