We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food, service stinks!!”
Review of Da Luciano

Da Luciano
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in River Grove
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, service stinks!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have been here many times due to the large gluten free menu and delicious food but the service is terrible. You literally are forgotten about. It takes forever just to put in a drink order, then you order food and you wait and wait. The food comes and they never come back to check on you, we went the whole meal with empty drinks. They finally come back and now you have to wait for the check...omg!! This happens to us everytime we go. It's a great place to eat but be prepared to sit a long time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank glutengirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    0
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
376 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Confident Enough to Take Out-of-Towners”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We dined here on Tuesday night at 7:30, having picked up business colleagues visiting from the East Coast who were at the Hilton at O'Hare. We wanted to go to a local, good place rather than the chain restaurants near the airport.

We hadn't been here in a year or two, but we remembered the outstanding food--and we weren't disappointed. Our friends raved as well, and they are taking their praise back to Connecticut!

I had the chicken balsamico (preceded by a stuffed artichoke!) as did one of our companions; my husband had pizza and salad; another guest had linguine with seafood. Way too full for any dessert, we nonetheless shared a delicious, crisp, fresh cannoli, along with cups of espresso and cappucino. The staff members were friendly and welcoming, the service attentive. I actually thought about not writing this review, as the place is usually crowded enough! We have every intention of going back as soon as possible.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grmpmbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wonderful Italian food which lso includes a large Gluten free menu. Authentic Italian in an Italian neighborhood. Pizza and pasta are both delicious to dine-in or to carry out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italian Food in Chicago Suburbs”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I recently had the opportunity to eat once again at Da Luciano in River Grove, Illinois over our annual holiday trip to Chicago. As always, the food and service were outstanding. I enjoyed a delicious eggplant parmigiana, while others in our group tried some of the other top notch pasta dishes the restaurant is known for. The food is great, the servings are large and the price is very good. In addition, meals come with a choice of soup or salad and the bread basket caps a great dining experience. Too often, Italian places tend to be overpriced these days but Da Luciano does not fall into this trap...just a great neighborhood place with excellent food and wonderful service. They also offer a gluten free menu if that is something you are in need of.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toobs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good italian food and drink”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

You can ask for something not on the menu and they will make it up to your liking. warm atmosphere and good service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank erphleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Luciano also viewed

 
River Grove, IL
River Grove, IL
 

Been to Da Luciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing