We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house in an idyllic setting”

Review of Oasis de Drapelle

Pool and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and garden
Pool and dining terrace Twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Pool and garden
Pool and dining terrace
Twin bedroom
Riverbank location
Interior
Master bedroom
Exterior
Interior
Interior
View from the covered dining terrace
Nearby attractions
Green Venice
View from the river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Vix, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely location”
Reviewed August 28, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We felt an honest review was in order for this property.

We would like to start off by saying that we have booked previous holidays through Vendee Gites and found them to be very helpful. We were very excited for our two week stay in August. We didn't get off to the best start when we arrived, however thankfully with the help of Martin Holmes who spoke both English and French we managed to iron out some of the hiccups. We would also like to say that we did have a very enjoyable stay whilst there and made the most of it. The camp site behind the house was a nice distraction and the Friday night music festivals were very entertaining and enjoyable. There are many local towns close by and lots of lovely site seeing attractions. The food markets were fabulous and the shopping facilities were very good. The pontoon can get a little noisy on a weekend as this operates from 9am to 9pm and its situated right next to the house.

I would like to say that the house was immaculate on our arrival and the bedrooms and bathrooms were well equipped. The kitchen lacked some basic items. One particular problem was the size of the fridge/freezer. Especially when the house can accommodate 8 people. We planned to self cater and as a family of 7 had to go out and stock up daily rather than have the luxury of being able to do one big shop and then relax.
The outdoor area was nicely situated on the river and the views were spectacular. There is a fence between yourself and the river for safety reasons, however sadly one cannot access this lovely river from the property as the gate is now locked and the jetty is no longer there. We would have happily paid more to have such access, as we though we did when we did our original booking. We found out once there that this access was no longer an option. We were understandably put out by this as we had purchased fishing licenses and fishing equipment.
The pool itself was a blessing on the hot days but sadly the paving around the pool has been left to ruin. There are many paving slabs on the edge of the pool and surrounding area of the pool that are loose. This is a massive safety hazard for any family and an accident waiting to happen.

We believe that honesty is the best policy and feel that if your happy to overlook the issues we encountered (which we had to do) then you will have a wonderful holiday.

Thank-you for a lovely two weeks holiday.
Julie

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2018
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your holiday. As can be seen from the other reviews, this property has an excellent track record, so it is a pity that some initial dissatisfaction was felt. We do respect your opinions but feel that it is necessary to offer a full reply on the points that you raise.

As regards the delay on arrival, the owner had planned the changeover to meet the stated 5pm arrival time and this timing was maintained. We do stress in the documentation that entry to the property is not guaranteed before the official arrival time.

As you say, the nearby campsite is a bonus for the additional facilities and entertainment that it provides, but obviously as there can be boisterous activity at some times on the busy summer weekends. I must add that no-one else has reported back to us on this issue, although we do fully understand that everyone's appreciation of any potential disturbance will be different.

Whilst a small nearby pontoon was shown in a general river photo, it was stated that this was near to, not part of the rented property. This has now been replaced by the larger pontoon that hosts the canoes for hire. It is clear in the description that the property grounds are "completely fenced from the river", so no direct access to the river is implied. Indeed, the owner rightly considers that the narrow strip of land on the other side of the fence is not stable or safe enough to allow any access. Nevertheless, we have had guests who have simply fished over the fence, and there is also a choice of fishing spots if you walk along the river bank.

We will certainly examine the fridge size and the kitchen inventory with the owner to see if improvements can be made for the future. As Vendee-Gites has other properties for 8 people that have this size of fridge, it would not seem to be particularly unsuited.

The pool surround is a known issue that requires maintenance from time to time. The stability of the riverside ground has not allowed the usual concrete base to be laid around the pool so the paving is laid on stabilised sand. With the exceptional hot dry weather this season, the underlying clay has shrunk and caused the paving to become loose and uneven in places. Obviously, intervention during the season is not really possible, but rest assured that this point will be tackled before next year's rentals.

With kind regards, Martin Holmes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in an idyllic setting ”
Reviewed August 13, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had a fantastic week here with 3 generations of our family. The house is great and the setting is fantastic. We loved lazing by the pool, enjoying the wonderful views and wildlife.
The campsite opposite is a nice place to enjoy a drink and listen to the live music. They also offer bread and croissants if you order, which is very handy.
Fishing on the river is good and there are some great runs and cycle routes from the house.
We would highly recommend a holiday in this lovely house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2018
Thank you for your kind appreciations. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards,
Martin Holmes
Vendee Gites
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BullyBirm...
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Idyllic beautiful place”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I can't thank Mme Audinea enough for her warm welcome and kindness throughout our stay. She was there to meet us with a welcoming drink and melon which was very much appreciated. The house is exceptional and the heated pool was brilliant. It is very well equipped ....you really couldn't want for more. The setting is the best I've seen in France and is a real piece of paradise. Take a boat out on the river it's so beautiful. We loved it. I would like to thank Martin Also for his advise and help. We didn't want to come home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Glad that you enjoyed your stay! Perhaps we will see you again in the future...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodiB14
Privett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

From the great service from Martin Holmes to the wonderfully warm welcome from Madame Audineau through to the end of our stay, everything was fantastic. The house is gorgeous and has everything you need for a brilliant holiday. We will definitely be returning. Merci beaucoup!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Glad that you enjoyed your holiday. We look forward to having you back !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V3511HLbi...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Idyllic Setting, wonderful place.”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Having travelled throughout France for the last 20 years, I think both myself and the missus agree that this is the best place we have ever stayed.
The house is great. Very comfortable and well furnished. Good comfortable beds. The double in the downstairs bedroom is a whopper ( parents take note). Shutters are great to keep the house cool during the day. Plenty of toilets and showers and a dishwasher, which is a must for this bloke, as I always used to end up with the marigolds on.
Mme Audineau who owns the property is a little gem. You can never have enough melons is her motto :) She really cares if you're ok and having a good time.
Wi-Fi is cracking and kept us and the four kids in holiday internet heaven without any problems.
It gets better outside. Great heated pool, and patio area. Superb outdoor covered eating area. Massive table overlooking the river. Barbecue is a bit small (if there's a lot of you) and I had to do an engineering job on it but it served its purpose.
Large grassy area for the kids to kick lumps out of each other playing football.
This place is as peaceful as it gets. The river is beautiful, 50m wide and full of wildlife. Apparently the fishing is awesome but you need to buy a permit and I'm tight, so I didn't.
Just over the road from the property is a very small typically French campsite. The patron, Anthony is a lovely bloke and we used to bob over for a late afternoon beer. He does awesome food and you can order your daily bread from him (top bread). On a Sunday afternoon in season he puts a proper French beat combo on with accordions etc. and the locals come and eat and dance and enjoy themselves and it's great to join in and experience real France. This also happens on occasional Friday evenings if you're lucky and it is brilliant. They even have one of those really old table footballs with the wood balls! I love this place.
So, to recap. If you like true France with added France and a beautiful gite, you cannot go wrong here. We would give it 6 stars if we could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: verything
Liked least: Needs a new barbecue and a bit more crockery/glasses/cutlery but not a problem
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A tranquil location with lovely scenery,completely enjoyable place to stay.”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were a family of 6, lovely location with the river right on the door step . The owner could not be more accomadating, a lovely lady. The villa had everything one could need and pool was a joy as the temps were quite high. Lots of nice restaurants in the area. A lovely place to be and relax. No regret on our choice.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbies49...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place is absolutely beautiful. The lady who owns the place is so lovely, she greeted us with a drink and showed us round and as our French wasn't great, she managed to explain everything to us. All the bedrooms are so clean and have everything you need. The kitchen is well equipped with plenty of pots/pans and a dishwasher. There is a utility room with an ironing board, washing machine and tumble drier. All towels are provided, including for round the pool. There are hairdryers in the bathrooms. The location is a little out of the way but if you want a peaceful relaxing holiday in stunning accommodation then this is the place to go. We were even given a leaving present, including one for the baby, which was so kind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: So clean
Liked least: Pool a little chilly
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing