We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Four and Twenty Cafe" is spectacular”

Four and Twenty Cafe
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome! We are a Midwestern Cafe located in the heart of Illinois and dedicated to homemade and the best of locally sourced foods. Open 7 days a week to serve you Breakfast and Lunch, Homemade Pastries, Pies, & Confections. Full Service Coffee Bar, Special Event Planning and Catering.
Urbana, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Four and Twenty Cafe" is spectacular”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

When in Princeton, Illinois be sure to go the the "Four and Twenty" cafe. I had lunch
there Friday, August 29th. The food and service were wonderful. Tuna fish sandwich,
I believe potato salad, and two pieces of fruit pie: cherry and peach. The coffee is
out of this world. This is the type of old fashioned cafe that existed in many American cities
years ago, but which is now hard to find. Everything home made. Extremely clean. I wish
I lived closer to this great restaurant. I highly recommend it to everyone.

Tom Kilton (Urbana, Illinois)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    19
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of Europe in The Heartland”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

You will always remember your dining experience in this little hidden gem. From the eccectic atmophere, the friendly staff, the various menu offerings to the well prepared food and presentation, you can't go wrong. Try to figure out if you are in a cafe in Paris, or in Tuscany, or in Princeton, Ill. Home made bakery items, eggs Benedict, gashouse eggs, Belgian waffles, homemade baked oatmeal. biscuits and gravy, for breakfast followed by home made soups, buffalo burgers, portabello mushroom sandwiches, ceaser salad with anchovie dressing, homemade pies and gelato for lunch. Open 7 days a week and if I lived there I would eat there that often. But living in California, I can't get there that often.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh and foodie worthy”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had a great lunch here! Fresh, local source bistro approach to food was a pleasant surprise in the middle of IL. My chicken soup for example was all fresh veggies AND homemade noodles! Everything had that extra little foodie twist. For example, the ham and cheese was actually ham and brie on homemade oatmeal bread! Great array of sweets in the front case. T he chocolate zucchini cake was to die for. I'll be back!
Loa

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Loaslib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herscher, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It Feels Like Home”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The salad bar is always fresh and full, the bakery case makes you want to eat dessert first, and the menu selections keep you coming back to try the many wonderful choices listed for both breakfast and lunch. Homemade soups, dressings, salads, sandwiches, pie, brownies, cookies...head on down to Four and Twenty where the wait staff is happy to see you and the selections taste just like you would make them yourself at home.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Heavenly Slice of ...”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The coconut cream pie!! Truly delicious finish to the salad bar (wonderful chicken salad and other deli salads in addition to spinach and leaf lettuce) and homemade bread.
Great service and food in downtown Princeton. Wish we lived to enjoy the menu frequently!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank heartland07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four and Twenty Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Four and Twenty Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing