We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well run, clean, friendly staff, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeler Ridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wheeler Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“well run, clean, friendly staff, convenient location”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

for the price, this hotel was an ideal place to stay on the trip up and down california. It is well run, super clear, comfortable bed, very convenient. Nice lounge, free internet. We called ahead and they gave us excellent directions, noting the gps had trouble finding it because it is still so new. downside--no workout room, no pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elixabethv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    167
    66
    31
    11
See reviews for
302
150
61
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have never stayed at a Microtel Inn, but we would definitely consider staying again after our experience in Wheeler Ridge! We were making our way up North and stopped over for a single night. We were quickly greeted by Sam, the manager, who was accommodating and helpful. This hotel is very clean, new, and modern. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but I adored the window seat, flat screen TV, and the refrigerator in the room is a plus. In addition, new bathrooms with modern fixtures and zero grime or mold are always pleasing! The bed was cozy,and breakfast was included! An awesome stay, and we would most definitely stay again in the future!
PS> Above and beyond customer service when Sam called to let me know that I had left a few items in my room. Thanks so much, Sam!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missamiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was our first stay at a Microtel Inn. The manager was very accommodating and we used an AARP discount to get a reasonable rate.
This appears to be a very new facility.
Our room was well maintained though a little small. My wife was thrilled with the TV channels offered with the largest selection we'd ever seen in any price range.
Free long-distance phone calls was another amenity we'd never seen before.
Bathroom was clean with a full complement of toiletries.
The breakfast had a couple of items not always provided in a continental breakfast.
The free Wi-fi connection was one of the best I've ever experienced.
We were provided with a mini-fridge but I understand that it's not standard in all rooms.
Standard rooms with a micro/fridge and in- room safe would make this property second to none.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimAnderson7623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This review is a bit late. I stayed here about 4 weeks ago and was asked by the Operations Manager, Sam Durrani, to leave a review of my experience. This was my first experience at this chain of hotels. I normally stay at Holiday Inn's or Hilton's but on this trip they were all booked. I drove around the Bakersfield area and ended up at Microtel. I was very surprised and worried by the sub $100 room rate, and expected to be greeted by a dirty, nasty room. I was happily surprised. The room was nice, modern, and clean. My initial thought was "IKEA".. Meaning, it was very modern and euro styled. That said, it was also very thin-walled, small, and gave off a feeling of cheap. It's hard to explain... Everything "looked" really modern, clean, and smartly laid out, but left a sugarless aftertaste. The rooms are very SMALL (Microtel)... Truth in advertising. If you're traveling with someone, look elsewhere. If you're alone and just looking for a room under $100- it's a great deal.

My one real complaint, which Sam quickly fixed.... I got to my room and unpacked. Laid down on the bed.. Then it happened... The hotel parking lot was empty yet they put a couple of people in the room next to me. I laid in bed and tried to relax but I could easily hear the cell phone in the next room, the TV, conversations, everything... The walls are very very thin. I called Sam and he put me in another room without a problem. My room also came with a free breakfast that was pretty typical for these hotels.

In all.. I'd say the place is a 10 out of 10 for cleanliness, style, and price.. It was a 7 out of 10 for comfort.. Think of going to IKEA and looking at the wonderful bedroom setup on the showroom floor. Then think of the feeling you get when you lay on the mattress. It looks great, it's new, but it's not really solid.. That's the best was I can describe my stay. Like IKEA, the price it right and most items will meet your needs (at least for the moment), but it's not really designed or priced to be a long term purchase.

I'm not slamming the hotel. It's very new and a very good value for what you get. The service is great and friendly! If you're looking for a normal sized room, thicker walls, sturdier furniture, truckers not sleeping in the parking lot, and simple stuff like ironing boards in the room, you're better off paying $20 more for another chain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Online showed the hotel was booked solid. Took chance and stopped in anyway. The receptionist was pleasant and we were able to get a room on the 4th floor. Upon entering the room found it to be clean and orderly. Was late and tired so just went to sleep. Besides the pillows being hard and to large to use slept ok. Went to take a shower first thing the morning and found there was no shower curtain. The bathside towel was wet and put that way because the soaps were placed on top of it to show it was ready . When we addressed the issues with the receptionist in the morning she showed no concern. When I told house keeping, she to didn't seem to care. Just said "oh". So next time we will make sure to check out everything before going to sleep.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank raspbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeler Ridge
3.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Lebec
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frazier Park
0.4 mi away
Best Western Liberty Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Motel 6 Lebec
Motel 6 Lebec
#4 of 4 in Lebec
79 reviews
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
#13 of 63 in Bakersfield
207 reviews
21.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#34 of 63 in Bakersfield
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeler Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeler Ridge

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeler Ridge
Address: 5620 Del Sol Dr, I-5 at Exit 219A, Wheeler Ridge, CA 93203-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Wheeler Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wheeler Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeler Ridge 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeler Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing