We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Quincy
Certificate of Excellence
Chillicothe, Missouri
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great family hotel”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here for a short family vacation and to check out Hannibal La Grange for my daughter. We got the larger family suite so all 4 of us could stay together; it was like having two hotel room joined together! Not only is this hotel nicely decorated in the great Northwoods theme, but there were cute little sitting areas throughout the property where we could read or play games (board games are available to check out). The breakfast room is also decorated and we were able to have a GREAT breakfast every morning before we went out for the day. My kids LOVED the pool; it is an interior pool that is connected to out outside pool. During our stay we traveled to Hannibal (about 15-20 minutes away) where we went on a night riverboat ride, toured the college and explored two caves. This was the best hotel for the money and for a short, but relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: We loved the larger family suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mopate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    55
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
100
49
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We first used Stoney Creek Inn in Quincy, IL, for an extended family reunion (some 100 people) in 2008 and everyone raved about the accommodations. We used the meeting room for our big evening get-together and the breakfast room in the evenings for visiting and puzzles. It was great.
This year (2011) our family (16 of us) gathered there for Thanksgiving week. We have usually gathered at a vacation home but the grandchildren wanted the pool (and my husband wanted the sauna and hot tub!). It worked out great---we have a relaxing and delightful time. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We have already made our reservations for next year! (It is sort of central for Iowa, North Dakota, Indiana & Alabama.)

Room Tip: Check out the variety of rooms and select what works for you! We got a suite w/ sitting area and ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heisiam57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The North woods decor is right up my alley and it was EVERYWHERE. I thoroughly enjoyed myself in this setting. Little touches were everywhere from the huge mounted moose head to the rowboat bookcase on the second floor alcove. The second floor sitting area was very nice also with lots of room and a lookout to the first floor. The pool area follows the theme with a clever mural. I did find the hot tub too hot and the pool too cold but the other woman I ran into who was from England, loved it that way. The indoor/outdoor pool seemed to thrill a small group of preteen girls I saw there also. They do have a small bar with the front desk help as bartenders but it serves the purpose. They do include breakfast which was only OK. I did get there about half an hour before it closed and most of it was gone and the selection wasn't too big to begin with. They need to add more meat and make sure it stays relatively full.

Room Tip: I would assume that rooms facing the back wooded area would be quieter but I don't know how loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaspera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We recently took Amtrak to/from Quincy, which made our schedule inconsistent with Stoney Creek Inn's check-in/check-out times. However, I was amazed at how accommodating the hotel was! Not only did they offer shuttle service to/from Amtrak, but they even had our room cleaned early so we could check in well before 3 p.m. (preventing us from sitting around for three hours). The next day our train didn't leave until 5:30 p.m. so they kindly extended our check-out time to noon. In addition, they allowed us to safely place our luggage in a banquet room while we walked to the nearby mall and cinema. All of the front desk associates accommodated us without hesitation, and we really appreciated it. Aside from this, the hotel was very clean and had a well maintained pool/hot tub/sauna area. It's also located near restaurants (Panera, Ruby Tuesday, TGI Fridays) as well as the mall and two cinemas.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamreg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stone Creek Inn is a well executed 3 star hotel. Clean and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7huskie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is the very first time we ever stayed in a hotel in Quincy and stayed her for a family reunion. We loved the cute cabin feel and the friendly staff. The only complaint that I have is with their fitness room. The fitness room only had three pieces of equipment and the treadmill was broken. The pool is awesome and we stay at this place again.
Eat at Kelly's for their salad bar and selection of inexpensive meals. Try Deiters Frozen Custard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleisaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Great place, great people for over 11 years and almost a million nights.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Husqer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
1.4 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites Quincy
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Quincy
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Quincy
Hampton Inn Quincy
#2 of 11 in Quincy
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Quincy
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Quincy East
15.5 mi away
Best Western On The River
Best Western On The River
#1 of 10 in Hannibal
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy

Property: Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy
Address: 3809 Broadway St, Quincy, IL 62305-2801
Location: United States > Illinois > Quincy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quincy
#2 Business Hotel in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic town of Quincy, Illinois, offers visitors a chance to look back through time - and our Stoney Creek Hotel provides the perfect accommodations. With its rustic decor and enjoyable fireplace themed suites, our 72-room Inn will have you feeling like a 19th century settler, but with all the amenities the 21st century has to offer. Located in the heart of the tri-states region of Illinois, Iowa and Missouri, the Stoney Creek Hotel in Quincy is ideal for social reunions and business events, with meetings rooms large enough to meet most every need. And while you're not relaxing in our warm and cozy surroundings, step out into Quincy, and discover the city's picturesque architecture, thriving industry and lively community events. Twice recognized as one of the nation's All-American cities, Quincy has a 200-year reputation of treating its guests well. By taking good care of you, we'll ensure that Quincy's great reputation continues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Quincy Hotel Quincy
Stoney Creek Hotel Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing