We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant of considerable character”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jambe De Bois

Jambe De Bois
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glasgow
Level Contributor
199 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Restaurant of considerable character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate twice in this informal restaurant; once after climbing the 2hills, the other after a morning snorkelling. The rotis are fabulous. Good value for money and very tasty. Curried fish and fish balls are also good Service is laid back, surroundings are amazing. If you come to Pigeon Island eating at the Jambe de bois is a must.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suegympie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    124
    27
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rawlins, Wyoming
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Laid Back Beachside Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped in for lunch after hiking both sides of Pigeon Island. Our drinks were brought out immediately, but the salads took some time. As a previous reviewer mentioned, everyone is on "Island Time" so don't expect meals brought out in the same speed that you may be used to at home. We found this to be the case at almost every place we ate at in St. Lucia, so we used the time waiting to decompress and take in the beautiful surroundings. The salads were quite filling and the menu was reasonably priced. This establishment has a comfortable and unique feel to it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julesbergjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delightful meal in a relaxed setting - perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We made a point to get to this small restaurant because when we called our credit card company to let them know we'd be using our card outside the US, the lady asked where we were going and then highly recommended Jambe de Bois- "wooden leg" after French pirate Francois LeClerc. Word of mouth is the best!

There didn't seem to be many people on Pigeon Island that day, but whoa -maybe because they were all at the restaurant. We were going to wait for a table when we saw a sofa and two easy chairs sort of behind a screen and asked if we could sit there. Absolutely. So we thought we had the best seat in the house - looking out a large opening in the front wall to the many boats and all the activity in the harbor, yet a bit private. We'd only been there for a few minutes when the hostess asked if another couple could join us. Always open to meeting new people, we said of course, and that was the start of a fun, relaxing and educational lunch with a couple who have been sailing the Caribbean much of each year since 2006. We learned a lot about their way of life at sea while enjoying a great meal of fried Dorado (hey, we were on vacation) and a couple of Pitons. It was delicious. Not fancy, not expensive, but perfect.

And hey - those who thought the service was slow - maybe, but it's island time, man - just relax and enjoy the moment!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelover955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious with a beautiful view...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

It was great food, friendly service..just a bit slow. The food was very inexpensive as well. We ate here after we toured Pigeon Island...it was excellent!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarynLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Busy little restaurant with a great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beautifully located little restaurant on Pigeon Island, beside the jetty, with views across Rodney Bay. The food is excellent (best Rotis I had on the island), and although the service is relaxed, the atmosphere and views mean that you don’t care. Gets very busy at lunchtimes, so if you want a table with a view outside, get there early or wait until the rush is over…

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Red_to_the_bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jambe De Bois also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Jambe De Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing