We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Family Birthday Celebration to Remember”

Review of Glassonby Old Hall

Glassonby Old Hall has amazing views over the Eden Valley and up into the Pennine Fells
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glassonby Old Hall has amazing views over the Eden Valley and up into the Pennine Fells
The rolling Pennine across the fields Glassonby Old Hall's sandstone terrace - a great place to relax after exploring in the Lake District
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Glassonby Old Hall has amazing views over the Eden Valley and up into the Pennine Fells
The rolling Pennine across the fields
Glassonby Old Hall's sandstone terrace - a great place to relax after exploring in the Lake District
The terrace offers wooden garden furniture to seat 8 and a Weber BBQ, charcoal provided.
Glassonby Old Hall has fabulous views over the Eden Valley and no night pollution!
Glassonby Old Hall in the spring fronted by daffodils
An example of one of the oak mullioned windows
Glassonby Old Hall's sandstone flagged and galleried Great Hall
The dining area within the Great Hall
The breakfasting Kitchen and four oven Aga with an American fridge freezer separate hob and oven
The snug at Glassonby has a cast iron log burning stove and traditional oak mullioned windows.
A cosy corner of the Snug showing an oak mullioned window
The ground floor Dalreaven Bedroom has an adjoining wc and shower room
The first floor Addingham Bedroom has a antique five foot wooden carved bed and oak mullion windows
The Addingham bedroom
An original 18th Century oak mullioned window frame on display
The Salkeld Bedroom located on the first floor has two antique mahogany three foot beds
The first floor bathroom shared between the Addingham and Salkeld bedrooms
The Master Bedroom with a king size antique four poster bed and private entrance to the rear garden
Glassonby Old Hall has a private front and rear garden. The rear garden is gated and fenced.
The Eden River near Daleraven, a lovely public foot path which is walking distance from Glassonby
A view of the Eden Valley across the lane from the gardens of Glassonby Old Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Graham N
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Family Birthday Celebration to Remember”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We chose as a family Glassonby Old Hall to celebrate our sons 30th birthday as it was in the ideal location for all of our grown up children to meet with partners and as soon as we arrived we knew it was the perfect choice.
5 star it definitely is, from the lovely hamper to welcome welcome us on arrival which was a fabulous touch and much appreciated to the excellent decor of the halls rooms were all to the highest of standards.
Thank you Christine and Jilly for accommodating all our requirements and making our stay so special .
We will definitely be booking again with you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2017
Hi
Thanks very much for this great review. We're so pleased to hear that Glassonby Old Hall was the perfect location for your son's birthday party and it sounds like you had a great weekend. It's super to hear that the efforts we put into the décor are so well appreciated. We would love to have you stay at The Rowley Estates again. Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaclark...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay with friends”
Reviewed May 11, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Glassonby Hall. The accommodation is beautiful. The walk recommended in the welcome brochure is well worth it. Highly recommend the Crown Inn in the nearby village. The chef cooks amazing food! Would definitely like to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2017
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review following your recent visit to Glassonby Old Hall. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and you enjoyed the local walk! The Crown Inn certainly is a lovely village pub and it's nice to hear you had an amazing meal during your stay! Please feel free to get back in touch the next time you are planning a trip, we would love to welcome you back to The Rowley Estates! Best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katykins8...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect family get away”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Booked her last November after deciding that no one needed more stuff for Christmas so it was better to buy us all the gift of time together. I looked through a lot of holiday homes and just kind of stumbled on Glassonby Old hall and I'm so glad we did.

Upon arrival the house was absolutely pristine, not a speck of dust to be found. The kitchen is better stocked than even our own at home and the bedrooms are wonderful and large. Both fires had even been set with wood to be lit they night. The bonus of an enclosed back garden for our dog just made it even better.

The location is stunning, wonderfully rural but all within a 15 minute drive of
Penrith if you decide you need some civilisation.

We stayed for four nights and our only criticism was that we had to leave. Can't wait to go back again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Hi, thank you so much for the wonderful review following on from your stay at Glassonby Old Hall. What a brilliant idea to buy family time together! We are pleased you found the Hall clean and well equipped and your dog enjoyed the gardens! We would be delighted to welcome you back again, please feel free to get back in touch if your decide to buy family time again this Christmas.
Best regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sd2sd2
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic break!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We've just come back from a 4 day stay at Glassonby Old Hall. The house is immaculately presented and the little treats left for us were lovely! The owners have thought about every little need of the guests and have catered for it all. The suggestions about walks/pubs and takeaways were very useful.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to be back soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2017
Hi
Thanks very much for your kind review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our recommendations and our welcome hamper. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Cumbria and the Lake District at some point in the future. Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steveandH...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Glassonby”
Reviewed March 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Another fabulous stay with Th Rowley Estates. Glassonby Old Hall is a wonderful place to stay. Full of character and with a few surprises, makes it an exceptional holiday home where you can relax with your family and four legged friends within luxury surroundings. Looking forward to our next stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review following your stay at Glassonby Old Hall! We are delighted you all had a relaxing family break and we would be thrilled to welcome you back to The Rowley Estates next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria and The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElliotGeo...
North of England UK
1 review
“Spectacularl accommodation”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The accommodation is in a beautiful rural setting 20 minutes from Penrith and 30 minutes from Ullswater.
On arrival the house is immaculately presented and the five star ambience is echoed by a luxury welcome pack of essentials: coffee, tea, butter, sugar, fruit, fruit-juice, milk, cereal etc; and special treats, we got shortbread biscuits, champagne, locally made toffees and fudge to name just some of the items.
The accommodation itself is spectacular, comfortable for a large party, such as ours, of up to eight adults, there are high levels of finish in all the rooms and the kitchen is well equipped. The rooms are centrally heated and warm and the two large open wood burning stoves have an endless supply of logs.
Every eventuality is catered for making the stay seamless and trouble free.
The area is one of outstanding natural beauty with an abundance of local walks. The accommodation is equipped with information for local walks and hikes of different grades and lots of information about the Lake District's amenities.
Within a few minutes drive there are local mini-markets should you run out of essentials, welcoming pubs and a petrol station.
Our lasting impression is that this was superb accommodation, warm and comfortable in a beautiful setting with all your needs catered for.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
Happy New Year to you !!
Wow (!) and thank you so much for taking your time to leave such a positive and detailed review of your Christmas break at Glassonby Old Hall. It makes us so happy to hear what our guests enjoyed about our halls and cottages and what their thoughts were on the local area and amenities. We will pass your kind feedback back to our housekeeping team who worked so hard to get all of our properties ready for our special Christmas guests !
It would be great to welcome you all back again should you be planning a future trip to Cumbria & The Lake District.
Best wishes,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmil...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Brilliant" A wonderful 50th Birthday made special by 5 star accomodation”
Reviewed December 13, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What can I say we arrived to a wonderfully clean and cosy hall set in the beautiful countryside just outside Penrith. The weather providing frosty mornings and bright blue skies, ideal for walking alongside the river exploring the caves and local historical attractions.
Hall facilities were outstanding, decorated as new with little touches that made it feel like home. Beds clean and cotton linen fab. Bathrooms huge and modern.
Both the Jilly and Christine could not be more professional or helpful. Catering through Lynn Hilditch was perfect for the occasion and very well priced.
Both Jenny and elk cottages gave great flexibility for the group with facilities as good as the main hall, hampers for all WOW lovely touch.
I cannot rate the hall high enough and will definitely be booking other locations with the Rowley Estates.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2016
Hi,
Thank you so much for providing such positive feedback after your recent celebration weekend at Glassonby Old Hall, Jenny's Croft and Elk Cottage.
We love to hear back from our guests and find out what you enjoyed the most or visited during your stay. We will pass your kind feedback back to Jilly and her team and Lynn and her team who I agree are all fantastic !
We hope to be able to welcome you back to our cottages again soon.
All our best wishes for a fantastic Christmas and NY !!
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing