We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Gluten Free Meal You Will Ever Have!”
Review of Da Luciano

Da Luciano
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in River Grove
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Gluten Free Meal You Will Ever Have!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I were at O'Hare Airport and it is difficult to find any gluten free meals there. I looked on my gluten free app and found this restaurant. It was about 15 minutes away from the airport but believe you me it is well worth it. My husband had regular pasta and I was given the option of a whole menu (unheard of) and I couldn't believe my eyes. I had garlic bread, fried calamari, raviolis (yes I said raviolis) and lastly a delicious cannoli! The owner came out and spoke to us and told us that he has 3 children that have celiac and that he has a special kitchen just for gluten free. Both meals were amazing and we were stuffed. The meal only came to $60 (no drinks) with the tip. I will be sure to go back here if we are in the neighborhood again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    0
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
River Grove, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Awesome food and awesome service! Beautiful patio out back. Gets really busy on weekends so be prepared. Good food draws a crowd! Love the deep dish pizza. Amazing fish as well!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katray72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delightfully gluten-free Italian”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

When you have one who suffers from Celiacs, they always feel like they miss out when dining.....not at Da Luciano's. Their 2-page GF menu of appetizers, bread, pasta, pizza and dessert was hard to choose from. We had fried calamari, Pasta Boscaiola with sausage in a delicious creamy light red sauce, and pizza ...all gluten-free and the non-celiac diner loved it too. Too full for dessert but took some home. No one missed out.

Call ahead to get a table in this family/neighborhood restaurant and be patient...service takes time. Would suggest all servers, even if they don't have Celiacs, should be able to heartily recommend from their GF menu. Thanks for the delightful dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We always come back...”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We make the Pittsburgh to Chicago drive every couple months and always make sure to enjoy a dinner here. They never disappoint. The gluten free menu is so extensive you double and triple check to make sure it is, in fact, the gluten free menu.

Save room for the gluten free cannoli, and get a second one to go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beannburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“awesome family run Italian place”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Truly delicious Italian food!! It's so good that there is frequently a line of people waiting for a table even after they've expanded the place. Friendly owners always greet you and make you feel comfortable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Luciano also viewed

 

Been to Da Luciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing