We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mom and pop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gillmore's Cafe

Gillmore's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Petersburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
136 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Mom and pop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

For mom-and-pop this was a very adequate restaurant, The food was good the chicken I understand is their specialty

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lowell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
258 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Hefty portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is definitely a classic small town America restaurant. The food is hefty portions. The chicken was tender. The ham was great. The decor is like something out of 30 years ago with the older stuff they have up. Service is attentive. The place is very clean. The only downsides are that it doesn't have "updated" fare. For instance, if someone is vegetarian, you have the salad bar, no "veggie burger". You wouldn't expect that from a place like this; it isn't why you come here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dfcameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another great lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch with mom and dad at Gillmores on 3-2 and it was great! You can count on the burgers, onion rings, mushrooms, and home made vegetable soup. Service as always friendly and efficient. The owner even came out to say hello! We always enjoys lunch or breakfast here when we are in town. The chicken is the best I have ever had.

Helpful?
Thank advisor59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Order the broasted chicken and you will smile!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is small town America at its best. I love good food and this is the place for the broasted chicken and mashed potatoes. If you've never had broasted chicken, it's tender and juicy on the inside and crispy on the outside. I make a point of going to Gilmore's whenever I'm in Petersburg. Absolutely get the all-you-can-eat buffet if available. Yum!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very expensive for the quality of the food that you get. The place is clean but they don't have much to offer as far as food goes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gillmore's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Gillmore's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing