We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oreo Brownie Dessert WONDERFUL!!”

DeLongs Casual DIning
Ranked #8 of 35 Restaurants in Pontiac
Cuisines: American
Description: They are next to the Auto museum and poster museum in Pontiac, across from the courthouse. Outdoor seating. known for their ice cream.
Restaurant details
Description: They are next to the Auto museum and poster museum in Pontiac, across from the courthouse. Outdoor seating. known for their ice cream.
Cookeville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oreo Brownie Dessert WONDERFUL!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Skip the main course and go straight to dessert. Mike, the trolley rider, had said, "Do not miss eating the custard/ice cream at DeLongs and he was so right!! The service was good, the waitress friendly even though there was an entire car club to be served. I chose their Chicken Pot Pie which was good. But that ore brownie with their special custard, hot caramel sauce,nuts, whipped cream with a cherry on top was out of this world!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montrose
Level Contributor
339 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“A LOVELY PLACE TO SIT IN THE SUN”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Sat outside in the sun, very good service, varied menu. Especially liked the sweet potatoe fries with brown sugar, never had them before, but would have them again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JstarkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
336 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Sunny Day”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

In the towne square area with a few tables and chairs on the outside, where we sat. I did look briefly inside and could see some beautiful woodwork, etc. A nice day out, so we ate outside. Sufficient room between patrons and even at that we struck up a conversation with a gentleman there that enhanced our meal. Food was the standard fare and good. Prices were very reasonable. Service and staff were excellent!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rvtraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced with nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We ate upstairs. The food was good. We had sandwiches and "Irish fries". Although the restaurant wasn't very busy, it seemed like the staff was. We waited for our bill, but eventually just went downstairs to the cashier.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gridley, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great setting, food has room for improvement.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I sincerely appreciate the architecture of older buildings and DeLongs is set in a very neat old building on the picturesque downtown square in Pontiac, Illinois. If the food matched the setting I could give this restaurant an "Excellent" rating. My wife and I split a hamburger "Horseshoe" (basically a hamburger with fries on top and smothered in cheese sauce. The burger patty though cooked and seasoned well and flavorful was oddly small. It wasn't even the size of a quarter pound patty at the place with the yellow arches. (I just can't bring myself to write the name.) Twice the meat would have been about the right amount. The fries still had the potato skin on and had a nice crunch, that is until the copious amount of very orange cheese sauce (most likely from a can) had some time to soak in. We had ordered our Horseshoe with rye bread which was a good choice but would have benefited from being toasted. Sourdough bread a bit thicker sliced would have been perfect but that was not an option. A co-worker had recommended DeLongs and specifically the Horseshoe. I will be a bit more skeptical the next time he recommends something. The service was okay. We had to wait a bit for our ticket when we were finished but otherwise no complaints there. It was reasonably priced anyway.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeLongs Casual DIning also viewed

 

Been to DeLongs Casual DIning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing