We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Almost 5 stars”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Matterdale End, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marena S
1 review
“Nice cottage But”
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

On arrival we saw a lovely cottage, sun shining,cows mooing sheep grazing, wow we all four said,then we walked in to a smell that knocked us all outside to let us get our breath. We had to get a very disgruntled cleaner to come and clean the fridge/ freezer out, as it had milk gone off and fish fingers that looked like they could walk on there own.We were informed by said cleaner" the property was cleaned a week ago then changed to 2 weeks ago" and yes it is destructing but i can all ways leave if you moan to much!The nearest shop/ pub are more than 4 miles away so get some food before you get to the cottage. Other than this its well worth a visit. Not suitable for anyone with a disability.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2017
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. We are disappointed to read you experienced problems during your stay. We have received your email and replied direct to you. As a company we do pride ourselves on our customer service and go out of our way to ensure holidaymakers have an enjoyable stay with us. As you are aware, the property is owner managed and your comments will be forwarded to the owners. Nevertheless we hope these issues did not detract too much from your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wardy007
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Almost 5 stars”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Really wanted to give this cottage 5 stars as it was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean (I am very fussy about hygiene). It almost made it. What let it down were very simple things. No patio furniture which should have been a no brainer as there was a decking area with incredible views to take in whilst soaking up the summer sun. Also the garden needed a bit if a tidy. There were plenty of mirrors to do my make up and hair but sadly no plug sockets near them to dry my hair. Had to remove one mirror and place it on the church pew and use the lamp socket. The log burner got blocked and smoked us out on the first night, called the caretaker, left message but he never got back to us the whole week we were there. My husband cleaned it all out and tried again but it was no different. Gave up as the cottage just smelt of smoke and stung our eyes, even with with doors and windows opened.
Please don't let this put you off though. The cottage is gorgeous and it's in a lovely quiet place with easy driving access to most popular areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Mell View Cottage. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at this beautiful cottage and have forwarded your comments to the owner. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_n52
Southampton, England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great value for money”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage is located in a very quiet, rural part of the Northern Lake District. It is simply furnished but very smart, clean, tidy & comfortable. All rooms are on the ground floor - we particularly liked the open-plan kitchen, dining area and lounge with wood-burning stove. There is a pleasant garden to the rear with decent views of the nearby fells. Plenty of pubs within a 10 minute drive for reasonable evening meals and also food shops etc in Keswick and Penrith about 20 minutes away. The adjacent cottage is being renovated so there was some building work going on during the day but this did not detract from our stay in any way. Overall, excellent value for money as this is by no means an expensive property for the Lakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet rural location, very clean, tidy & comfortable
Liked least: The heating is remotely controlled by the owners on request
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2015
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Mell View Cottage, Matterdale. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at this lovely cottage and appreciated its location. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lois_E945
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our three night stay at Mell View Cottage did not disappoint, we didn't want to leave! The cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished to a very high quality - the photos really don't do it justice. The kitchen is well equipped with everything we needed for preparing a few meals, although we went out for dinner too. The shower is AMAZING! :) The bed was very comfortable and all linen/towels provided. We enjoyed the log fire in the evenings. The views from the cottage (bathroom included!) are stunning. There is a large and lovely garden with a deck area which would be great in warmer weather. It's a great base to explore the local area, very peaceful setting but only a short drive from the A66 so easy to get to places if you want to visit other parts of the Lakes. We would love to come back for a longer stay one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: We were a little chilly in February and underfloor heating controls couldn't be altered.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2015
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Mell View Cottage, Ullswater. We are delighted that you found this beautiful cottage perfect for your stay and enjoyed its stunning location. We hope to welcome you to one of our cottages in the future.

Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool
Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheltenham
Reviewed April 29, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing