We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold and filth”
Review of Super 8 Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Richmond
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is by far the worst place I have ever stayed.
I have never seen so much black mold - all around the tub - I ended up scrubbing the bathroom myself for an hour before I could shower. It looks like a new bath surround was installed - over molded tile. Believe this hotel is seriously violating health regulations.
The carpeting was disgusting and old.
Would strongly advise anyone who is looking for lodging in the Lake Geneva area to avoid this hotel.
They "proudly accept smokers" and smelled of tobacco every where.
Am planning to contact authorities for these health concerns.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you value your health and well-being.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWDMom44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 167 of 167 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Wife had medical emergency and I couldn't make trip. Although I called to cancel more that 24 hours in advance, they refused a refund. The booking agent tried to no avail to get them to refund the money. You will be wasting your money if something unexpected happens and you don't make your trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank donald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

If you are a pet owner this is not the place to stay. When I reserved online for this hotel I was happy to see that they accepted pets. When I got to the hotel I learned that we were not allowed to leave our pets in the room alone for a second because they will call Animal protection to take them. This was a total disappointment. I understand that pets can sometimes be loud but not even to get a bowl of ice could I walk out the room if my pets were in the room. They should have posted that the town would not allow you to leave your pets in the room. I have traveled all over the states and have stayed at La Quinta Inn Suites; they have always been able to accommodate my pet’s needs. This is the first time I stayed a Super 8 and it will be the last.
P.S. Bring your own iron, they don't have them in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rosalinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I flew into O'Hare airport got a rental car and got lost looking for a friend's home. It was late and I decided to stay here and get a fresh start in the morning. It was a very clean Super 8 and the customer service was excellent. The guy at the front desk went out of his way to make sure I had a good stay. I would suggest staying here instead of the super expensive hotels in the Lake Geneva area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

Weren't expecting much and weren't disappointed. It's fine for what it is, the one hotel in a small town. The room was OK, nothing wrong there, and it's pet friendly. But then took a shower and found (a) only one small soap and one small shampoo packet and worse (b) the 'bath' towels supplied were size 'tiny'. Not what you'd expect after paying close to $100. So 'some problems'.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RobertSmithies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank MarisMarquiafave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
8.5 mi away
WaterFront Hotel & Marina
WaterFront Hotel & Marina
#1 of 1 in Johnsburg
28 reviews
16.5 mi away
Americinn Lodge & Suites Elkhorn
10.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Antioch Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Richmond

Address: 11200 N. Route 12, Richmond, IL 60071 (Formerly Save Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $72 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 of Richmond, IL is a comfortable, economical hotel serving visitors to Lake Geneva, the Chain of Lakes and other destinations in McHenry County IL, Lake County IL, and Kenosha County, WI. Formerly the Geneva Lakes Area Save Inn Hotel continues to operate under the same management, its guests have enjoyed for over 9 years. Super 8 Richmond IL is located in the heart of the Lake Geneva /Chain of Lakes Region. We do have limited smoking rooms on second floor, no elevator. We only allow maximum two dogs per room only, in selected rooms with fee of $15.00 per dog, dog must on leash, not to be left unattended in the building, also if room is dirty then additional fee may occur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing