We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good service and wines” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pomona Winery

Pomona Winery
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Pomona
Attraction details
ILLINOIS
Level Contributor
175 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“good service and wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Went on a wine trail tour on our own. Stopped here and really liked the atmosphere and hospitality of the owners and staff. They took their time with us and explained how the wines were made, very good humored, made our trip enjoyable. We bought some apple wines that were seasonal and had a good variety of samples from the wine tasting. Would definitely go back again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank petlovr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Go a Little Out Of The Way- It's Worth It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Took a Sunday afternoon tour of some Southern Illinois wineries, and stopped at Pomona Winery last, and it was an excellent end to the day. It takes a little effort to get there on some winding roads, but it's well worth it. Their wines are non-grape based fruit wines, primarily apple. Only $3 for a tasting of all 10 of their wines.They run the gamut from dry to very sweet, with some very nice dessert wines. Everyone in your group will find at least one to like.

What makes Pomona different is the staff. Most wineries will show you how many medals their wine has won. Frankly, every wine in Southern Illinois seems to have won some medal from some competition someplace. Pomona folks will tell you how their wine is made, what gives it flavor, and what food it pairs well with. The woman who served our group was spot on with her descriptions of each wine's flavors, which made it easier for some beginning tasters in our group to know what they were tasting.

Next visit, I'm saving time to get a glass and sit on their outdoor deck. If you want a big party barn, socializing atmosphere with so-so wines, go down the road. If you want to taste some well-made fruit wine and learn a little in the process, visit Pomona Winery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LHinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt Like One of the Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Pomona was hands down one of the best stops during our visit to the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail! We stopped in on a Friday, and my mom and I were one of two groups (the other being a couple we had run into earlier that day on the hiking trails), so we were able to get a really personalized description of all the wines they had to offer. George and Becky were so welcoming, that you instantly felt like part of their family. Every single one of their wines was absolutely delicious! My only regret was only taking four bottles home with me - next time I'm taking them all! They also do a great job of recommending cooking and pairing solutions, and let me tell you, a little sauteed walleye with a reduced Jonathan wine and butter sauce? Life changing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha-WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our favorite on the Shawnee Wine Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Pomona is well worth the drive! I would get a bottle of just about everything on their list. We were helped by their head winemaker and he had great food pairing suggestions and recipes. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bmusicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First stop of our day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

This has got to be some of the best wines ever! They give a wonderful taste testing there ... describing all the wines and making great recommendations. Do not miss this winery--so enjoyable!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank laurie_ike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomona Winery also viewed

 

Been to Pomona Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing