We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the Job” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn - Rock Falls

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Days Inn - Rock Falls
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rock Falls
Ames Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Did the Job”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Days Inn in Rock Falls is by no means a modern hotel, but the price was appropriate for the level of amenities of this hotel. The best surprise of the stay? The prepared to order breakfast from the adjacent restaurant...yummy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank HereNThereTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler6310, General Manager at Days Inn - Rock Falls, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our delicious complimentary cook to order breakfast. We are looking forward to serving you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    66
    76
    41
    36
See reviews for
115
24
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is a great value! Normally I stay at higher priced chains. In the Rock Falls area there are not a lot of options, I normally stay at Country Inn and Suites. We had a short notice visit to the area for a funeral. The Country Inn and Suites was $220/night. We decided to call the Days Inn. They offered a funeral rate that was $58/night. The room was clean. It had everything we needed ... Microwave, fridge, etc. My only complaint is that the wireless signal did not make it to our room. We were on the far side of the building. I was extremely surprised at how happy I was there.

Room Tip: If you need Internet in our room, ask for a room by the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gks08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler6310, General Manager at Days Inn - Rock Falls, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review about your most recent stay with us, although I was sorry to read the reason for the trip. We are getting a lot of people who are amazed by our value and quality versus our higher priced competitors. I was surprised to hear you had and issue with our internet. We have multiple access points in the building to give a solid connection regardless of room location. We have gone and reset these due to your comments and tested via a wireless device to ensure proper connection and speed, so thank you for letting us know. We hope you visit us on your next trip and on happier terms. We also have more updates and renovations still on the way, so as good as we are now we will be that much better soon.

Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Really, for the price, the room was ok. Once we killed the bugs on the floor.
In looking for a plug for our many devices, we followed the table lamp to a plug and found several years worth of dirt.
The bathroom was clean, with the added advantage that you didn’t have to wash your feet since the tub didn’t really drain well.
We couldn’t hook any of our six devices to the internet – the signal was too weak to reach the rooms. It was strong enough in the lobby.
Breakfast was fine as long as you liked bread, bread, bread, cereal (more bread, really) muffins, and red delicious apples- and did I mention bread? Would have been nice to have working toaster too. One good note: they had paper plates, although Styrofoam everywhere else- really folks, you can’t put a sign in the bathroom saying you want to save the environment by not washing a towel, and then use six different kinds of Styrofoam at breakfast.
Please add a desk clerk- of the 5 questions we asked at the desk, there was never a time when she was not on the phone booking a new client! If you are that busy, add an employee.
This hotel just recently changed to a Days Inn- their internet still said Holiday Inn and the hotel Stationery said Rock Falls Inn, both of which they had been in the past. Let’s hope they get their act together by next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler6310, General Manager at Days Inn - Rock Falls, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am very sorry you found any pests in your room. We have a monthly preventative pest control plan in place and you should never experience this issue. And if ever find anything not 100% in your room, let our courteous and prompt staff know right away and we we will get it fixed right away. I am sorry you felt the breakfast was bread heavy, we offer the required items by the Wyndham chain, but will share your comments with them as well. We are in process of updating our internet signals, and we have not seen any previous stationary in the rooms but rest assured if anywhere says Rock Falls Hotel it will be removed. Thank you again, we are excited about all our new changes and upgrades (new beds, new flat screen TV's, updated room linen package) With more to come, if you found it a great value now, just wait until we are 100% finished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

First, the positives about this hotel: pool was warm and decent size. Nice sun deck. Beds were comfortable. A/C worked well (although it was rather loud). Nice bar and grill with great food and generous portions. Liked the flat screen TV in the room. Rooms were spacious with microwave and refrigerator. I loved the location that is adjacent to the Hennepin Feeder Canal. Housekeeping was very accommodating; they cleaned my room once I took off for the day, and they didn't bother me when I was still there.

The negatives... the tub drained very, very slowly and had stains in the tub. The continental breakfast consisted of frozen bread and bagels to toast, one or two different cereals (depended if it was restocked), and pastries. There were stains on the carpeting in the room. There were no automatic doors, and the fitness room was dirty. When I inquired about the Wyndham Rewards at the front desk one evening, the associate on duty acted like I was bothering him and didn't really give a direct answer. I ended up telling him I would figure it out on-line. The internet at the business center was very, very slow.

Overall, this place served its purpose for me, and it was a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler6310, General Manager at Days Inn - Rock Falls, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad you felt we offered a good value and hope to see you again. We will look into the slow drain issue you mentioned, as well as retrain our staff on the Wyndham Rewards, and make certain you never feel like you have bothered any of our staff, you are what we are here for. The breakfast does include the items you mentioned (however not frozen, we offer fresh breads, bagels, cereal, danishes and muffins along with various spreads and of course juice and coffee. If anything was put out frozen we will get this addressed so does not happen again). The rooms are still getting additional updates in the coming months since our change to Days Inn, and hope next time to achieve a 5 star rating. It is thanks to guests like you who let us know not just what was good but what needs work that we can get things corrected and improving our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

first of all this is not a newer hotel. however, with our experience the place was clean and well kept. my family checked with the Super 8, and the Country Inn which are all adjacent and we picked rock falls inn. the kids love the pool and the water was wonderfully warm. Be sure to ask about discounts because they make a difference.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dadarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler6310, General Manager at Days Inn - Rock Falls, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to report since your last stay we have changed to a Days Inn, providing brand standards across the board and are now also 100% non smoking. We are updating much of the property with new beds, TV's and even increasing the internet speeds for our guests. While the prior management here was not very well qualified to run the property we have a very experienced manager now in place and it shows. Then to top it all off the prices have been lowered to better suit more guests as we know times are tough and we want to be your only choice when in the area. I also know many of the hotels reviews are rather old and not remotely accurate to what we are now, we wanted to take the time to address them, as we want more reviews to better help us improve everyday, and if you look at our competitors, none take this extra time that we always will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had to stay here on business. Never again. Mattress horrible. Creepy guests standing in doorways. Halls smell like smoke. When I awoke to a mouse chewing on styrofoam in trash can I called front desk and they'll told me I had to wait until. 7 am when maintenance arrived!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maliz7417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler6310, General Manager at Days Inn - Rock Falls, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to report since your last stay we have changed to a Days Inn, providing brand standards across the board and are now also 100% non smoking. We are updating much of the property with new beds, TV's and even increasing the internet speeds for our guests. While the prior management here was not very well qualified to run the property we have a very experienced manager now in place and it shows. Then to top it all off the prices have been lowered to better suit more guests as we know times are tough and we want to be your only choice when in the area. I also know many of the hotels reviews are rather old and not remotely accurate to what we are now, we wanted to take the time to address them, as we want more reviews to better help us improve everyday, and if you look at our competitors, none take this extra time that we always will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rock Falls hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock Falls
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rock Falls
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Rock Falls Sterling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Dixon
Comfort Inn Dixon
#1 of 3 in Dixon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
24.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fulton
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Motel
All Seasons Motel
#5 of 6 in Rock Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Rock Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Rock Falls

Property: Days Inn - Rock Falls
Address: 2105 1st Ave., Rock Falls, IL 61071 (Formerly Rock Falls Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rock Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rock Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn - Rock Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Days Inn - Rock Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rock Falls
Rock Falls Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing