We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hoped the food was as good as the view and weren't disappointed”

The Pier Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 132 Restaurants in Quincy
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Holton, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We hoped the food was as good as the view and weren't disappointed”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We took an unplanned stop in Qunicy, drove by this place and stopped in to make reservations. Our waiter, Gillis, had all the answers and we took his reccomendations and were pleased. His attention to us was perfect, not intrusive. We expected to pay twice as much for the experience. We are going to plan another trip to Qunicy and this place will be in those plans.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    50
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Probably the restaurant with the best view in town. Food is very good with good value. Menu is great with nightly specials.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray2039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Great Food and Value!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our son is a student at QU and was looking for a place to take a friend for Valentine's Day. Other than the inflammatory review that heads up this string that is years old, the reviews were good and I suggested this to them. The enjoyed the food and the service. When we went to visit several days ago from LA, we went to dinner here as well. The food was delicious, the menu very reasonably priced, the wine list good, the location on the river is awesome and the service great. Having eaten at several restaurants in Quincy, I would say this is the best. We'll be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasureable dinning”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have been going to the Pier for twenty years and I have always found it to be good with friendly servers, a reasonable wine list and fair prices. The view could not be better in that the restaurant is actually build on old railroad piers out into the Mississippi. I'm puzzled by the extreme nature of the negative reviews and it makes me doubt their validity. I would recommend the Pier to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abencerrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, IL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New Years eve”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The food was presented well and would have been even better had it been hot when we got it. The vegetables were cold and the rest was barely warm. They had a good selection of wine. They were short a wait staff so maybe that was part of the problem. Our waitress was great but she did look harried.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GramyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing