We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STUNNING CARS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pontiac-Oakland Automobile Museum

Pontiac-Oakland Automobile Museum
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Pontiac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum, centrally located on Route 66, offers rotating exhibits to ensure a new and exciting experience each time you stop in. As the only Pontiac-Oakland museum in the world, we display hundreds of pieces of memorabilia alongside the selection of cars. For car enthusiasts, we offer a behind the scenes tour led by museum staff (by appointment only). Be sure to visit our gift shop that offers books, clothing, and other unique items focused on Pontiac and Route 66. The Pontiac Oakland Automobile Museum was one of TripAdvisor's 2014 Certificate of Excellence winners. Pontiac, Illinois offers other exciting museums and attractions, so please put Pontiac on your list of places to visit!
Montrose
Level Contributor
338 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“STUNNING CARS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The cars in here are awesome, the kind you dream of owning. The gentleman who looks after the museum obviously enjoys being there and is very willing to explain the history of the cars to visitors. I am not the greatest vintage car enthusiast, but I enjoyed this one as much as my husband.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JstarkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    42
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
336 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Remembering my 1963 Catalina!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

A nice car museum showcasing the town's namesake. Not a lot of vehicles however sufficient to enjoy. What impressed me was the library which had many, many books on Pontiacs. Even found a spec sheet on my 63 Catalina! No fee, contributions taken. It's good to recall.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rvtraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariestad, Sverige
Level Contributor
633 reviews
352 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“NIce car museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This museum is located in the town centre of Pontiac. The Route 66 Hall of fame and Museum is in a walking distance, just a few minutes' walk. It's a small but very nice museum and there is no entrance fee but there is a donation box. If you are in Pontiac and drive on the Route 66 this museum is a must. I think 45-60 minutes is ok to spend there. You can also watch a short movie about Pontiac there. I think it's about 10-15 minutes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great museum for the Pontiac fanatic, but a bit small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We planned our road trip with this being one of our main destinations, as I am really into Pontiacs. The museum was well presented with fine examples of past and recent Pontiacs. The gift shop area had interesting items for the car guys. The owners were pleasant to talk to, and helpful in providing information about the town. The only let down, was the size of the building. We kept wondering if we had missed a second floor or hidden room. If this museum can someday acquire more real estate to show more of it's collection, it would be a remarkable improvement.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you like cars,this is a place to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very nice exhibit on Pontiac and Oakland cars. It is free, and does not take too long, but very well done if you have interest in older cars and their history.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank goober5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pontiac-Oakland Automobile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pontiac-Oakland Automobile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing