We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chicago Dogs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gene & Jude's

Gene & Jude's
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in River Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Elmwood Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chicago Dogs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Old establishment with the taste of Chicago style Hot Dogs. Nothing but hot dogs and no, KETCHUP! You have to eat in your car, that's the only draw back to this review.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank erphleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    45
    27
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“How Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

You'll never experience any other place like this. Lines are long but move exceptionally fast. The hot dogs are the Best, bar none, you've ever had. Always fresh and the home-cut fries in and around the hot dog are great. Don't ask for Ketchup because there is none on the premises, who puts Ketchup on a hot dog? Un-American. Don't pass this place up. ( I swear they put something in the mustard that makes you come back for more)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kschlenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best of the Best! #1 Hotdog in America!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Vienna beef, fresh cut fries on the dog. There is no comparison. We even had them catered as a late night snack at our wedding 5 years ago. Close to Ohare and always worth the drive. Great low prices for a quality dog and fries. A must see..and eat if com

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blackhawks2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Genes and Judes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great hot dogs but make sure that you take some tums with you for the french fries. Good Prices!
Not the biggest menu around, but if you have a taste for some good fast food then this is the place Especially for late night munchies.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just the greatest hot dogs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been going here since we were kids and now our kids go here. We drive an hour from our house just to grab hot dogs and bring them back home. You can stand and eat inside or eat the car but we take them home and have a feast while watching the BEARS. We love the homemade fries in the bun with the hot dog.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lslyChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gene & Jude's also viewed

 
Schiller Park, IL
 

Been to Gene & Jude's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing