We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Quincy
Certificate of Excellence
Ocala, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spend time in Quincy at least twice a year. We decided to try the Stoney Creek Inn and reserved well in advance. Upon check-in we were very surprised to find that we were in a handicapped room. As we did not request this I went to the front desk to ask to be moved. She said they were full and nothing else was available. We spent four nights there and regret that we did not seek out another option. The room was very dark. The bathroom had no counter, only a small shelf for toiletries. The breakfast room was nice and had a good assortment of food. As they were full a couple of the nights; it was very crowded. Probably will not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Connie,
My sincere apologies for not having another room available for you and your family to upgrade you into - our guest’s happiness is a top priority. Because of the events going on that weekend we were completely booked. Our handicapped rooms are designed to regulatory standards and the counter top space reduced for handicapped accessibility. We hope that you reconsdier and come and stay with us again because we would love to show you the true Stoney Creek Inn experience. Our General manager will be reaching out to you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    55
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
103
50
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A weekend in Quincy and stayed at Stoney Creek with the primary reason of the décor and atmosphere. The price was reasonable, location was ideal, the standard double bed was too small. Would have rather had queen size beds or larger. It would have been nice to have a sitting area in the common public areas that did not feel so out in the open. Was visiting with several friends and the rooms were too small to really enjoy each others company. would like to go back again as they are remodeling.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank review585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Alabama, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Thanks to Kathy we had a great hotel stay while in town.....There was a slight issue with our reservation when we checked in but I was very pleased at how Kathy handled it and kept her calm even though we started to stress....She made the kids time there awesome by saying hi to us each night and asking about their Uncle......The room was great and clean and the breakfast staff was very polite and helpful..We loved that breakfast went form 6 30 am to 9 30....There was a hot breakfast every AM and entire staff was great......We would love to stay there next time we have to visit........I should add that we are a large family and they had a room to fit all of us instead of having to get 2 rooms....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, clean and attracive, hotel and rooms were well decoratedand comfortable. Only negatives were low shower pressure and breakfast didn`t start until 6:30. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robnker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in the premiere suite. It was very nice but there were a few things we encountered. Suites that are not used for awhile tend to have problems. First, when I opened the bathroom door, flies and gnats flew out. The fireplace didn't work. We were in our pjs so waited til morning to have them fix it. Then it wouldn't shut off! The whirlpool tub was very nice. We didn't care for the large beetle that crawled out of the blanket. I stabbed it with my key card. When we decided to make coffee we discovered coffe in the pot and grind packet still in top. It must have been there awhile because chunks fell off the lid. One last thing, the blinds were covered in dust as was parts of the furniture. This rooms goes for $160 and granted we had a gift certificate and only had to pay part of it but felt bad for the waste of money. Breakfast was totally dissappointing. Went away hungry.

Room Tip: Stick with a regularly used king room. Better yet Fairfield is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The employees were very friendly and helpful. The room clean (thank you, Sally) as well as the rest of the hotel, the bed was comfortable. I hope our travels will take us to Quincy again so we may have the opportunity of staying at this Inn again.

Room Tip: We requested a ground floor room. It was located at the back of the Inn and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is great for those who like Fox News. It is a constant presence in the lobby and breakfast room. It wasn’t enjoyable for me to have it forced upon me while eating breakfast each morning. The breakfast attendant wasn’t in the breakfast area much (I understand she was performing another job at the hotel as well, which kept her away from the breakfast room for the most part). Since my family was the only one in the breakfast room at the time, I went to the front desk to request that the TV channel be changed. I was informed by the front-desk clerk that the owner only allows the TV to be tuned to Fox News or the Weather Channel. A gentleman who happened to be checking out at the time also expressed his displeasure. I hope that the owner will reconsider his TV viewing rules and not insist upon thrusting his political views on hotel guests.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank visitor006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Visitor006, My sincere apologies for your disappointing experience and I thank you for taking the time to send in a review. Unfortunately, the front desk person you encountered has been misinformed or has misunderstood our leadership’s intentions and we will immediately see that our entire staff fully understands our expectations. All channels are expected to be either on any news channel, not specifically Fox, or any weather channel as a general rule. Furthermore, any of our guests can request a change in channels in any public television areas including any and all channels available and we will happily oblige. We are very sorry that this happened to you and any others whom may have had a similar experience. We hope this single incident does not keep you from visiting us again so we can provide the relaxed and comfortable, non political atmosphere you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
1.4 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites Quincy
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Quincy
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Quincy
Hampton Inn Quincy
#2 of 11 in Quincy
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Quincy
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Quincy East
15.5 mi away
Best Western On The River
Best Western On The River
#1 of 10 in Hannibal
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy

Property: Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy
Address: 3809 Broadway St, Quincy, IL 62305-2801
Location: United States > Illinois > Quincy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quincy
#2 Business Hotel in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic town of Quincy, Illinois, offers visitors a chance to look back through time - and our Stoney Creek Hotel provides the perfect accommodations. With its rustic decor and enjoyable fireplace themed suites, our 72-room Inn will have you feeling like a 19th century settler, but with all the amenities the 21st century has to offer. Located in the heart of the tri-states region of Illinois, Iowa and Missouri, the Stoney Creek Hotel in Quincy is ideal for social reunions and business events, with meetings rooms large enough to meet most every need. And while you're not relaxing in our warm and cozy surroundings, step out into Quincy, and discover the city's picturesque architecture, thriving industry and lively community events. Twice recognized as one of the nation's All-American cities, Quincy has a 200-year reputation of treating its guests well. By taking good care of you, we'll ensure that Quincy's great reputation continues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Quincy Hotel Quincy
Stoney Creek Hotel Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing