We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good & changing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maine Course

The Maine Course
Ranked #10 of 129 Restaurants in Quincy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
225 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Always good & changing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Menu is always changing a very different for Quincy

Aged steaks & fresh seafood specials. Risotto changes every day

Usually the deserts are strange combinations of flavors that work

Not a large place but should be able to get a seat any night

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, no crowd, small portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went to this restarrant on a rainy Tuesday and no one was there. The food was good but the portions were too small. The food was slightly overpriced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannyor40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
466 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The restaurant I keep coming back to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I look forward to this restaurant everytime I come to Quincy, IL for work. They change out their menu which means you come back to something new everytime. This time I tried their chard caesar salad ($4) and chicken pot pie ($14). The chard caesar was a great starter. The chard flavor enhancecd the salad. Most of the time, I don't care for Caesar salads because most restaurants don't know how to make a good one. This is a place you want to order their caesar if on the menu. The pot pie was a deconstructed pot pie, with chicken breast, swiss chard, carots, potatoes and a puff pastry "biscuit." I was also given four different types of sea salt to use (or not) as I wish. Honestly the food did not needed salt, but I had to try the different sea salt, mostly on the potatoes. This place never disappoints me. Why it is not listed as the #1 restaurant in Quincy is beyond me. This is the best restaurant in town period.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, Missouri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience in quincy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I had the most amazing dinner at The Maine Course. We did the tasting menu and had our drinks and popcorn (appetizer) frozen with liquid nitrogen. It was really so much fun. Great food, relaxing ambience and awesome staff. The service of our very entertaining waiter Chris was top notch, and we even met the amazing chef, Kevin. We will definitely be coming back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank January A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“never disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I drive 30 miles to eat here and have never been disappointed with the food. We were there Saturday night and tried the fried chicken and the pork loin. Both were excellent. Good portions and reasonably priced for the quality of the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank btlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maine Course also viewed

 

Been to The Maine Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing