We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Political atmosphere disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Quincy
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Political atmosphere disappointing”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is great for those who like Fox News. It is a constant presence in the lobby and breakfast room. It wasn’t enjoyable for me to have it forced upon me while eating breakfast each morning. The breakfast attendant wasn’t in the breakfast area much (I understand she was performing another job at the hotel as well, which kept her away from the breakfast room for the most part). Since my family was the only one in the breakfast room at the time, I went to the front desk to request that the TV channel be changed. I was informed by the front-desk clerk that the owner only allows the TV to be tuned to Fox News or the Weather Channel. A gentleman who happened to be checking out at the time also expressed his displeasure. I hope that the owner will reconsider his TV viewing rules and not insist upon thrusting his political views on hotel guests.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank visitor006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Visitor006, My sincere apologies for your disappointing experience and I thank you for taking the time to send in a review. Unfortunately, the front desk person you encountered has been misinformed or has misunderstood our leadership’s intentions and we will immediately see that our entire staff fully understands our expectations. All channels are expected to be either on any news channel, not specifically Fox, or any weather channel as a general rule. Furthermore, any of our guests can request a change in channels in any public television areas including any and all channels available and we will happily oblige. We are very sorry that this happened to you and any others whom may have had a similar experience. We hope this single incident does not keep you from visiting us again so we can provide the relaxed and comfortable, non political atmosphere you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    54
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
98
49
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Stoney Creek inn, Quincy on Friday, Aug. 2. It was the first time we stayed at a Stoney Creek Inn. We were extremely pleased with our room; it was nicely decorated and very clean. I am very picky about cleanliness in a hotel and this room met my standards. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Nancy W, Thanks for sharing your 1st time experience via a Trip Advisor review. Our staff prides itself in providing cleanliness to every part of our hotel and over the top friendliness to every guest. We appreciate the recommendation and hope we see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great hotel. Wonderful room. Cozy, outdoor feeling. We like the room with the fireplace and hot tub. Reasonably priced. Rooms are clean. Staff goes above and beyond! Great breakfast Sondra
was amazing and very cheerful. Sally kept our room spotless. I made sure to catch their names. Pool area clean. Kids were so pleased! Only place in Quincy we stay. Have tried others, nothing compares! Bob and Lori Smith. Nebraska

Room Tip: Ask for fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is very well maintained. It appears to be a newer facility. Pool is indoor/outdoor. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and breakfast room clean and well maintained. Would recommend to families visiting this area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mommoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 nights. Its a 12 Hr. drive from our home to Quincy IL. Because of the times we had to travel put us into Quincy at around 9:00 AM. I called the hotel and asked if it would be possible to get into a room if there was one available or at least put out stuff somewhere so we could pick up friends and they would be able to get into the car. The front desk person, Karen, proceeded to go over the check in and check out times with me ( as if I didn't know them already) and with an attitude, tell me that wouldn't be possible and to check in around 11 or 12 and she would see what she could do. At 12:00 We stopped by the hotel and I went in to see if we could get in yet. She left me standing at the counter ( keep in mind that the parking lot was empty, as it was the whole time we were there. They were not busy) acting like she was trying to find a room while doing other stuff. While I was left standing there, another man came in and was waiting his turn. He made chit chat with her asking how her day was. She told him, right in front of me, that its was hard dealing with people that were always trying to check in early or check out late. While this is a nice hotel, that pretty much did it for us. We wont be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mur018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mur0 18, I sincerely apologize for any poor attitude shown to you and certainly for the feeling you were left with on your recent visit. We will immediately take corrective measures and address all of the issues you mention in your review with our entire staff. In our company, an upbeat, positive “yes we can help,” attitude is a part of our culture and anything less is not acceptable. Thank you very much for sharing and we wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We live local and stayed here to celebrate a family birthday. Great place to stay. Our room was Native American themed, king suite with a fireplace. Really wanted to bunk bed room,but not available, some convention in town. The pool was closed for awhile because of storms (in/out pool). Just asked the manager on duty to call when open and he did and we were off splashing. The hot tub was wonderful for us "old folks". But even the kids enjoyed it. Talk about a breakfast in the morning, lots of eats, including hot. Really enjoyed our stay and if we get the chance to do it again, this'll be the place to go.

Room Tip: Go to web site to view the different room types then choose. Or call and speak to a live person who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

whenever we go to Quincy we stay at the stoney creek inn. they are accommodating to our needs and very friendly, from the front desk to the room services. even the maintenance man.
we have stayed at other stoney creek inns as well and they were nice also. we always look for one in route when we travel

Room Tip: third floor is quiet, get to the breakfast early 6:30 to 9:30
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quincy hotels
1.4 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites Quincy
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Quincy
Hampton Inn Quincy
#2 of 11 in Quincy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Quincy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Quincy East
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Quincy
0.3 mi away
Quincy Comfort Inn
Quincy Comfort Inn
#9 of 11 in Quincy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy

Property: Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy
Address: 3809 Broadway St, Quincy, IL 62305-2801
Location: United States > Illinois > Quincy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quincy
#1 Best Value Hotel in Quincy
#2 Business Hotel in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic town of Quincy, Illinois, offers visitors a chance to look back through time - and our Stoney Creek Hotel provides the perfect accommodations. With its rustic decor and enjoyable fireplace themed suites, our 72-room Inn will have you feeling like a 19th century settler, but with all the amenities the 21st century has to offer. Located in the heart of the tri-states region of Illinois, Iowa and Missouri, the Stoney Creek Hotel in Quincy is ideal for social reunions and business events, with meetings rooms large enough to meet most every need. And while you're not relaxing in our warm and cozy surroundings, step out into Quincy, and discover the city's picturesque architecture, thriving industry and lively community events. Twice recognized as one of the nation's All-American cities, Quincy has a 200-year reputation of treating its guests well. By taking good care of you, we'll ensure that Quincy's great reputation continues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Quincy Hotel Quincy
Stoney Creek Hotel Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing