We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Heritage Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rantoul
Union, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is the best hotel in the area. I have stayed at other hotels in the area but none compare. the owner himself was working the front desk which shows me how much he cares about the place. I highly recommend anyone stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
17
8
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

As soon as we walked in, we were hit with the smell of smoke and mildew. There were stains on the bed skirt that I was afraid to identify. The mattress was very uncomfortable. The bathroom was absolutely disgusting. There was dirt all-over the floor (large clumps), dust all over the tile on the walls, wet caulk by the shower, the tub was dirty and full of mildewy caulk. My brother-in law had to fix the toilet because it wouldn't stop running. The internet didn't work. The pool was just plain scary and so dirty. The breakfast area was tiny.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meagan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rantoul hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The doors are filthy, bathroom smelled horrible and the smoke alarm was unattached from the ceiling and found in cabinet under the sink. The person at front desk acted like it was no big deal but did offer to move our room.
Room was noisy because it was a motel (doors to outside parking). The pool looked old and run down for just closing the week before and the water was green.
The mattresses were old and hard. The bathroom smelled so bad that we skipped our showers for the day. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodridge illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just stayed here over the weekend for Mother's Weekend 2013 @ U of I. We waited too long to book a reservation closer to campus and this Hotel had an opening, worth the price we paid, nothing fancy but not a dump like the Days Inn across the street appeared to be. The room was dated and the bathroom was so very small, but it was clean and close to everything we needed. Hot tub was closed, we were disappointed, didn't realize it's only open in the summer when the Pool is open. Continental breakfast was offered until 10am on Saturday and Sunday, we didn't partake in breakfast but it seemed to be a decent variety to get something in your stomach before you are off and running for the day. Overall it was a decent 2 nights stay in a clean room.

Room Tip: Only 2 floors, we stayed on the second floor and it was fine, first floor would of been ok with us t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyneddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The room was clean with nice comfortable queen beds. The hotel is a bit dated but well maintained. I did not stay around for breakfast but it is included with a nites stay. This hotel is an excellent alternative when hotels in Champaign/Urbana are filled. It is conveniently located next to I57 with a walmart a few hundred yards away. I will stay here again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel and were very pleased. It was quiet and friendly. We didn't want anything special. We wanted a comfy bed and something to eat before heading out in the morning. We got both and a complimentary newspaper to go with it. I would call the hotel directly to make my reservation (217) 892-9292
There was a little refrigerator in the room. I didn't check out the pool, so I can't comment on that.
There are lots of fast food restaurants nearby and a Walmart if you need something.
Easy off and on the expressway.
Yes, I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
429 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

When a guest arrives at Magnusons, they may have the thought of staying at a mansion. That's what the outside looks like. A spacious lobby. Check in was quick & smooth.

One look at the room, I knew this would be two days of enjoyment. King bed, very comfortable, four pillows.The room's finishings include: four drawer chest,, two bed end tables, comfortable small couch, mico/fridge, small bench table. Floor rack for luggaga. No closet, however a wall mounted rack, with eight wooden hangers. Iron/iron board.

The sink counter space is limited. Not much space to the sink's left. To the right, half the space is occupied with a coffee maker and tray with cups, small soap bars, & plastic container for ice. There are two drawers & cabinet space under the counter.

Bathroom is a bit small, not for a handicapped person. Shower/tub combo. Three strips of tape for a skid proof tub floor. A wall hand rail. Hot are for shower within 10-12 seconds. Bathroom very clean, saw no mold or milddew around tub. THe shower head is high up, a short person may have problem adjusting the head to their height.

A wide screen television, with 60 plus channels. Air condition unit works fine. Unit controls are easy to figure out.

Breakfast is 6:00 to 10:00. A choise of four dry cereals. Bagels with two different jellies, orange/apple juice, coffee. Pancakes to be warmed up in a toaster. Milk in a refrigerator below counter. Only three tables. A guest may want to arrive easrly. However, I was the only person at 6:30, a Wedensday morning.

This is a two story facility, no elevator. All rooms open to the parking lot. Plenty of partking. In back is a very large lot, which will accommodate any size vehicle.

In room 207, first floor, is the guest laundry. Also an ice and vending machine. An enclosed pool with changing room is on the west side . The closest restaurant is the Big Wheel Restaurant across the street. Ate here twice. Nearby fast food eateries are Arbys, Burger King & McDonald's. A Long John Silver is about a 6-7 minute walk. A Wal-Mart Super Store can be walked to in 4-5 minutes. A Subway is located within.

Of five motels on a 15 day trip,, I rate Magnuson # 2. In a motel I look for a comfortable bed, clean room & quiet neighborhood. Magnuson supplied all three at a reasonable price. Magnuson is less than five minutes east of I-57.

This is a smoke free facility. If smoking occurs within their room, a $200.00 charge will be put on the guest's credit card. In the lobby is a guest computer.

The bathroom is the only drawback. However I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Jack L., Syracuse, New York.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rantoul
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rantoul
12.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
12.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Red Roof Inn Champaign
#15 of 25 in Champaign
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Champaign Urbana – University Area
12.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
12.7 mi away
Days Inn Champaign/Urbana
Days Inn Champaign/Urbana
#23 of 25 in Champaign
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Heritage Inn

Property: Magnuson Hotel Heritage Inn
Address: 420 S Murray Rd, Rantoul, IL 61866-2124
Location: United States > Illinois > Rantoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rantoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Heritage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is just minutes from the Gordyville Horseshow and Chanute Air force Base Museum and is just a short drive to the city Champaign and the University of Illinois. Corporate travelers will enjoy being near Rantoul Industrial Park, Ameritech and Adecco. Whether traveling on business or pleasure, guests can begin their day with a complimentary continental breakfast. After breakfast, guests can enjoy the free wireless internet, seasonal pool and sauna, or head out to enjoy the sites. Corporate travelers can take advantage of the business services at the hotel including a computer in the lobby. Newly remodeled rooms await all guests. All rooms feature cable TV, free local and long distance calls, wake up service, coffeemaker, mini-fridge, microwave, hairdryer, and iron with board. Suites are also available for upgrading your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Hotel Heritage Rantoul
Best Western Rantoul
Rantoul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing