We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to do but watch trains - but there's plenty of 'em!”

Rochelle Railroad Park
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open all day and night, this park has a raised platform so train-devotees can really see and feel the locomotion.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nothing to do but watch trains - but there's plenty of 'em!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you're a train nut, this is the place for you. A Double set of UP tracks crossing another double set of BNSF tracks and plenty of traffic by both roads. There's an elevated shelter on what appears to be a left over foundation from a long gone switch tower with plenty of picnic tables and speakers broadcasting radio traffic from the railroads. A great view of around 5 trains an hour on an average day.
There's a small gift shop and rest rooms for the visitors.
As I said,,, If you're a train nut, bring your camera for a great afternoon. If you're a train nut's spouse, bring a book for a nice afternoon's read in the park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oldfolkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    19
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful for train lovers”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Took our 4 year old grandson and he loved it. Intersecting tracks so plenty of activity. Surprised to see people here from other states. Good for a couple hour visit

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Clareinsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“UP and BNSF at Rochelle equal a busy railroad diamond.”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have been here many times in the past and will continue go there in the future. from the covered viewing area to the railroad action which at times can be continuous. you can barbeque there in warmer weather. there is a scanner which covers both railroads. You can also sit by your vehicle and watch the action. there is also an area where kids can play. and a little store is located on the premises. local pizza joints will deliver to the park also. you cannot miss an approaching train as they use there horns when approaching. you can see power from many railroads and the occasional special run passenger trains on either track. there is no scheduled passenger service. my latest visit netted me about 30 trains in about 10 hours.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank okfine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No-Brainer!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you love trains, stopping here is a no-brainer! Rochelle is two hours away from me, yet it is always worth the drive (heck, I'm thinking of going right now ... and its 10:20pm lol)! I love how this park is open 24 hours a day! I've never heard of a park that doesn't close at a certain time during the day. And, you are free to take photos from anywhere near the rails (at your own risk of course).

I've only been here two times (I only just found out about it a year ago). From the little experience I have visiting the park, the busiest times on the weekends seem to be in the wee morning hours, before 9am. Thats when they seem to come about ever 5 minutes. After 9am, they seem to come every 10 minutes. I get the feeling that it slows down even more during the afternoon, but don't quote me on that.

I've heard that Saturdays are busier than Sundays. I've also heard that the rails are busiest in the mornings (between 6am and 9am) and later in the day (between 3pm and 6pm).

FYI, my attached photo won Photo of the Month in November, 2011 (my first-time visiting the park)!

Have fun and be safe!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Trains, trains and more trains”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lots of train activity. Great for train buffs and kids. Just seeing 4 sets of tracks crossing each other and then seeing how many trains pass by is amazing. Free and worth a stop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rabbott5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rochelle Railroad Park also viewed

 

Been to Rochelle Railroad Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing