We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Needed Getaway"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Historic Homestead
Ranked #1 of 1 Plano B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Well...where to begin?! Some friends and I traveled to the Historic Homestead Bed & Breakfast for a relaxing weekend. It was much more than we had even anticipated. It felt like "home". The house itself was beautiful with its painted murals in each room, relaxing and peaceful if you choose to nestle up and read for awhile, and located near a few little towns that offer darling boutiques and antique stores. The breakfast served was delicious! (Not a bite left on my plate!) The first morning was my favorite...creme brûlée french toast! I am looking forward to bringing my husband for the next get-away!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 37 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from a girls getaway at The Homestead and it was just what I needed! Cozy, welcomin, amazing murals and very clean! Lots of warm, inviting places to curl up with a good book or fun magazine. We enjoyed lunch in Yorkville and all the adorable boutiques and antique shops in Morris. Can't wait for a return visit - my husband might even get to come along the next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraC0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay at the Homestead on our anniversary this summer. We could not say more wonderful things about this beautiful estate. At the very least it was the cleanest, most well-kept hotel we’ve ever been to. We had never stayed in any bed and breakfast before and felt spoiled by the romantic décor and five-star hospitality. We had no idea what to expect during our stay so we brought everything but the kitchen sink only to find that all of the conveniences of home were awaiting us at the Homestead. To be completely honest, it was much more luxurious than home! Every room had a personal touch to make our stay more inviting. We also enjoyed hearing about the rich history of the Homestead, the people who lived there, and the surrounding area. The assistance they gave us with planning our daily activities during our stay was well beyond our expectations. We came from about four hours north of Plano, and were unfamiliar with the area so it was great that they had so many ideas for activities. We could have stayed a week instead of a weekend! We took the Amtrak to Chicago for ta day and had a lot of fun. The train station was only a few blocks away and had plenty of parking if needed. We were sent off that morning with a delicious banana soufflé and sausage breakfast and welcomed back at the end of a long day of walking with wine and cheese in the study, followed by a long bath in the Fox River Suite’s deep claw foot bathtub. There is so much character in this home that you will simply be amazed. It even has a labyrinth in the yard. WOW!!! We continue to recommend staying at The Homestead to any of our close friends and family. It is a great place for a romantic weekend and would also have the space for a group to have a nice retreat. We give the house, the hospitality, the food…the whole experience: 10 out of 10. We will absolutely return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We simply wanted a nice place to stay after a concert in Aurora, but the Homestead turned out to be as much a highlight of our weekend as the event for which we traveled. Floor to ceiling, library to bath, every inch is a delight for the eyes, from the extensive trompe l'oeil effects to the lovely and comfortable furnishings. When staying here, leave plenty of time to just enjoy the place - walk the grounds, check out the books, play a game, but most of all chat with your host! Mary Kay is friendly, puts one at ease and seems born to run a B&B. She is a wonderful cook, attentive to detail (ex., the yummy cookies waiting for us when we returned from the concert) and she is interesting, to boot! We could have stayed longer, just to keep talking with her. Be sure to ask her about the history of the home and its prior owners

There seem to be several nice restaurants in Plano itself, plus our drive to the larger suburb of Aurora was nothing, and downtown Chicago is only an hour.

We were awfully glad to have found the Homestead and would love a chance to visit again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Homestead offers everything I look for in a great B&B -- a beautiful historic home, innkeepers who love what they're doing, and a delicious and elegant breakfast. The house is really over the top, having been used to showcase a variety of artistic paint techniques. We got a very warm welcome from Mary Kay and Chet and enjoyed talking to them about the house and the area. The wonderful breakfast of banana bread, baked apples, eggs baked with herbs, potatoes, and good bacon had a great balance of sweet and savory. We had a really fun stay and are glad we discovered the Homestead.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank CNH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Historic Homestead. Artfully decorated and wonderfully relaxing. The patio and garden areas are as beautiful as the inside of the home. Breakfast was wonderful - banana souffle with yogurt and fresh fruit. And I loved the sweet Jack Russell terrier who greeted me in the morning.

Room Tip: My room had a baseball motif with wooden bats and old catcher's mitts displayed on the wall. Esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Homestead in Plano is one of the most beautifully decorated B & Bs I've ever stayed in. The fascinating trompe l'oeil wall art alone is a reason to stay there. In addition, the grounds are just beautiful and can be decked for a concert or cocktail party. If you're looking for a great place to meet family or hold meetings or retreats, a bridal or baby shower with relatives from out of town, or just get away and be pampered -- this is the place! Mary Kay and Chet are just the best. Five stars all the way!

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size and accommodation from a cozy single to a suit to adjoining rooms. I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motherlode61920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plano
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Yorkville
Hampton Inn Yorkville
#1 of 2 in Yorkville
297 reviews
4.6 mi away
Super 8 Yorkville
Super 8 Yorkville
#2 of 2 in Yorkville
164 reviews
2.5 mi away
Timber Creek Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Homestead

Address: 611 East Main Street, Plano, IL 60545
Location: United States > Illinois > Plano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plano
Price Range: $125 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover-Induldge-Relax and Enjoy! Just minutes from Mies van der Rohehe's Farnsworth House, The Homestead Bed & Breakfast and Special Event facility re-opened by Chet and Mary Kay Sergo in September 2012.Built in 1854, The Homestead is the home of the City of Plano's founder Lewis Steward. On two acres, that features a labyrinth and hedge maze, the home is listed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior. The Homestead is a boutique bed & breakfast featuring five cozy bedrooms, a spectacular dining room, quaint parlor and other beautiful common rooms. Guests marvel at all the ornamental painting that grace the walls, ceilings, and woodwork throughout the house and delight that the remarkable attention to details carries over to the luxurious amenities.The Homestead is a unique destination for overnight guests, the history buff, those interested in architecture and the arts and people who love labyrinths and mazes. For a perfect romantic getaway or an unforgettable intimate ceremony or family retreat, the historic Homestead is the ideal spot to create life's happiest memories. The Homestead is also a unique and inspiring place to host small corporate retreats and cocktail parties.With all the different aspects of The Homestead it is no wonder why the following phrase has become the adapted slogan, "Where the past and the present mingle for a moment." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Historic Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing