We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Branson House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Petersburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Quaint small town with nice antique store [Country Pickens] and great steakhouse [Douglas Street Grill], both within walking distance of this lovely B&B on a hill overlooking the town. We enjoyed our stay in our spacious, beautifully decorated room [Grandma Ruthie's Room]. The breakfast, made by the owner/wife, was delicious until ruined by the owner/husband spouting his offensive, unsolicited, political views. Before this horrible display at breakfast we had decided that we were definitely going to come back and stay at this B&B. If you like your morning coffee served up with mean spirited, extremely opinionated politics, by all means stay here. But we will definitely NOT be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Lemondragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 19 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at the Branson House prior to visiting Lincoln's New Salem, which is just minutes away. We had a beautiful room, Grandma Ruthie's, which was extremely comfortable and beautifully cool on such a hot day. Although the house is over 130 years old, the bathroom is quite modern. The hosts were extremely gracious; we were given a tour of the whole home, along with the history of this wonderful "Eastlake" Victorian. We had inquired about a lovely flowering bush at the front entrance, and our hostess surprised us by sending some information about it after we had returned home -- very thoughtful. We would certainly recommend a stay here for anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank booksncats23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Lovely traditional home with welcoming hosts. Brick walk and steps to front door mean it is not handicapped accessible. Once inside there is a small elevator to transfer luggage or persons to the next floor. Our two rooms each had attached bathrooms. The rooms and beds were very comfortable. Each room had a small sofa with a reading lamp. Cold soda pop and water was available in a small refrigerator on our floor, as well as microwave popcorn, but we were not hungry or thirsty enough to use them. Our hosts were very friendly, and happy to share some of the history of the home and town with us. And the man of the house is the mayor of Petersburg!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stangene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed at the Branson House B&B when we had a wedding at Hill Prairie Winery in Oakford, IL. The other option was to stay in a hotel in Springfield, IL which would have been a 45 minute drive AND more expensive. We had a lovely room (stayed in Sylvia's Chambers) with a comfortable bed and our own bath, in room. Breakfast was great each day and we went into town one night, which was just a short walk down the hill. I'd recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone looking for a great place to stay when in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private bath in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albucknam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed at Branson House for only one night but could have moved in! Had the choice of staying at a no-tell motel or a B&B while out of town on business in a very small town. This place was the right choice. The house itself is spectacular, and my room was so quaint and peaceful. Everything waw SPOTLESS. So many little extras...a computer right outside my room, flat screen tv, choice of many dvd's, little snacks and drinks right outside my room. I lit the electric fireplace, layed in my bed (so comfy -- top quality sheets) and relaxed. Again, did I mention this place is spotless? In the morning Norma cooked the best breakfast ever -- homemade blueberry pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, etc etc etc. The house is just great. So romantic! If you want to get away, do try this place! If I am ever in the area I will definitely stay again. Two weeks prior I stayed at the Riverbank Lodge right down the street. NO Comparison and price is literally the same! The only issue I did have was the people in the nedxt room had their TV on very, very loud and were watching shoot em up action movies. I finally, at 10:30 pm knocked and asked them to turn it down which they did. Turns out it was a family of 5 in this one room (3 children and parents). That explains that.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We love Bed & Breakfasts but never know what to expect from various ones we book with for the first time. This bed & breakfast's pictures online were exactly what we were looking for and in a town just as we had hoped. As it turns out after our arrival, this B&B run by the town mayor and his wife exceeded all of our expectations. The rooms are so very quaint and we loved our greatly. The hosts treated us so, so well. What a generous couple this is. Breakfast was family style which was so neat and we were actually sad to leave. Our 6 small children were anxious for our arrival home after 2 nights away. So much to tour and see there in Petersburg/Springfield. Will take our children to this area next time and try camping BUT simultaneously dream we're back in Sylvia's Chamber ! Thank you John and Norma - greatly !

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momofgrace0627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed two nights in the Branson B&B in Petersburg (close to historic New Salem, an early Abe Lincoln dwelling/business site). Our hosts were gracious and delightful, full of lots of local lore (husband John is the local mayor) and had hospitality galore. The house itself, a beautiful 1876 Eastlake mansion, is both affordable and comfortable; the breakfast is hearty and ample. If you're there for Springfield sights, Petersburg (a half hour drive from Springfield) is a quiet, restful place with plenty of its own Civil War era (and earlier) history. We would definitely stay there again next time we're in the area. Our friendly hosts even presented us with a Happy Anniversary cake!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaliskerSaintPaul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
18.2 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
51.2 mi away
RiverBank Lodge
RiverBank Lodge
#1 of 1 in Petersburg
41 reviews
18.4 mi away
Inn at 835
Inn at 835
#1 of 4 in Springfield
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Branson House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branson House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 324 W Jackson St, Petersburg, IL 62675-1506
Location: United States > Illinois > Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Petersburg
Price Range: $90 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your nights stay in a beautiful 1876 “Eastlake” Victorian Bed and Breakfast located in Historic Petersburg, Illinois near Lincoln's New Salem State Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing