We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in the Lake District”
Review of Howtown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Howtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howtown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howtown
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem in the Lake District”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

In July this year we spent a week enjoying a family holiday at Howtown Hotel to celebrate my parents' Golden Wedding Anniversary. Mrs Baldry and her staff could not have been kinder or more helpful if they tried. My brother was recovering from a broken ankle, so had to spend the week wearing a very heavy plaster on his leg. Mrs Baldry noticed he was struggling to keep his leg raised on one of the hotel lounge chairs, so offered the use of a small footstool, which was just the right size and height. At my request, she also arranged for a beautiful flower arrangement to be delivered to the hotel on the day of my parents' actual Anniversary day. I could not have chosen a more appropriate display if I had been at the florists myself. The flower "spray" was ideal for taking home at the end of our holiday.

Visiting Howtown Hotel is like stepping into the past. My mother commented that it reminded her of her childhood in the 1950's when she first visited Martindale with my Grandparents. Everything at the hotel is relaxed and the staff are always helpful and polite. The furniture and decor transport the visitor back to the early part of the 20th Century. At times, I felt I was in the middle of a set for filming a "Miss Marple" film or an episode of "Downtown Abbey." The food at the hotel is very traditional, but cooked to a very high standard.

The only drawback with the hotel is that the single access road approx 3-4 miles long is very narrow and there are not enough "passing places" at times, which did cause us problems a few times when we left the hotel to visit other parts of the Lake District.

Compared to a modern hotel, Howtown is very old-fashioned and is probably not suitable for people who need mobile phone or Internet access for communication or entertainment. However, this "little gem" of a hotel is so unique that it should aim to keep its character and not make too many changes to keep up with the 21st Century!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    23
    12
    11
    5
See reviews for
39
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The Howtown Hotel is a late Victorian era treasure situated on the shore of Ullswater in the Lake District and best reached by a contemporary ears steamboat from Glenridding. Whilst the hotel is set in the late Victorian era, is most definitely not a themed hotel - rather the owners have decided to forgo the inconvenience of bringing the hotel in to the 20th Century (let alone the 21st Century) as far as possible. With the exception of electricity, television and credit card facilities the hotel is steadfastly stuck at 3pm on a Sunday afternoon in 1887 just as Dr Watson and Sherlock Holmes have stepped out for their afternoon constitutional walk along the shores of Ullswater.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macosmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Beautiful remote location yet so easy to get to. This hotel is an old fashioned, olde world dream. Very friendly service, excellent food and plenty of choice even though there aren't any written menus. Tea on the lawn was very relaxing. Great spot for the start and finish of real walking country. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smig8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is at the end of a very narrow road down the east side of Ullswater, with only a couple of other houses nearby. Those without cars it can be reached by ferry as the regular ferry stops at the jetty about 300 yards away. There is no mobile phone reception in the hotel, but there is at the end of the drive. Staying here for dinner, B&B is absolute bliss. All the rooms are immaculate - the 3 lounges, the bar and the restaurant and the bedrooms. Dinner is at 7pm and you sit at your allocated table for a superb meal (3 choices for all courses) and the atmosphere throughout the hotel is of great sociability. This is a hotel jealously guarded by guests who have stayed there many times before and no wonder. What a find!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2014

A uniquely wonderful, warm & welcoming hotel; beautifully furnished, comfortable rooms, delicious meals and good wine list & bar...always fully lives up to my expectations & the Baldry family's high standards. Go with the flow, there are no menus but always a good choice of several main courses, fantastic puddings & cheeses.
For old-style courtesy and comfort, surrounded by wonderful walking country and a lake steamer practically to the door there is nothing else like it - and dog friendly too! What more could anyone want.
But book early! Regular guests return year after year.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms with en-suite, or in the White House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subrosa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Was taken for my 40th birthday lunch but my partner! Arrived by ferry , a charming journey which made the visit more magical!
The whole place is quaint and charming , yes some furniture is a but granny, But it's a perfect Jilly Cooper affair escape!
The lunch was simple but Devine! Yes I've had better service but it all gelled and their manners and clothing were impecable! I have to say some of the dinners where a tad stuffy! That just made me feel more rock, never a bad thing!
Who cares if they take credit cards! Their are banks not to far off the ferry and I'm sure they'll just add extras to your room bill!
Things are only problems if you want them to be!
Relax take cash and enjoy!
P.s. Hardly change a thing your practically perfect! Xxx

In short! I loved it, I loved it, I loved it! And if I don't get taken back "I shall sulk"!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Coast
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went for lunch as a family group of five. We were given a very traditional welcome in this very traditional hotel - packed with antiques and curios that provided plenty of conversation over drinks round a log fire. Lunch was served quite formally - soup, cold main course, dessert and coffee at a very reasonable price. And very good it was too - my cold salmon salad was quite delicious - perfectly cooked salmon and an excellent salad with chutneys, pickles, vinaigrette, etc etc. My son in law, who has a much bigger appetite, had ham and tongue salad and declared it to be both flavoursome and ample. The wine list is not extensive, but the Chablis was well chosen and served at exactly the right temperature. There was an excellent choice of desserts, and my apricot crumble ( made from whole apricots) could not be faulted. The redoubtable owner of the hotel and her staff were all charming, and we left well satisfied. We shared the dining room with a large family with several very well-behaved children, and clearly they were made equally welcome, but I would have to say that this is not the place to bring noisy children who are liable to break things.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel, but may well do so in future. Choose a room with a fabulous view acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristoJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howtown
5.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
11.0 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
22.2 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howtown Hotel

Property: Howtown Hotel
Address: Ullswater | nr Penrith, Howtown CA10 2ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Howtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howtown
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing