We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Semi clean, fully noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pinckneyville
Reviewed November 12, 2012

No one was at the desk when I tried to check in. Called the number on the card the desk people left. No answer. This is no longer a Super 8. It is now the Pinckneyville Inn. It would not have mattered. Room was clean I guess. Had a smell of bad room deodorizer. Towel had a brown spot in the middle of it. Other towel appeared to be clean. Then the noise started. Rooms have rice paper walls. Conversations of a loud variety went on til midnight. Woke up and had a breakfast that consisted of a few tired pastries from Costco or Sams and instant coffee from the coffee maker. Pillows were most uncomfortable. Price was very right. Should have stayed at the B and B.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Landworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Py P, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us your comments. We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We take each and every comment very seriously and strive to make each and every guest a satisfied guest. Come give us another chance to see the improvements we've made. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 33 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2011

Clean room, I always check a room throughly, comfy bed and fresh bedding, great staff. Old is not necessarily bad. We didn't have a single problem. My advice to anyone is to contact the desk if something is not to your liking. They will do everything in their power to immediately correct it. Don't wait till you leave, advise the staff, have it corrected and enjoy your stay. I know from my interactions with the staff at pinckneyville they care and want you to enjoy your stay. Great value, don't particulary like the word cheap, it gives a negative impression. I will not hesitate to stay again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Py P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Guest, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Americas Best Value Inn and Suites in St Charles. We kindly appreciate your words about our hotel and thank you for helping us spread the word about our property to other travelers. We hope to see you again soon. Py, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Just needed a cheap place to stay while traveling thru Southern Illinois. Desk staff was friendly, room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. Oh, it was cheap also. Worked great for what we needed. Coffee was terrible, but there is a big gas station next door if you want good coffee.
Sits a couple miles east of town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 04HOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pypat83, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

We like to thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide your feedback regarding our facility. We really appreciate your comments and hope to see you next time when you're in our area.

Py

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Although probably average quality for a Super 8, $55 + tax seems way too much for what you get. The room is outdated, grimy carpet and old beds. The toilet seat was also broken. The front desk was friendly, though, but that was the only plus.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania-in-Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pypat83, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

First of all I like to apologize for any inconvenience you faced at our facility. We credit our success in the lodging industry to providing good service and quality accommodations at affordable prices. I once again apologize that you did not feel that way. Please accept my sincere apology and give us another try if you are in the area again. Thank you!

Py

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I was in town for the funeral of my grandfather, so I wasn't super picky about where I would be staying. Pinckneyville is a very small town anyway, so there isn't exactly much to choose from. I'm not really one to whine and moan about a cheap hotel, because, um, it's a cheap hotel. I will just say that don't expect much peace and quiet if you stay here. The walls are very thin. Everything seemed clean though.

Room Tip: The 1 king bed room close to the service desk if bigger than the 1 king bed room at the back entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pypat83, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

I am extremely sorry that we were not able to deliver the high standard of service that we pride ourselves on to you. Please know your feedback is very important to us, so I thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide your feedback.

Once again sorry for any inconveniences you faced and hope you will give us another chance to serve you again.

Py

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Love this place. We came in town for a baseball tournament. The staff was the friendliest I have had the pleasure of meeting in a very long time. It seems as though the time of good customer service has gone by the way side, but not here. The rooms were clean and well stocked. Funny story.... we had all checked out because we thought the tourney was coming to an end, we got rained out. We all returned here to check back in. Imagine two complete baseball teams returning and needing rooms. The staff was very patient and found us all rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellie1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pypat83, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to comment about our hotel, we all really appreciate it. It was wonderful having all of you stay at our hotel and glad that we were able to accomodate all of you. We would love to be of service to you again if you are ever in the area. Thank you!

Py

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This was probably not the best hotel for cleanliness. The maids did a poor job of cleaning, such as taking shortcuts. The biggest thing would have been the sheets not being changed. I know this, because I used to work as a housekeeper in a hotel. If there is hair on the sheets, they have not been changed! This is disgusting, since this is someone else's dead skin cells on those sheets! I found a partially used shampoo bottle in the bathroom, which should have been discarded. The coffee pot had stains on it. The turntable in the microwave had a big stain on it, and there was also a stain behind the microwave. I also found garbage on the floor. In the morning, we were locked out of our room before check-out time. We had to have this corrected by the front desk.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c7silvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pypat83, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

We are extremely sorry that we were not able to deliver the high standard of service that we pride ourselves on to you. We credit our success in the lodging industry to providing good service and quality accommodations at affordable prices. We appreciate your willingness to take the time to let us know where improvement such as housekeeping is needed so that we may continue to maintain our high standards

Please know your feedback is very important to us and the issues you had mentioned have been resolved. So I thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide your feedback.

Py

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinckneyville
8.7 mi away
Fairgrounds Inn Du Quoin
20.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sparta
20.9 mi away
Best Western U. S. Inn
Best Western U. S. Inn
#1 of 1 in Nashville
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 2 in West Frankfort
57 reviews
23.1 mi away
Lake Cove Hotel
Lake Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Whittington
48 reviews
25.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 5700 State Route 154, Pinckneyville, IL 62274-3420 (Formerly Pinckneyville Inn)
Location: United States > Illinois > Pinckneyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pinckneyville
Price Range: $59 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Pinckneyville offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free coffee in lobby, free continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Enjoy a swim in our seasonal heated indoor pool. All guest rooms include microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, cable TV, HBO, ESPN, and alarm clock. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are located off State Route 154, and are near to local attractions such as Rend Lake College, Southern IL Basketball Hall, and Perry County Jail Museum. Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Pinckneyville is your best choice within the southwest region of Illinois. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for sightseeing, festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Springfield. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Pinckneyville our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay.At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Pinckneyville, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing