We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History”

Lincoln's New Salem State Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lincoln's New Salem is a reproduction of 18th century New Salem, Illinois, where the ex-President once lived as a young man.
West Central Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A great historical site that really lets you know what it was like to live not so long ago. The walking isn't bad but probably not the best place for small children. Great for JH and HS students and an excellent place for field trips.

Helpful?
Thank LJC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    83
    19
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun times”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The park was well kept and a nice time. We went when there weren't any school trips which made the trip very relaxing. Everything was as I remember as a child but in very good condition.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bankerthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic & rustic”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A must see for Lincoln enthusiasts, as well as great for children. Houses/homes are open with authentic demonstrations during weekends in Spring/Summer/Fall. Lots of nice wooded trails to hike as well.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmoaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I love to visit New Salem”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I love to walk through New Salem and visit the cabins. Volunteers are dressed up in period clothing. Great scenery. Nearby trails to walk on. Nearby park to picnic and great campground!

Helpful?
Thank BetherewBellzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extension of the Springfield Lincoln Experience”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I've been going to New Salem since I was a little girl, then took my children, now am taking my granddaughters. This reconstructed village is on the site of the original New Salem. You can just imagine what life was like there as you walk along the trails and go inside the cabins. It is a must for those who get as far as Springfield to see Lincoln's home and museum. The town of Petersburg, 2 miles away, is charming!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln's New Salem State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln's New Salem State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing