We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Double Booked” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rock Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Double Booked”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I chose to reserve a room here at Country Inn and Suites for our honeymoon. When we first got there at 1pm (cause the website said check in at 1) we found out they changed it to 3pm. Then when we finally were able to check in they told us they double booked our room and had to give us another one. Then they preceded to tell me AFTER they ran my debit card for the room that I could not pay cash for the incidentals. When I reserved the room over the phone, they said nothing about not being able to pay cash for either room or incidentals. They said they would put a hold on my account leading me to believe that they had done so right then and there over the phone. They didn't ask how i wanted to pay for it just automatically ran my debit for the room (which I was planning on paying cash for) and made a quick 5 min check in about 15mins. Finally my husband was able to make the manager understand how we can pay part cash for the room and have all my debit be for incidentals. The manager either doesn't know how to do part tenders or thought we were trying to scam them.....how can you scam with paying cash.....it's IN YOUR HANDS right then and there. The Room was pretty nice....little dirty here and there....whirlpool looked like hadn't been used in a while with dust and what not in it but I've seen worse. We made the best out of it.....but just one disaster after another....was hoping that the hotel would put a lift on things, but only made things worse. When we checked out they acted like they didn't even want to give us a receipt.....I need some proof that i'm getting money refunded back to me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISRKFL, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Heather,
I'm sorry there was some confusion on your reservation! Our check in time is officially 3pm, but
we can check guests in as early as 1pm if the room is ready.
For payment our hotel accepts debit cards, which we charge room and tax at check in. We also
authorize the additional $100 for incidentals. We do this at the time of check in and not before.
I will be glad to email a copy of your receipt if you still need one.
I have counseled the front desk staff regarding this so that we can improve for the future.
You can call or email me if you would like to discuss further. I thank you for your business!
Dawn Duncan-GM
815.625.3200
cx_rkfl@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    52
    15
    4
    8
See reviews for
73
26
4
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Normal, IL
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I recently stayed here on a quick business trip to Sterling. The property is very well maintained and the front desk staff is helpful, friendly and competent. I was impressed by the appearance of the pool and fitness center, and there is plenty of free parking. The room was large and clean, and had free internet access.

Where the hotel fell short was in the details. 1) Every time I left the hotel and returned to my room the key did not work. I carry an ACM metal wallet that keeps key cards from de-magnetizing, so the problem was not that. So it was a bit annoying. 2) The fitness room equipment was not very good quality, so it was not very satisfying to use. 3) The breakfast offerings were not very diet-friendly. No fresh fruit or yogurt, but lots of waffles, potatoes, sweet dry cereals and sweet pastries. 4) The bed and pillows did not provide a very comfortable night's sleep. Along with the noisy air-conditioning unit, I did not sleep well at all.

But the hotel was quiet and well-maintained, and employees were professional and accommodating. A restaurant was located across the parking lot and I88 was a half mile away. Very convenient to Rock Falls and Sterling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed here for one night and it met all my expectations. The check in was easy. The person working the desk ensured they had my frequent guest program #. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The A/C unit was not too loud and kept a good temperature. The comp breakfast in the morning had more than enough choices and was well stocked.
If forced to note an area to improve, I would say that I paid a few dollars more than the average Country Inn & Suites. However, I would gladly pay that rate again to ensure I have the quality stay I had here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stlscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here for a week for work. My room was very nice with a very comfortable bed with super comfy and clean sheets. My room (131) even had a sink area with a small frig, microwave and even a dining area...nice! The hotel provided a very nice breakfast...no paper plates here. China dishes and actual silverware and glasses...all sparkling clean. The pool and fitness center were kept immaculent by the awesome maintenance staff. Right next door is the Candlelight Restaurant that serves a delicious lunch and supper. I would definately come back to Rock Falls for this one!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKCIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel is very clean, the rooms are very spacious. I stayed here for business, and booked a block of rooms. I was very impressed with this hotel, as well as the staff. The breakfast was very good. They have food that you normally don't see at other hotels that offer a free breakfast. I will be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EEnglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Nebraska
Level Contributor
141 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Wonderful check-in experience with Segue, the night clerk. Professional, friendly and efficient!

Was assigned a room near the elevator and ice machine; maybe because I used my Club Carlson points to book the room? Segue offered to move us but warned that options were limited. the room heating/cooling unit allowed the fan to run nonstop, generating white noise, so we didn't move.

Room and bathroom very clean. However, the bathtub did not drain after a shower. This may also explain the spongy, water-damaged feel to the bathroom floor and interior hallway of the room. It creaked loudly whenever we entered/exited either the room or the bathroom.

Bed and pillows very comfortable. Large tv on the desk at the foot of the bed had distorted picture, but we only wanted to see the one tv show, so tolerable. Work space excellent - lots of plugs. High speed Internet free, but very slow for general use. Room needs more lighting. Room also had a mini-fridge with a small freezer compartment.

Breakfast was carb-heavy, but well laid out and presented. Hot oatmeal, bacon, eggs, a large container of plain yogurt, cut fruit. Breakfast room staff had tv set to and were watching some program that was absolutely inappropriate for a general audience. Only bad experience that we had with the staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlainsWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Nice friendly staff and plenty of places to eat and close to hwy 80

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTravelpro007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock Falls
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rock Falls
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Rock Falls
Days Inn - Rock Falls
#4 of 6 in Rock Falls
3.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
12.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Dixon
Comfort Inn Dixon
#1 of 3 in Dixon
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Rock Falls Sterling Area
24.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fulton
22.1 mi away
O'Connell's Yogi Bear Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls
Address: 2106 1st Ave, Rock Falls, IL 61071-3558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rock Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rock Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls Hotel Rock Falls
Country Inn Rock Falls
Rock Falls Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing