We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay at Blencowe!”

Review of Blencowe Hall

Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Blencowe Hall is within the private family owned Rowley Estates
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
110 reviews
Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Blencowe Hall is within the private family owned Rowley Estates
The gate leading to the main central range door which opens into the oak panelled entrance hall
The yew lined sandstone walled formal gardens at Blencowe Hall planted with shrub roses
The patio area leading to the gardens, yew hedges, climbing roses, sandstone, terraces
The formal Central Gardens at Blencowe Hall - yew hedges, climbing roses, sandstone terraces
Blencowe Hall's South Tower showing the formal stone lined rill in the foreground of the gardens
The South Tower Dining Room opens out to the sandstone terraces via the original rent in the wall
Lady Jane Grey's sister married Henry de Blencowe and Lady Jane's motto is inscribed above the door
The South Tower Dining Room with French doors opening onto the sandstone terrace and the gardens
The Dining Room at Blencowe Hall, seating for guests
A view from the patio in to The South Tower formal Dining Room
The breakfasting kitchen with Aga, two dishwashers, two fridges, washing machine and tumble dryer
A view of the 4 oven Aga, next to this is a stainless gas hob and a full size electric oven
Blencowe Hall's breakfasting kitchen also has two Bosch dishwashers, two sinks and a Bosch WM & TD
The Kitchen has two handmade solid oak tables and a children's play area built up into the inglenook
A full size billiards table and equipment is provided for guest use
The Billiards Room looking towards the four foot thick masonry walls leading to the North Tower
The Billiards Room on the ground floor of Blencowe Hall with an antique table
The first floor Solar Reception room occupies the entire North Tower
The Solar reception room was the original retiring room for the ladies of Blencowe Hall
The Solar Room has two massive stone fireplaces inset with two cast iron fires, one gas and one wood
The first floor Solar Room has two cast iron fires and is one of 4 rooms licenced for civil weddings
The first floor Solar Room licenced for civil weddings
The Solar Room at Blencowe Hall decorated for the holidays. Tree provided for guests from our farm
The massive South Tower Master bedroom ensuite with a private Dressing Room, balcony and bathroom
The window in the South Tower Master Bedroom dressing room overlooking the orchard field
Another view of the South Master Bedroom suite which occupies the Tower's entire top floor
Cromwell's Folly and the South Tower Master Bedroom both have private Juliette balconies
Every window in Grade I listed Blencowe Hall has been preserved and protected in the shape found
A quiet place for a read and relax in the bedrooms of Blencowe Hall
A king size bed in the West Range Cumberland Room which is ensuite with a cast iron bath
The West Range Master with an antique six foot super king bed
A view of the glass divided raised ensuite bathroom and ensuite in the West Range Master Bedroom
The Greystoke Room in the West Range with antique 3 foot beds is ensuite with a cast iron bath
The North Tower Master Bedroom with an antique five foot four poster bed and ensuite bath & shower
The Lady Jane Grey Room at the top of the North Tower, ensuite with beds that can be singles or 6ft
The ground floor Garden Bedroom with a double bed & private access to the North Tower walled garden
The walk in ensuite wet room of the ground floor Garden Room with a shower and glass screen
The Petteril Room (6ft) overlooks the formal Central Range gardens and has a massive stone fireplace
The Norfolk Room with beds that can be arranged as a king size bed or two single beds
The ensuite Henry de Blencowe Bedroom
The Henry de Blencowe Bedroom ensuite bathroom
Blencowe Hall in the summer sunshine
A view of Blencowe Hall in the morning sunlight
A side view of Blencowe Hall showing the arched entrance to the cobbled central courtyard
Blencowe Hall lit at night. The coloured lights can be lit or not depending on guest preference
An aerial view of Blencowe Hall and its surrounding gardens
Blencowe Hall is a 5* Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms and 11 bathrooms
Blencowe Hall at dusk
Blencowe Hall in the wintertime
Christmas wreath on the door at Blencowe Hall
An aerial view of Blencowe Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 110 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JessicaWo...
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Blencowe!”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Blencowe as a group of 29 (23 adults and 6 children) for my other halfs 30th birthday. It was perfect right from the start. When booking Christine had answers to all my questions and helped me to accommodate the children in with their parents, and after that Jilly was brilliant and answered any questions we had.

Blencowe hall itself is beautiful! Even with 29 of us there was more than enough room for us all over the weekend with everything you could think of provided. We stayed in the south tower room and it was amazing! Beautiful views and beautiful room.
We arranged for a tesco delivery which came a little earlier than check in but the cleaners kindly let us in to unpack the food. There was also a welcome pack left with essentials like milk, butter, bread, cheese and even a few bottles of wine!

Everything over our weekend went smoothly, we had a bbq and a castle themed fancy dress party which was great fun with our wonderful backdrop! The grounds were great we had a few games of rounders and also went on walks around the area.

Some of the group visited the Reghed centre which was quite local and great for the children with a tractor exhibition and a Lego exhibition. We also visited Keswick which was only 20 minutes away. There's lots to do around the area.

We also ate at a local pub called the clickham inn which was lovely, the food was fresh and home made and the staff were really accommodating for our large group and very friendly!

Overall we all had an amazing time and would love to come back again, thank you Christine, Jilly and the team!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at Blencowe Hall and your weekend sounds like such good fun was had by all and you packed so much in!! It's super that you used the whole of the hall and the ground's and got out and about in the local area as well as sampling the delights of the local pub. Thank you for all your kind comments they are very much appreciated by us and our team as well as being very useful for anyone looking to visit the local area. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to The Rowley Estates please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babeski
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Our Wedding could not have been better”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We got married at Blencowe Hall and spent three nights there with our family and friends. It was exactly as we had wanted and planned. Christine Rowley was friendly, prompt and professional. Jilly went beyond the call of duty when she came out late one evening to resolve a problem with the lights in one bathroom; a fuse had blown.

We decided to ask Lynn Hilditch Catering to prepare and serve dinner each night. That proved to be a great decision. We had three totally different types of meal; tapas, traditional wedding and american style. The food was excellent and sufficient to have for breakfast and lunch too!

It is difficult to think how our experience could have been improved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The building and facilities are excellent
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking you time to write this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted your wedding was everything you had wanted and planned and you, your family and friends all enjoyed your stay at Blencowe Hall. I will pass on your comments to both Jilly and Lynn and I am sue they will be much appreciated. Thank you again for your review and huge congratulations to you both from all at The Rowley Estates. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinwalk...
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just celebrated my 50th birthday along with 23 friends at Blencowe Hall what can i say it is the most amazing home you could imagine equipped with everything you could ever need from the lone piper to Alex who ran the clay pigeon shoot on the estate(Cumbrian Adventures )and Purple Sage the caterers who did afternoon tea and a 3 course meal on the Saturday(Fantastic) only down side was we did not book a week instead of a long weekend thanks again to Christine and Jilly where nothing was to much trouble for them

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Blencowe Hall
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you all enjoyed celebrating your 50th birthday at Blencowe Hall. Thank you for your kind comments they are very much appreciated by us and the team at The Rowley Estates. I will make sure Purple Sage and Cumbrian Adventures get to see your review. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to Blencowe Hall or any of our other cottages please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolchonto...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous, really really fabulous!”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I booked Blencowe Hall for my wife's 50th, along with 22 family and friends. The booking was easy and efficient, thanks to Christine for making it so. Big thanks to Jilly I helping me to make sure that everything was prepared in advance. The welcome pack was very well received and a nice touch.

Blencowe hall itself is a property that is second to none - the perfect location for this group of 24 to celebrate. The bedrooms are nothing short of magical and the shared spaces are magnificent. The kitchen has everything that you could ever need - including 2 dishwashers - brilliant.
We were lucky to find Lynn Hilditch catering through a link on your web site - Lynn was brilliant and the food & service that she provided on 2 nights was wonderful.

Thanks so much for making the weekend magical, with countless great memories for everybody!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to leave this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you, your family and friends enjoyed your wife's 50th Birthday Celebrations at Blencowe Hall. Thank you also for all your kind comments regarding the hall and it's facilities it really is great for us to hear that you have appreciated them all and that you have made countless 'magical' memories. I will pass your review to all of our team including Lynn. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to Blencowe Hall or any of our other properties at The Rowley Estates please get back in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Wonderful hamper provided plus milk eggs and butter in the fridge, so don't shop for basics until more is needed.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Hi, Thank you for writing this review and we are delighted you enjoyed the 'Welcome Hamper'. It is great for us to know how much they are appreciated by our guests. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genuinely incredible venue in an incredible setting!”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I stayed here with my partner as part of a larger family wedding a few weeks back for a total of four nights and I genuinely can't recommend Blencowe highly enough.

Clean, well appointed and flexible along side being truly the most beautiful property set in acres of countryside. It's a really cosy and warm place despite its size and I am sure we will all be back for a holiday or similar.

Great work by the management team; clearly they have invested a lot in both time and money.

Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the family wedding at Blencowe Hall. Thank you also for all your kind comments they are very much appreciated by us and all of our team. It has been a lot of hard work but also a pleasure for us renovating the Hall and if you are interested there is more information and photographs on our website. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to Blencowe Hall or any of our other properties at The Rowley Estates. Please get back in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe3110
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning family oriented wedding venue”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were lucky enough to stumble across The Rowley Estates two years ago when we got engaged in the Lake District. We knew that we wanted to do something different to the norm, and to have a truly family oriented wedding without the rules, requirements and restrictions of a traditional hotel wedding.

As soon as we saw Blencowe Hall we knew it was the venue for us, so much so that we never even viewed any other venues! We were blown away by the place.

Fast forward two years and we stayed from 23rd to 27th June 2016, with our wedding taking place on Saturday 25th. It was everything we dreamed of and more. Our family and friends were able to stay on site with us at the hall and surrounding cottages, which meant 44 on site guests. Our total wedding party for the Saturday was approximately 50 guests.

There wasn't a single guest who didn't comment on the beauty of the building and grounds. Everyone was awestruck. To quote one of our relatives, they have never been as blown away by a venue as they were by Blencowe Hall.

All credit is due to Christine and Charles Rowley who have clearly worked tirelessly to restore the building to its former glory, with all the 5* luxury to go with it.

The venue lends itself perfectly to family gatherings and genuinely felt like our home for the weekend. We had full run of the place and people could enjoy themselves, spend time with family and make it a weekend of real quality time with people we don't always see as much as we could.

We were lucky enough that aside from one torrential downpour, the weather was kind enough to mean that we could get married using the dining room and front lawn. It was truly lovely and special.

Throughout our planning stages Christine was always incredibly helpful and responded to all of our enquiries very quickly. The team were willing and ready to help us to create our dream day and to ensure that they did whatever they could to help with that.

We genuinely can't thank you enough.

Amazing wedding venue that we would recommend to anyone without hesitation.

Now just to plan when our return will be!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
Hi, thank you very much for your lovely message which we have shared with our team. We were absolutely delighted to welcome you and your family and friends for you wedding weekend and it was so great to hear about the lovely weather and that the option of the South Tower Dining Room terraces and front garden worked for your wedding celebration. We would be delighted to welcome you all back any time :) Thank you again for choosing to celebrate your wedding at Blencowe Hall. With our best wishes to you both and we hope that you have a great honeymoon! Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing